New House,does anyone have any good contractor to recommend?

Casey

Building a kitchen, living room and master bedroom.

Does anyone knows of any contractors that can do a good job?

I suppose none of them know 3D modelling? as that is in the realm of interior designer??

Those that are good, they don't come cheap.

Those that are cheap, you don't expect quality stuff.

My advice to you is to know what you want in terms of design and materials used, you could save hell lot for the "professional" designer work.

[thumbsup]

I suppose none of them know 3D modelling? as that is in the realm of interior designer??

There is no such thing as a good contractor (Interior Designer). Period. If they do exist, that would be as rare as a unicorn.

I have just moved in to my new home, and did very extensive renovations. I got this contractor that's always featured their works on design magazines, and pretty gave him a free hand to design and co-ordinate the whole renovation works with a very good comfortable budget and timeline.

My wife and I already very very "chin-chai", but he still screw up many many things, and even got caught by me for trying to chop carrot head me. Luckily I also did a bit of checking here and there.

But what takes the cake was, he tried to convince me to change all my air-con piping, and I did not want to as the system was very new. When I engaged my own air-con contractors to service and check my air-con system, we found out that they "sabo" us by sealing up the air-con water pipe with cement. Luckily it was an easy problem to fix, but that Interior Designer is forever in my black list henceforth.

hi sir, i am looking ard for an ID to do up my hse now too....do u mind PM-ing the ID tat u engage? so tat i can stay clear of them....thank you v.much

There is no such thing as a good contractor (Interior Designer). Period. If they do exist, that would be as rare as a unicorn.

I have just moved in to my new home, and did very extensive renovations. I got this contractor that's always featured their works on design magazines, and pretty gave him a free hand to design and co-ordinate the whole renovation works with a very good comfortable budget and timeline.

My wife and I already very very "chin-chai", but he still screw up many many things, and even got caught by me for trying to chop carrot head me. Luckily I also did a bit of checking here and there.

But what takes the cake was, he tried to convince me to change all my air-con piping, and I did not want to as the system was very new. When I engaged my own air-con contractors to service and check my air-con system, we found out that they "sabo" us by sealing up the air-con water pipe with cement. Luckily it was an easy problem to fix, but that Interior Designer is forever in my black list henceforth.

bro,

relak leh. your one bad experience with one ID doesn't mean the rest of them are bad. go to renotalk.com and you will see some good coments, some bad.

i've a contractor that is our family friend whom is reliable but his ID is not great. So, i am on the lookout for just a ID without contracting work (those out there usually want the whole package). is there any freelance out there?

nowadays, contractors and IDs are quite grey.. some contractors also do 3d drawing.. and while they are known as contractors, their price might not be cheaper than ID...

I suggest you go ard to those IDs/Contractors to have a talk and check out the market rate..

discuss what u like, the style and budget.. then lock in on the preferred guy... Those IDs/Contractors also have their own style, some are more moderm, some more resort, some are into zen, some are honest and are into cost saving for owners... so which style do u want?

it's like matchmaking.. must click with the people doing the job...

but your stand must be firm, some can be really hard sell and expect u to down deposit on 1st meeting..

maybe a good place to start is those ID in IMM.. i have good experience with Sebastian from Frontier Concept over there..

but I didn't end up with him for other reason...

bro,

relak leh. your one bad experience with one ID doesn't mean the rest of them are bad. go to renotalk.com and you will see some good coments, some bad.

i've a contractor that is our family friend whom is reliable but his ID is not great. So, i am on the lookout for just a ID without contracting work (those out there usually want the whole package). is there any freelance out there?

times are bad, people are despo for jobs..

before CNY, i rebuilt a wooden platform at my planter ard and I have it at more than half the price compared to 1.5 year back ...

anyway, look up some magz and form some ideas.. those IDs also copy here and there..

i jus had a horrible experience as well...my first house...totally no experience and awareness to be extra careful..in the end gave my job to the first guy who came n viewed my house as i thot he sounded really sincere and knowledgeable...told me he does alot of private ppty and has more than 15yrs exp...but times bad so he also willing to do HDB...i asked him for portfolio he said he has, "no worries man"...so i signed with him the very next day and it has been non-stop pain for me n my wife...

aft 3 months of holding on my key, my house is still uncompleted. i pleaded with him, i reasoned with him, i shouted at him - its all useless. he jus give me more excuses tat i LL have to accept...such as, "oh im also waiting for the shipment. e tiles u wanted are now currently low on stock" which is b-------t i jus wanted white homo tiles....with that kind of reason he will buy 3 weeks of time...then i wil say u can do other things also wat, i jus wan to see works moving....then his reason is..."oh no...wet works must complete first. else may dirty other works. dun worry man, i know my stuff and will do it swee swee. its impt for my image" image my ass....i thk more like impt for your con job...

in the end, sacked him aft 3 mths of nonsense. i cant tahan such nonsense...now jus thkg how best to take back the extra money i hv given him...knn [furious]

anyw bro, if u read my story, my advice for u is make sure handover date is indicated black n white..big firms may not guarantee total problem-free but in times like these, they will be "safer" than the small time shops...

no offence but be also quite careful of recommendations from forums/internet...as u really dun know who these pple are as well...only accept recommendations from close frens/family...

i hv learnt a really good lesson...but well tats life... [wave]

Any contractor will just anyhow hoot cos you have no lobang.

If TS wants to save money you have to do some homework and do some of your own shopping. For me I find what I want thru greenbook. I selected my tiles from one of the suppliers at Defu lane 10. I brought my contractor there and told him I want this type & colour and insist he purchase from this supplier.

From what I know contractors sub-con their work also. So why let him profit? I look for my own carpenter, for kitchen I look for my stove and installer, get them together and work things out. Same for the paint job and electrician who do wire laying. I only let the bugger do my floor. [laugh]

I shop for my own lightings, toilet fixtures and whole lot of other stuff. But if you dun have time for all these dan you gotto rely on the fella.

i jus had a horrible experience as well...my first house...totally no experience and awareness to be extra careful..in the end gave my job to the first guy who came n viewed my house as i thot he sounded really sincere and knowledgeable...told me he does alot of private ppty and has more than 15yrs exp...but times bad so he also willing to do HDB...i asked him for portfolio he said he has, "no worries man"...so i signed with him the very next day and it has been non-stop pain for me n my wife...

aft 3 months of holding on my key, my house is still uncompleted. i pleaded with him, i reasoned with him, i shouted at him - its all useless. he jus give me more excuses tat i LL have to accept...such as, "oh im also waiting for the shipment. e tiles u wanted are now currently low on stock" which is b-------t i jus wanted white homo tiles....with that kind of reason he will buy 3 weeks of time...then i wil say u can do other things also wat, i jus wan to see works moving....then his reason is..."oh no...wet works must complete first. else may dirty other works. dun worry man, i know my stuff and will do it swee swee. its impt for my image" image my ass....i thk more like impt for your con job...

in the end, sacked him aft 3 mths of nonsense. i cant tahan such nonsense...now jus thkg how best to take back the extra money i hv given him...knn [furious]

ah.. no wonder.. coz you pay already... must look at payment schedule.. and always do homework..

There's plenty of such jokers ard... must post his name and company in renotalk and singapore brides..if you read up, plenty of bitching about these irresponsible IDs/contractors in those forums, esp singaporebrides

Renotalk is more "professional"

Any contractor will just anyhow hoot cos you have no lobang.

If TS wants to save money you have to do some homework and do some of your own shopping. For me I find what I want thru greenbook. I selected my tiles from one of the suppliers at Defu lane 10. I brought my contractor there and told him I want this type & colour and insist he purchase from this supplier.

From what I know contractors sub-con their work also. So why let him profit? I look for my own carpenter, for kitchen I look for my stove and installer, get them together and work things out. Same for the paint job and electrician who do wire laying. I only let the bugger do my floor. [laugh]

I shop for my own lightings, toilet fixtures and whole lot of other stuff. But if you dun have time for all these dan you gotto rely on the fella.

such walking around can be tiring and to those people that don't have contacts at all, they will have a lot of leg work to do. I spent quite a few weekend looking for lightings.. but then, that's because i'm quite particular about the lights for dinner area..

at times, individual contactors might not give the best price, coz they got price for ID/main contractors and price for walk in. for walk in, they quote the full price and earn the comm themselves at times..

unless friend friend or recommended, then maybe get a good bargain. then the coordinations.. another big headaches...

i just collected my keys in feb 10. Once i take the key i went to search for ID.

When i first take my keys and went to open my door tons of interior designer people approached me at my flat downstairs. ALL SIBEY HIONG ...

FYI my new house is at punggol therefore all new hdb are suppose to be build around punggol therefore all encamp in that area. let me share some of my experience with you.

First when you got your keys go to the new house alot sure approach you to sign thier package and tell you how fast they can deliver cause they got many foreman etc Some even boast thier hand work is one of the best etc blah blah blah all talk nia. Rem once you collect your keys there are showflat around the area one if yours is the new batch of BTOs. Do walk thier showroom and gather ideas of how you wan to constuct your dreamflat. Showflat interior designer will of cause try to convience you that their design is the best. Scout their showflat for a concept of your own idea and tell them to quote you. Once taking thier quote tell them you think first then you take their quote and go to other showflat and tell them what you want. This time of cause once he see the competitor quote he will tell you he using inferior product lousy wood not granite solid top etc and try and tell you he's giving you this this and this etc. After he finish you take the quote both go back and compare highlight the thing the 2nd guy is giving you. After that 1-2day go back to the 1st interior designer and tell him he is expensive cause the opposite guy is quoting same thing yet giving this free or quality thing. I'm pretty sure he will try and do that for you too. I always feel its the best to go with one whom you feel can talk to can share your ideas one. My dreamhouse concept went back to the 1st ID whom i visited in the showflat. ( i share my concept with 7 ID eventually still went back to the 1st guy)

1st he can talk and share my ideas.

2nd he can tell me where and whom he get the material from

3rd he say he just want to get project and do because the rent for the showflat must be justfied to earn back

4th he is situated there for 1 year as new flats are being build around he care about his own reputation more.

5th He is honest as in i asked him why when i collect my keys HDB given me a book all about interior designer why is he not feature inside. He told me hdb ask them to pay $20000 a quarter to advertise in the book and if he participate in that he will factor in the cost to his customers adding up paying more.

6th I am in the sales line the way he talk i know he is very sincere.

So on the 16feb he take the house and on march 26 i collected back the keys.

I am amaze by his speed of working ^_^>

If you are same as me in punggol area i can pm you his contact you go see his showflat yourself.

A Picture speak a thousand works. But there are some weired thing about this id just that i think i can accept it. Upon capentry work starts he ask for 40% of payment and after capentry and painting washing finish he ask for another 40% of payment. ( My friends all tell me do not give them the remaining after he complete all first because if you pay he more you no more negotiation power. Normally its after everything then pay one but his contract got write 40% after completion of painting and capentry so i tell him i not comfortable but i trust he. Then he throw me his ex police force card and tell me i can trust he Zzzz ) Overall i just not comfortable with that 40% thingy coz i left 20% unpaid when i check the workmanship. Luckily everything went too my expectation.

For lights dun go balastier buy. Go to Jurong west and buy. Later i go home find the address pm you.

Light i went balastier check only then i went jurong and buy the price difference is madness. My master bedroom light i saw in balastier is $1200 i went jurong i got it for $799 SAME ONE!!

And for aircon etc you can go for gain city due to thier 5yrs extended wrty free.

And for electronic i made a mistake which i regret.... I purchase my Fridge and washing machine and fans oven at Gain City together with air con system. Afterthat i went kovan searching for my bathroom thingy and stove i saw this shop call GOH AH BEE. @#$@#$@# he sell the same mitsubishi fridge lesser by $110 dollar the same Fan lesser $22 the same washing machine model for $70 cheaper. I kana chop by gain city!!!! kaoz

i guess i din do my homework lo.. those shops sell cheaper then superstores. Do search around if you want buy electronic products but do not buy from superstores. I find those HDB shophouse prices are always better. I super regret that shopping spree at gain city. Only their Air con worth buying...

One more infomation for you this thur to sun there is a courts megatex show. ALl major brands of electronics will be there. I got the floorplan already i think you can hoot thier LCD TV at show prices.

My Lcd tv, printers already purchase at suntex it show. This courts megatex is more then a IT show it sells alot electronic gadgets so make sure you there to get good discount. ^_^>

----------------------------------------------------------------

Megatex - The Most Complete Electronics Show

Admission: Public - Free Admission

Venue: Hall 4A

Courts Electrical and IT Product Sales

----------------------------------------------------------------

SHARP/SONY/EPSON/CANON/CORNELL/TURBO/PHILIPS/EPSON/ASUS/LENOVO/SAMSUNG/STARHUB many more also will be there. [bounce1][bounce1][bounce1]

Edited by Valx

my parent's house done by baroque, find it rather cheap. maybe cause i deal directly with the boss. as seen in pic 40k. PM if u interested

some pics

dsc0078cq9.jpg

dsc0076dr0.jpg

1726458595lxe5.jpg

1323171590lsg8.jpg

bro baroque quite a good id.They are very friendly.

I ask them for quote too.

But thier price quote me quite expensive. They quoted me 31k for my design.

Eventually i settle with my 1st id for $25888.

You stay punggol also?

Nice house you got there~

Got such thing??

All the 7 id quoted me was with GST i guess.

My renovation cost $25888 + $100 additional installation of 2 water pipe in both toliet which i managed to ask he to wavied upon paying of the last 20%.

bro baroque quite a good id.They are very friendly.

I ask them for quote too.

But thier price quote me quite expensive. They quoted me 31k for my design.

Eventually i settle with my 1st id for $25888.

You stay punggol also?

Nice house you got there~

yup punggol, i tried chew and A&D both quoted about 20k more [nosebleed]