Nkps 1st Gear April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 Well, just need to vent this out here. I'm a nice person who will at times give friends a lift even though it's not all that "on the way". Sometimes, I even initiate to send them home be it colleagues or friends. Well, the problem is there are people who will not appreciate this and make this their convenience instead of mine. Like for example... I am about to go home, so ask my colleague casually if he need a lift since he stays quite near me but not really on the way. He says ok, so gave him about 15mins to get ready. 15mins I already in the car, engine on, air-con cooled, drove out to the pick-up point and still dun see him. Then wait a further 10mins, still don't see him... I simply drove off without informing him. And of course, kenna sms from him saying if i wanna go off should have inform him. This is just a one off event, but there are similar incidents with other friends as well. Like ask to pick friend up below his block, but wait like 10mins liao still dun see him. These are the kinda things i will get pissed off. Worst is pick up at bus stop, go to bus stop friend haven't even there. Then there are people who will set a meeting point to their convenience instead of a efficient pick-up/drop-off point. Like have to make several turns that kind. I have learnt to advise my friends since... "don't let the car wait for you, you wait for the car." song liao bo? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 Thankfully, the friends I usually hang out with now have their own cars. I met them from a car forum so that's not all too surprising. Yea I think I'll do just that ... I hate sending people home if it's not along the way but I feel bad rejecting them. Hahaha. So damn contradicting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 You sound like a saint. I do not expect a meal or anything for that matter if it's just once or twice in a blue moon ... If it's a daily occurence, I just think it would be nice if they paid for a drink sometime. This happened to me when I went back for my reservist. I gave this 'friend' of mine a lift daily, in and out of camp. When we went for makan together during lunch, I even had to pay for his drinks. Shouldn't it be other way around? Before I had my own car, I'd rather make my own way home then to trouble a friend to give me a ride. In a way, I kinda expect the same from people too. I believe that I will not do unto others what I do not want others to do unto me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 I totally agree with your last sentence, no need for rewards, just some simple appreciation will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 You sound like a saint. I do not expect a meal or anything for that matter if it's just once or twice in a blue moon ... If it's a daily occurence, I just think it would be nice if they paid for a drink sometime. This happened to me when I went back for my reservist. I gave this 'friend' of mine a lift daily, in and out of camp. When we went for makan together during lunch, I even had to pay for his drinks. Shouldn't it be other way around? Before I had my own car, I'd rather make my own way home then to trouble a friend to give me a ride. In a way, I kinda expect the same from people too. I believe that I will not do unto others what I do not want others to do unto me. although drive_carcar point of view has a point, i do feel what u said, i totally agree. There are just too many not "automatic" aunties and uncles around, lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 for those who are zitong i will give them a lift even if it means a big detour for me. for those who are buay zitong i wont even give them a lift if they live in the next block. If they are not paiseh to ask dun be paiseh to reject them as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leggt Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 How about this, pick wife up, comes along two to three of her colleagues....at first she told me to send them to nearest MRT, fine....then later in the car, one of them asked where are we going? My wife said home. Since it's along the way, she asked me to send her back home...I looked at my wife and she looked at me....haiz, never mind, dun want her to look bad in front of colleague so LL send her colleagues home. Same thing happened the next two days, so I put a stop to it by going to the nearest MRT and get them to alight, telling them that we are going watch movies, eat dinner, etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laukuikor Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 For me I really rather people don't reciprocate, and don't buy me a meal. The very very last thing I really need is for people to buy me meals as a way of returning a favour. First, it's not as if I can't afford a meal myself. Just that I have sensitive stomach and am very choosy with food. So I rather not feel obligated to finish up the meal people buy me in return for a favour that I was so willing to do for nothing in return at the first place. Second, when I do a favour, like giving a people lift, I really don't expect anything. For me having a good company in the car is good enough for me, as long as they don't hiam I'm a P plater too much. Third, I sincerely believe doing good is it's own reward. Maybe that's why life has been rather good to me, all things considered. life has beed good to you? I thought u mention something about your wife and you are under the high risk group of considering something? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 i got an idea but please treat it more as a joke if your wife colleague is pretty, then good smile ( ) a bit excessive to the pretty one Scenario 1: soon, either your wife ( ) or her colleague ( ) wouldnt want to ride Scenario 2: the pretty colleague wants you you contiune to send her home Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuwari Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 (edited) I've got friends who I send home on a regular basis. My situation with the car is that I'm sharing this car with my family. But recently, I've become more annoyed than welcomed to send them back, even though they stay reasonably near my place, about 6 bus stops away. They're taking my car for granted. Especially for a particular chap. Earlier at a friends' gathering in town, he casually bragged that I'd DEFINITELY send him back whenever I'm meeting him or bump into him. Wow, so now I'm a chauffeur? On occasions where I have to return home early, I already made it clear that I have to go home NOW before I get a ranting, he casually and quite shamelessly said, "Then let's go now! Drive faster no problem liao mah!" and latches himself like a leech for the free ride home. I'm totally disgusted at his behaviour. It's like before you can finish your sentence, he's sitting in the car already. Even on supper occasions JUST 1 bus stop from his place, he asks me to drive him home. WTF. One of my friends detected the annoyance during that gather and then offered suddenly one day after that meeting, the occasional cashcard top-up and fuel top-up. This friend of mine who stays further down the way a bit, is only an NS guy, compared to the other guy who bragged arrogantly to my other friends who works as a contract employee in an insurance job and only splurges his cash on his arcade games, food and other stuff for himself. He definitely earns much more than my NS friend. I completely appreciated it, coming from this NS friend of mine. Because we pay for what we use in the family, and I'm not working at the moment, still studying. Even though he stays further down, quite a distance from this selfish chap, I'm still more than willing to send him home even if he doesn't chip in to fuel and cashcard funds all the time. Simple gestures go along way for me. A simple word of thanks or sign of appreciation really doesn't hurt giving. Edited April 3, 2009 by Fuwari Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 Wow so self righteous huh bro... Anyway this is life, if you don't know how to say no to others, get ready to be taken for a ride by them.... but if you offer to help, then do so like a gentleman. There is nothing more off-putting than somebody who reluctantly helps with resentment and pettiness showing in his face and body language. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 And you still let that guy sit in your car after how he COMPLETELY and TOTALLY disrespected you in public, in front of your peers? Does your first name happens to be "Door Mat"? If that happened to me, I would have publicly rebuked and dressed him down in front of everybody and told him to go shove a pole up his ass because there's no way I'm giving such a disrespectful f--ker a ride ever again. Do you have got no self-respect, man? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 Seems like u really been taken for a ride and cannot say no type....really..... you are being nice, but there comes a point where being taken for a ride is not such a pleasant feeling man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 There was once, only once, someone asked me for a ride...and mind you, this was like a distant colleague....my immediate response was 'oh, i have to rush to the mortuary to collect some samples for dissection and the parts have to be seated at my front and my back seats are for the equipment...no place....' never heard from that person ever again, but i do get farni stares coming my way a bit here n der Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 And you still let that guy sit in your car after how he COMPLETELY and TOTALLY disrespected you in public, in front of your peers? Does your first name happens to be "Door Mat"? If that happened to me, I would have publicly rebuked and dressed him down in front of everybody and told him to go shove a pole up his ass because there's no way I'm giving such a disrespectful f--ker a ride ever again. Do you have got no self-respect, man? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 all u guys mus be driving new cars cos no one seems to mention a problem i m facing other than the similar door slamming, taken for granted, no one face the problem opening the boot ? mine maybe old car, boot got no damper, so imagine when i release the boot, the boot pops up slightly, the person jus lift by one finger and let the boot shoot up by itself n slam again st the hinge,rebounding a few times ? i find this extremely annoying cos i can feel the rebounding even in the driver seat. very heartpain also. my mom used to do that until i told her off a few times , for other pple, i jus pretend to act kanjiong n faster catch the boot from slammin then they get the msg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 for those who are zitong i will give them a lift even if it means a big detour for me. for those who are buay zitong i wont even give them a lift if they live in the next block. If they are not paiseh to ask dun be paiseh to reject them as well. Exactly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 all u guys mus be driving new cars cos no one seems to mention a problem i m facing other than the similar door slamming, taken for granted, no one face the problem opening the boot ? mine maybe old car, boot got no damper, so imagine when i release the boot, the boot pops up slightly, the person jus lift by one finger and let the boot shoot up by itself n slam again st the hinge,rebounding a few times ? i find this extremely annoying cos i can feel the rebounding even in the driver seat. very heartpain also. my mom used to do that until i told her off a few times , for other pple, i jus pretend to act kanjiong n faster catch the boot from slammin then they get the msg. Just avoid using your boot loh...Tell them it is faulty. I hardly use my boot...everthing put on the backseat floor. Lazy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...