Garlic 1st Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Hello everyone, Car drowned on the way to CCK cemetery this afternoon, heavy downpour and traffic suddenly came to a halt on a one way road due to flooding. Stock car with no mods, suspect water entered tru' exhaust. Call insurance and car was towed to C&C, was told by tow truck driver that many cars around CCK cemetery were "drowned" as well. Is the engine and exhaust ruined? How much of a wallet buster will it be? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 how deep was the water level? Up to the door level? those with CAI at the bottom sure jialat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Hello everyone, Car drowned on the way to CCK cemetery this afternoon, heavy downpour and traffic suddenly came to a halt on a one way road due to flooding. Stock car with no mods, suspect water entered tru' exhaust. Call insurance and car was towed to C&C, was told by tow truck driver that many cars around CCK cemetery were "drowned" as well. Is the engine and exhaust ruined? How much of a wallet buster will it be? How high was the water level??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 can claim insurance..... usually insurance covers flood. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 how high was the flood? if water goes into the intake its time for a new engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 if flood is as high as exhaust.....i'm sorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pufferfish1 Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 it took 4 months to get the new engine to arrive and pass the lta .......................not really some insurance dont cover flood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Idiotboi89 Neutral Newbie April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 hmm i was wondering.. if u put at Netural and just keep your rev up at maybe like 2k or something.. would the exhaust produce enough air output to prevent water from entering? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azarael Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 wow......usually this would mean a complete engine overhaul if water really enters engine. Hopefully comprehensive insurance covers this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 if flood is as high as exhaust.....i'm sorry. Sorry...but I don't really understand...how does water get sucked in by the exhaust? If by the intake in front I understand, but shouldn't exhaust be expelling rather than sucking? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 if the water.. is as high as ur manifold... and went into ur engine... or as high as ur air box... that went into engine.. either way... then u need to repair. if jus exhaust, once water out then should be ok mah. anyway my fren same case last time. he driving a impreza , in malaysia fold. lood till bonet there , repair 14k , claim insureance. but damn high after. and after 1 yr. more problem surface , crankshaft , etc hmmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitecvt Clutched April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Hello everyone, Car drowned on the way to CCK cemetery this afternoon, heavy downpour and traffic suddenly came to a halt on a one way road due to flooding. Stock car with no mods, suspect water entered tru' exhaust. Call insurance and car was towed to C&C, was told by tow truck driver that many cars around CCK cemetery were "drowned" as well. Is the engine and exhaust ruined? How much of a wallet buster will it be? If its really water damage to the engine, highest possibility and probability will be bent/broken conrods ? worse case u might need a new engine if the pistons, crankshaft are gone too. how high was the flood? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 yesterday afternoon that thunderstorm was really horrible, the gushing water level in that big canal beside PIE behind Toa Payoh stadium was flooded nearly to the top. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 another thing, once u managed to repair the car and claim insurance and all that, sell the car away asap. Because the car will cause more problems in the future. i know this is a mean advise.... but in reality, that's what drivers do when car kena flooded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Sorry...but I don't really understand...how does water get sucked in by the exhaust? If by the intake in front I understand, but shouldn't exhaust be expelling rather than sucking? I was thinking the same thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 dun even bother repair scrap it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 once u stop rev exhaust not enough pressure to force water out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear April 6, 2009 Author Share April 6, 2009 yesterday afternoon that thunderstorm was really horrible, the gushing water level in that big canal beside PIE behind Toa Payoh stadium was flooded nearly to the top. Yes, really freaky thunderstorm. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...