Obama to CEO of GM: You are FIRED.

Wishcumstrue

General Motors CEO Rick Wagone to resign on 30 March.

And no, this ain't pre-April Fool joke. GM may be allowed to go bankrupt in next 60 days restructuring business plan does not meet approval.

Chrysler may be next if they don't satisfy White House's grading on their taxpayer's bail out ca$h within next 30 days.

Ford remains the last of the Big-3 in the US auto industry that did not ask for US gov bail out.

_45614131_wagonergetty.jpg

Official Statement from GM 30th Mar 2009

GM Message from Rick Wagoner

On Friday I was in Washington for a meeting with Administration officials. In the course of that meeting, they requested that I

It's heartening to know that Obama is really working at getting rid of toxic "assets", like the CEO who flew to Washington in private jet to ask for Govt aid - i.e. Wagoner himself.

It has been for way too long that such Mr DoLittles were allow to draw obscene salaries and perks, with very little results to show.

What obscene salaries? He's working for a dollar. You won't be able to find a cheaper person to replace him.

i'm happy to go with 23 million pension fund, anytime.

the ship is severely damaged and sinking.

-----

NEW YORK (AP) - When General Motors Chairman and CEO Rick Wagoner leaves the automaker, he'll take with him a financial package worth an estimated $23 million.

The terms of General Motors Corp.'s government loans prevent it from giving executives severance pay, but they don't affect earned pensions.

As of Dec. 31, Wagoner's accumulated pension was valued at $22.1 million, but he'll receive that in payments over the rest of his life, so the actual amount he collects might be different.

According to GM's latest annual report, Wagoner also will receive about $367,000 in stock awards and about $535,000 in deferred compensation.

Wagoner announced his resignation Monday. Obama administration officials asked him to step aside as part of the government's plan to assist the struggling automaker.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

What obscene salaries? He's working for a dollar. You won't be able to find a cheaper person to replace him.

I wouldn't mind to "step aside" if I have $23 million of pensions too. Imagine almost a million a year for the rest of his life....and away from all the spotlight and pressure.

This kind of thing can only happen in US.

My only question is....why take so long to fire him?

This kind of thing can only happen in US.

didn't a certain powerful person right here in Sg step down after extreme poor results?

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup] Obama is doing the right things for a good cause esprcially in this turbulent times..

Agree....GM will not stand a chance to survive under the same boss and board members. Such thing should have taken place a few years ago...instead of now, which is very late. But better late than never.

didn't a certain powerful person right here in Sg step down after extreme poor results?

here, we dun use 'step down or step aside'.. we use 'self-renewal or to pursue other interest'.. must save face for that person,ok! unlike in US, where they are straightforward!

i'm happy to go with 23 million pension fund, anytime.

the ship is severely damaged and sinking.

23 million dollars is already his. Work or no work, it already belongs to him.

If he works for 2009, his additional wealth is $1.

yah lor, if that person do not have "associated" power, don't think that person will be in that post at the first place, powerful person doesn't mean good result

things are really bad now..were moving to a different condo for less expenses... anyway..its a good thing that such programs are being implemented..for the benefit of their economy..at least there are news as well of the economy getting a little bit better...

cant see this happening in singapore as the toxic asset is linked to the govt & familee [lipsrsealed] example-big wafer fab in woodlands

The entire par-lee-ment is a loadfull of toxic waste lah.