Loki Supersonic March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Was involved in an accident with an NTUC cab this morning at Jln Toa Payoh towards Jurong. I was on innermost lane and he was in the middle lane - both wanted to turn into Jln Datoh and Balestier Rd. The p r i c k tried to force his way in and hit my car at a point between rear door and rear right fender. Damage to his taxi was at the front left fender. I made the report to IDAC and was told that claiming against taxi was very difficult. What should I do? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 Was involved in an accident with an NTUC cab this morning at Jln Toa Payoh towards Jurong. I was on innermost lane and he was in the middle lane - both wanted to turn into Jln Datoh and Balestier Rd. The p r i c k tried to force his way in and hit my car at a point between rear door and rear right fender. Damage to his taxi was at the front left fender. I made the report to IDAC and was told that claiming against taxi was very difficult. What should I do? MAYBE CLAIM from own insurance first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic March 28, 2009 Author Share March 28, 2009 MAYBE CLAIM from own insurance first? If I do that it automatically means my NCD is cut right? And if the insurance coy eventually decide not so much blame assigned to me NCD can be reinstated? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 If I do that it automatically means my NCD is cut right? And if the insurance coy eventually decide not so much blame assigned to me NCD can be reinstated? it still depends on how the insurance company fight for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 50/50 case. Mine was hit on the bumper at the corner and the other party damage was on front bumper and headlight also considered 50/50. Unless direct hit from the rear then got better chances. Either claim own damage or pay cash if not much repair fee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 I made the report to IDAC and was told that claiming against taxi was very difficult. What should I do? Did they tell you why?How come you go to IDAC ?Your insurance company STILL require you to go to IDAC ? I find IDAC is a puppet and tools engineer by a so call market leader trying to control the inflated claim ..... which seems to all motorists now that it doesn't work at all .That's why they want or already increase the premiums for all . Anyway , if claiming from taxi is difficult (provided your case is clearcut ) so they claim from us is easier ? Draw a detail a map and supply photos to support your claim , let your insurer settle the case . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 50/50 case. Mine was hit on the bumper at the corner and the other party damage was on front bumper and headlight also considered 50/50. Unless direct hit from the rear then got better chances. Either claim own damage or pay cash if not much repair fee. your front bumper's corner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic March 28, 2009 Author Share March 28, 2009 To me it sounds like an open and shut case in your favour. His front bumper hit your side towards the rear. No case to answer. But we all know car insurance in Singapore is a joke. Not his front bumper - his damage is in front of his front door - at the front wheel arch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Palmer 1st Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 The taxi driver can always say you never check blind spot and swerved right and hitted him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear March 28, 2009 Share March 28, 2009 (edited) Was involved in an accident with an NTUC cab this morning at Jln Toa Payoh towards Jurong. I was on innermost lane and he was in the middle lane - both wanted to turn into Jln Datoh and Balestier Rd. The p r i c k tried to force his way in and hit my car at a point between rear door and rear right fender. Damage to his taxi was at the front left fender. I made the report to IDAC and was told that claiming against taxi was very difficult. What should I do? No Fear ignore all this hearsay la, I claim from a NTUC cab last year Dec everything is easy and smooth. But things to take note, I took 8 photo on accident site, car position and damage on the spot, thus cab driver also know cannot anyhow draw and write. And of course my workshop expert in doing claim la. If you got take photo in my view VERY IMPORTANT a picture say a thousand words Edited March 28, 2009 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkSide Neutral Newbie March 29, 2009 Share March 29, 2009 Urban Myth, people.... Taxis do not rule the roads or insurance claims... They may have all sorts of techniques or reasoning due to their exposure on the roads but don't be cowed into submission. If you are not wrong, challenge them... Pictures & video is best when confronting taxis.... They are terrified of technology...Talking or reasoning with cab drivers is utter useless... They and their "kampung mafia style" road laws will always talk you down.... Dont be intimidated..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 30, 2009 Share March 30, 2009 This sort of side by side 'Bua-ing' is normally 50-50, 60-40, 70-30 ... etc Not easy to claim full The way you & that cabbie file the report also matters ... Some cabbies are an expert in this field of twisting their stories Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juzzme 3rd Gear March 30, 2009 Share March 30, 2009 check the Barometer of Liability Assessment (BOLA) charts. Does your scenario fall into any of those shown ? The problem with claims involving Taxi is that the damage repair is only part of the total claims. There is also loss of use/ loss of income...... Barometer_of_Liability_Chart_v3_dated_1_Jun_08.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2009 Share March 30, 2009 (edited) your front bumper's corner? Sorry, mine was hit on the rear bumper at the corner. Meaning he hit me from the rear but both contact points are at the corner of the bumpers. Edited March 30, 2009 by Wrc206 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear March 31, 2009 Share March 31, 2009 Sorry, mine was hit on the rear bumper at the corner. Meaning he hit me from the rear but both contact points are at the corner of the bumpers. Then I think your chances of full recovery against the taxi insurance is 50:50 9 out of 10 taxi drivers do not tell the truth because their excess is at stake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 31, 2009 Share March 31, 2009 most taxi drivers are quite b------d one... if kena bang then they anyhow claim... if bang ppl, they play punk... knn ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...