Car insurance: broker or self searching?

Bluepica

Hihi,

What is the difference if you renew your motor insurance thru a broker OR ask for quote direct from insurance company OR thru a bank? Which the latter usually got freebies (eg. petrol voucher, car grooming....etc)

So far now only DBS offers $80 petrol voucher for Driveshield and underwrite by MSIG.

Any feedback on this ins. comp?

I remember last year when I renew my old car insurance, got $80 petrol voucher and a car grooming session, and one month later sold my old car, got pro-rated refund from MSIG, they didn't ask me to pay back the freebies [lipsrsealed]

This is coming from someone who actively help others source for more value for money insurance quotations.

The main advantage of using an agency to source quote is the convenience. You often have to fill just one form and have one point of contact to be able to get different quotations. Moreover, agency will also help you dig out certain info (like claim history).

There are more than 20 insurance companies offering different range of benefits which may be suited for different criteria of drivers. For instance, some insurance companies set the age for "young driver" at 23 while others at 26. The loading for different makes of cars would also differed among insurance companies.

A good agency will have the expertise and knowledge to help you source for the most value for money insurance coverage, based on individual's driving profile, in the most hassle free and efficient way.

Hihi,

What is the difference if you renew your motor insurance thru a broker OR ask for quote direct from insurance company OR thru a bank? Which the latter usually got freebies (eg. petrol voucher, car grooming....etc)

So far now only DBS offers $80 petrol voucher for Driveshield and underwrite by MSIG.

I remember last year when I renew my old car insurance, got $80 petrol voucher and a car grooming session, and one month later sold my old car, got pro-rated refund from MSIG, they didn't ask me to pay back the freebies [lipsrsealed]

it may be cheaper to use a broker. they have volume sales with insurance companies. therefore they are in a better position to negotiate a better rate.

i had been using broker for a few years le... realised they can get better quote... pm me if u need the contact... must clarify that i have no interest in the company...

Have a question abt excess for windscreen. My sis who bought a Volvo got a quote from the in house insurer which include a $100 excess for windscreen. My ride a Jap car insurance $0 excess for windscreen. Any bros knows the reason ? cos it's a Conti ? Thks [confused]

Now they do ask for the refund - to be deducted from your refund amt. MSIG guys told me too many people have been doing it so cannot tahan liao. [laugh]

Hihi,

Edited by Busker888

For windscreen coverage, different companies have different excess level, some with $100 excess while others have zero excess.

you can try stanchartunderwritten by MSIG also. it was the lowest quote i garnered through my own research. got $80 cashcard too.

about those brokers, i went to quite a number of them but only a few bothered to reply to me. some called me up and guaranteed 'next working day reply' but in the end also no news.

maybe my car is insignificant and low value and so they choose their business? hmm

you can try stanchartunderwritten by MSIG also. it was the lowest quote i garnered through my own research. got $80 cashcard too.

about those brokers, i went to quite a number of them but only a few bothered to reply to me. some called me up and guaranteed 'next working day reply' but in the end also no news.

maybe my car is insignificant and low value and so they choose their business? hmm

maybe your model is those accident prone type?

Last Nov, stanchart offer msig with $80 cashcard to me. In the end I went with dbs offer msig also but with $88 cashcard, $8 more but I get to pay by monthly installment.

I have just renewed my insurance a few days ago.

Most brokers quote me absurd amount for my ride and finally settled on talking to insurers myself.

Using the brokers quote as markers, I found that direct deal is cheaper for me. But that's only for cash deal, no monthly...

For monthly budget payments, think only brokers can help..

Also, read your insurance coverage details carefully....Cheaper doesnt necessarily be the same, even for same insurers.

Cheers!

DBS offer $80 petrol voucher, StanChart $80 cashcard... both by MSIG... I think cashcard better hor... cos use petrol voucher got no pump discount. [shakehead]

i dun think so.. my model is exactly the same as your nick Picanto bro, a KIA Picanto 1.1A OPC somemore. [:)]

here are some of my quotes for example

brokers:

RSA: 1.6k (got 2 quotes)

India insurance: 1.7k

own research:

AXA: 2.5k

MSIG: 1.3k

NTUC: 1.6k

Go thru broker is convenience and sometime can get a little freebies (not much value). But from my previou experience, the quote they get is the same when source by yourself.

If you're a AA member, you can get AA as the broker, and it's a further 10% discount, this can be very substantial discount especially when the premium is above $1000++.

Edited by Ender