Zxcvb Turbocharged April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 Well, just need to vent this out here. I'm a nice person who will at times give friends a lift even though it's not all that "on the way". Sometimes, I even initiate to send them home be it colleagues or friends. Well, the problem is there are people who will not appreciate this and make this their convenience instead of mine. Like for example... I am about to go home, so ask my colleague casually if he need a lift since he stays quite near me but not really on the way. He says ok, so gave him about 15mins to get ready. 15mins I already in the car, engine on, air-con cooled, drove out to the pick-up point and still dun see him. Then wait a further 10mins, still don't see him... I simply drove off without informing him. And of course, kenna sms from him saying if i wanna go off should have inform him. This is just a one off event, but there are similar incidents with other friends as well. Like ask to pick friend up below his block, but wait like 10mins liao still dun see him. These are the kinda things i will get pissed off. Worst is pick up at bus stop, go to bus stop friend haven't even there. Then there are people who will set a meeting point to their convenience instead of a efficient pick-up/drop-off point. Like have to make several turns that kind. I have learnt to advise my friends since... "don't let the car wait for you, you wait for the car." ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Retrochink Clutched April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 learn to say no to those request. your car is bought for ur own convenience, not theirs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicz Clutched April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 At least your friend is not the kind who asks you 5-6 times a day if you're gonna leave already. It's FRIGGIN ANNOYING!!! :angry: Now, i try to avoid all of them as much as possible cause once you start, they kinda expect you to be there to give them a ride everyday... Some of them will say since its along the way, i don't lose anything. They think they're weightless or something... I don't mind giving them a lift once in a while, but everyday? NO NO NO! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 I dont mind ferrying my frens if they live/drop off on my way to work or home...but dont ever let me wait too long...I dont like waiting... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 I give a lift to almost everyone if its on the way and every pretty girl is its out of the way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 I guess you should have set the rules/condition eg. tell friends to be on time, etc.... If after a few reminder, they are still late, then don't pick them up in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 yeah true some people can really have the mindset like the whole world owns them something. i dont mind really. and its been years giving my buddies a ride home. for me its on the positive side since: 1) all 4 of us live near each other 2) they are a different breed of men, punctuality is their game. 3) sometimes help in part of petrol cost really pity your situation, you should learn to say no. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 For me it has been years of getting lifts from friends who have cars, until I finally get my own car. So I think it is a blessing to be in the position to give others a lift, usually it's not too out of the way. But I guess I'm really lucky I don't have friends who really take advantage, or make me waith too long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 one thing i really dislike when giving colleagues/staff a lift - they tend to slam you door like the always slam the taxi doors ! the first few times i keep quiet, but after that, i will give them a little "reminder". really dunno why they need to slam the doors when only a little extra push is needed. so far, i dun have any problems with waiting or ppl waiting for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 one thing i really dislike when giving colleagues/staff a lift - they tend to slam you door like the always slam the taxi doors ! the first few times i keep quiet, but after that, i will give them a little "reminder". really dunno why they need to slam the doors when only a little extra push is needed. so far, i dun have any problems with waiting or ppl waiting for me. Oh yah... I get that quite a lot. I'm thinking of getting extra felt paddings for my doors. I think for most people who don't have cars, they don't know how much push is needed to shut the door properly. Sometimes it's not shut enough, sometimes too hard. I got 1 case who completely forgot to shut the passenger door and walked off, and I had to get down to shut the door myself. Anyway it comes with the territory as being a driver. To be it's a way to serve and bless my friends and relatives, so I take it all in my stride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 one thing i really dislike when giving colleagues/staff a lift - they tend to slam you door like the always slam the taxi doors ! the first few times i keep quiet, but after that, i will give them a little "reminder". really dunno why they need to slam the doors when only a little extra push is needed. so far, i dun have any problems with waiting or ppl waiting for me. I have the opposite problem. People don't use enough force to close the car door and just walk away. I have to start waving for them to come back and close it properly. (Think I need a higher end car with the automatic door suction thingie). What are the cons to using too much force on a door? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 I have the opposite problem. People don't use enough force to close the car door and just walk away. I have to start waving for them to come back and close it properly. (Think I need a higher end car with the automatic door suction thingie). What are the cons to using too much force on a door? How about install "Auto" doors like those taxis? I doubt there's too many issues with using too much force. Maybe some people may say it causes things inside the cabin to come loose and eventually leads to lots of vibrations. But then again, such things WILL happen whether or not people slam the door. And unless the person really slam the door out of anger, I doubt the usual kind of using too much force is likely to cause any big issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 (edited) How about install "Auto" doors like those taxis? You can install it as an add on? I know the S class and 7 series have it. Anyway, installing it as an add on sounds like an expensive solution to a small problem. (I just tell them to close the door properly now ) Edited April 3, 2009 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rongshu Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 about closing door, i guess it is not passenger's fault for using too much forces. people not owning any car will not be closing car doors everyday like we do. and each car may require different amount of forces to close. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 You can install it as an add on? I know the S class and 7 series have it. Anyway, installing it as an add on sounds like an expensive solution to a small problem. (I just tell them to close the door properly now ) Ha Ha! I thought only Taxis have it. It's a costly solution to a minor problem. Anyway, even if you installed it, I think most friends will still slam your doors before you even get the chance to close it yourself. For me it's still preferable to walking off without closing the door, or not shutting it tight enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trd891 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 i dont mind giving a lift, but wl tell them my route and where is the convenience drop off point for them. not detour out of my way back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 i also got friend like that... but is girlfriend.... so lan lan boh pianz... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 3, 2009 Share April 3, 2009 What I often encounter is: 1) Slamming my door so hard like they machiam thought I am driving a tank 2) So many want to tompang together despite I have a infant car seat behind. So have to dismantle the car seat to make way for them. 3) Sometimes the kids of friends anyhow touch here touch there like aircon, radio, window, etc. There was once a kid reached his hand to pull the gear while I'm driving. Gave him a piece of my mind in front of his parent. End up the parent also very paiseh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...