Icekitten Clutched March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Does anyone know if it is possible to apply for a temporary handicapped parking label if I have to use a crutch/walking aid for just a few months? I underwent surgery for a fractured ankle a mth plus back and have been on crutches since. Now on the road to recovery, while I'm still unable to stand with full weight on both legs, I have regained enough ankle flexibility and strength to drive comfortably. So I have just started to drive, after some 'test drives' the past few days to ensure I am able to drive safely and properly. However, at the moment, I still have to use 2 crutches for support and to move around. I have asked my doc about the average time I need to spend on crutches. He said that it can be about 6 mths for full recovery. Even after I am able to put weight on both feet to stand without pain, the next few months I will still have to use either a walking stick or one crutch to support my injured foot when I can begin walking. It's definitely going to be a problem if I can't get a lot on the ground floor of the MSCP, which is usually the case. And the MSCPs at my place and my parents' do not have any lift. I wonder if they issue the handicapped parking label for temporary cases like mine. Also, where and how to apply? No indication on HDB or LTA webby. Does anyone have had any similar experience to share? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 (edited) Does anyone know if it is possible to apply for a temporary handicapped parking label if I have to use a crutch/walking aid for just a few months? I underwent surgery for a fractured ankle a mth plus back and have been on crutches since. Now on the road to recovery, while I'm still unable to stand with full weight on both legs, I have regained enough ankle flexibility and strength to drive comfortably. So I have just started to drive, after some 'test drives' the past few days to ensure I am able to drive safely and properly. However, at the moment, I still have to use 2 crutches for support and to move around. I have asked my doc about the average time I need to spend on crutches. He said that it can be about 6 mths for full recovery. Even after I am able to put weight on both feet to stand without pain, the next few months I will still have to use either a walking stick or one crutch to support my injured foot when I can begin walking. It's definitely going to be a problem if I can't get a lot on the ground floor of the MSCP, which is usually the case. And the MSCPs at my place and my parents' do not have any lift. I wonder if they issue the handicapped parking label for temporary cases like mine. Also, where and how to apply? No indication on HDB or LTA webby. Does anyone have had any similar experience to share? Go to the DIRC to apply or get more info. Their contact details are: 1 Tampines Central 5 #08-01/02, CPF Building Singapore 529508 Tel: 1800 347 2222 Fax: 6787 8576 If you're going there, please bring your doctors letter recommending that you need a disabled permit and why. Edited March 28, 2009 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 i advice u also get a doctors memo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 28, 2009 Author Share March 28, 2009 Ok, just a letter written by the doc explaining that I have to use a walking aid will do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 29, 2009 Author Share March 29, 2009 Thanks! That info is very helpful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 Can I check what is the justification on applying such label? I saw someone with a BMW bike and drove a 100k SUV. Since last year he managed to get the "VIP" lot. He and his wife look very arrougant and have 2 naughty kids, with a maid. How can such ppls manage to get the lot? i dont see any handicap personnel around every day happen to see them taking the same lift to work or return home Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 eh such thing if they want to cheat, let them cheat. Give them the benefit of the doubt. personally for me, i will never cheat about such things. i very pandan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 Look at it this way, maybe that guy can forsee the future? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pandaeyes Neutral Newbie March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 I had fractured my leg recently. Same problem as you. I applied my C1 Car Park label from http://www.disability.org.sg/home/index.asp Go download the documents inside and send it together with your doctor's letter and diagnosis. After 1 week, I had my label. Now using disabled lot. Take care. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 disabled lot are for people with physical needs, sadly, some with mental needs also want disable lot.. what to do.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 Can I check what is the justification on applying such label? I saw someone with a BMW bike and drove a 100k SUV. Since last year he managed to get the "VIP" lot. He and his wife look very arrougant and have 2 naughty kids, with a maid. How can such ppls manage to get the lot? i dont see any handicap personnel around every day happen to see them taking the same lift to work or return home You'll be surprised. I have a friend who generally needs a cane to walk, however he doesn't use it for short distances between his carpark and home. His walk even looks normal, however, he keeps 3 canes, one in his boot, one at work, and one at home. Even I had a disabled permit in melb for a short while. During my recovery period, I looked perfectly normal, however even a 200m walk would exhaust me, so i applied for the permit there, and it helped heaps esp in uni when i wouldnt need to walk from one side of the campus to the other as my parking permit was only for certain areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 29, 2009 Author Share March 29, 2009 Can I check what is the justification on applying such label? I saw someone with a BMW bike and drove a 100k SUV. Since last year he managed to get the "VIP" lot. He and his wife look very arrougant and have 2 naughty kids, with a maid. How can such ppls manage to get the lot? i dont see any handicap personnel around every day happen to see them taking the same lift to work or return home My carpark has one Stream, which I know that the driver has a mum who needs the wheelchair, so he was given the handicapped parking label. However, driver himself isn't handicapped. But he always parks there too. Then always fighting for the disabled lot with the Stream is an SUV. SUV leh! Haven't seen the driver yet but I just can't fathom how a handicapped driver is gonna board an SUV. So the ground floor lot is always occupied by either one of them. Then at the basement (there's a pedestrian ramp linking it to the blocks), there's one more handicapped lot which is always occupied by thisbut white van driven by an old ah pek. He can walk, but with a noticeable slight limp, maybe arthritis or something, so he has the label too. That makes 3 cars with the disabled label in my carpark and 2 lots. Frankly speaking, I also worry that obtaining a handicapped parking label can't ensure me a lot on the ground floor or basement too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 29, 2009 Author Share March 29, 2009 I had fractured my leg recently. Same problem as you. I applied my C1 Car Park label from http://www.disability.org.sg/home/index.asp Go download the documents inside and send it together with your doctor's letter and diagnosis. After 1 week, I had my label. Now using disabled lot. Take care. Thanks a lot! Will do that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched March 29, 2009 Author Share March 29, 2009 eh such thing if they want to cheat, let them cheat. Give them the benefit of the doubt. personally for me, i will never cheat about such things. i very pandan. You know ah, now I don't even dare to park in the handicapped lot coz I don't have the label, even though I do have the physical need. Either kpo ppl gonna put my car online or I will kena summon. Esp my estate & my mum's...wardens damn on. This morning sent my hubby out & came back, almost couldn't get a lot. Passed ground floor and went down to basement...siao liao ...all occupied....then slowly drove back up to ground floor...damn heng...someone was just walking to his car...so I waited for the lot. So this kind of things...really hard to say. Ppl like to STOMP or condemn such things. But as it turns out, who knows, the driver of the car with the label might not need the lot as much as the driver of the car without one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 icekitten, try to get a friend along with you. u can alight first, then the friend can park for u. same goes for departure. just trying to give suggestions lah. hows the application going? i hope u can get it, cos i understand how hard it is. anyway friendstar, isn't pandan the leave you use to make kueh or some cabbies use it to make the car smell nicer.. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 anyway friendstar, isn't pandan the leave you use to make kueh or some cabbies use it to make the car smell nicer.. hehe i was abt to say that. Over at my area, i seen ppl on disable lot which personally that i felt disgusted because there are ppl in need the use of that lot. I am wondering why some driver can get get away scot-free. Well, im sure one of these days, they will really need to use that lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 Even if you get the label, do you think you should be driving in the first place? Pain is different from permanent handicap, who feels no pain. You may not react correctly in times of ebrake situation due to the pain. I had a surgery recently and I thought about whether I should be driving too, just to get to the doctor for wound dressing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyleo Neutral Newbie March 30, 2009 Share March 30, 2009 I believe handicapped parking label is issued to those on permanent handicap, no temporary. Anyway you can try. Yes, some one could have mis use this, saying vehicle owner is a handicapped person, but actually he/she does not use the vehcile, let there family member uses it, so ....parking on handicapped parking lot doesn't mean the driver must be physically handicapped. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...