Shull Turbocharged March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Good idea. Then we can have some road accidents and people falling down in the corridors. c'mon lah..singapore is way overlit.. look at jakarta, KL etc..the residents there can manage with lesser streetlights..why can't we? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 seriously wanna be green and save the earth.... ..... no aircon, no fridge, no fan, no tv, no PS3, Xbox, Wii, no car and yes no PC.... but then, how on earth to read MCF leh.... ........... can you do that or not???? ......... else after you on the light back, you found that you manage to garner 1 billion suport, you veri happy, you all go on light bright bright and party and so on..... what the use.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razgriz Clutched March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 actually SG can do alot more, 1st & foremost.. highway lighting switch to alt. after midnite... HDB lighting change to LEDs... switch off 1 lift after midnite.. but sadly.. both govt. & sillyporeans wont do it... so much for earth day.. ahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 seriously wanna be green and save the earth.... ..... no aircon, no fridge, no fan, no tv, no PS3, Xbox, Wii, no car and yes no PC.... but then, how on earth to read MCF leh.... ........... can you do that or not???? ......... else after you on the light back, you found that you manage to garner 1 billion suport, you veri happy, you all go on light bright bright and party and so on..... what the use.... u all still don't get it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Some of what we can all do: Turn off all lights when you leave your room(or whatever room for that matter), even for just a few mins. If you're in a big room with multiple lights, just switch on enough so that whatever you're doing wont be hindered. Don't leave your electrical appliances in standby mode. i think it gonna need to be a habit... maybe part of brain washing yourself to save elect and also lighten up your moola burden to the power fellas... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 c'mon lah..singapore is way overlit.. look at jakarta, KL etc..the residents there can manage with lesser streetlights..why can't we? ya... and its a city some more... think of the more ulu places.... sg is too bight that many ppl dont even on their headlights... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvelicious 3rd Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Hahaha. my lights are running on full blast, aircon on 22 deg and fan on step 2. With radio blasting 98.7. Is this earth hour? LOL! Seriously lah, 1 hour only. How much diff can we make? Furthermore, energy is there, to be used right? i dunno. thats my thoughts. Are you paying for the electricity bills? If not, you should spare a thought for whoever is footing those bills. Also, you ought to be shot for this blatant waste! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 actually SG can do alot more, 1st & foremost.. highway lighting switch to alt. after midnite... HDB lighting change to LEDs... switch off 1 lift after midnite.. but sadly.. both govt. & sillyporeans wont do it... so much for earth day.. ahha Not sure abt your estate. My block always 1 lift shutdown after midnight and the corridor lighting has been changed to the sensor type that ups the brightness if it detects movement, otherwise it dims itself. With or without Earth Hour, I very fussy abt electricity bill so I switch off those "standby" devices, broadband modems etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 one step at a time lah. if the WHOLE singapore joins in earth hour, jia lat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Are you paying for the electricity bills? If not, you should spare a thought for whoever is footing those bills. Also, you ought to be shot for this blatant waste! Why would you want him shot? He's subsidizing your electricity bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 I've switched off my home lights. Have you? But you are with your computer ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 i think it gonna need to be a habit... maybe part of brain washing yourself to save elect and also lighten up your moola burden to the power fellas... Did you manage to grab any KIMCHI in the dark between 8.30 to 9.30 pm ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 SG roads are brightly lit compared to other countries. So much so that drivers have to change the headlights of their bulbs to those super white kind and blinding type, above the intensity of the default bulbs, so that they can see if their headlights are actually on when driving. If those come as default, I have nothing to say. But with the roads so brightly lit, if you are only driving on SG roads, the reason you need to turn on your lights is not to see what's in front of you, but to let other cars around you know of your presence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 hmm.. as usual night, i on my stuff tho. i only off things that i am not using at all. im footing the bills. earth day better then hour. you save the electricity for that moment but not even to calm the whole area heat. =) Best, off all the st light and install reflection to guide e road. also, dun drive becoz of air pollution. ;P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvelicious 3rd Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 Why would you want him shot? He's subsidizing your electricity bills. Blimey, how is he subsidizing my electricity bills? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 In Singapore the single biggest influencing body is dragging their feet. They are called THE GOVERNMENT. If they do not introduce programmes to push for renewable energy, everything else, including NGO effort, goes to waste. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 when is earth hour? it's everyday for some that understand.. to those that don't, no matter what publicity is given, they can't be bother.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 well the turbines in our power plants will still be producing electricity. So even with a drastic decrease in usage of energy for just during that one hour, not much resources will be saved as the supply of electricity will remain the same with the excess electricity being wasted away. I do agree however that earth hour is more symbolical to the fight against global warming. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...