MadDog70 2nd Gear March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 Just went up Genting last Sunday with my 4 year old Hyundai Tucson. It was a hot day, and after about 4 hours of driving, the air-con started to fail with only normal air coming out from the fan. I heard a lot about Tucson air-con failing, I even laugh at my friends who are driving them, but never thought that it will happen to me one day. They went back to agent, who claimed that the thermoset stops functioning, agent just did a reset but it comes back again later. Anyone knows what will be the repair likely to be so that I can get well equip with this knowledge when I visit any workshop (maybe you guys can recommend me a good air-con service workshop?). Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 scary ... my warranty finishing soon..... maybe let them check first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched March 27, 2009 Share March 27, 2009 Just went up Genting last Sunday with my 4 year old Hyundai Tucson. It was a hot day, and after about 4 hours of driving, the air-con started to fail with only normal air coming out from the fan. I heard a lot about Tucson air-con failing, I even laugh at my friends who are driving them, but never thought that it will happen to me one day. They went back to agent, who claimed that the thermoset stops functioning, agent just did a reset but it comes back again later. Anyone knows what will be the repair likely to be so that I can get well equip with this knowledge when I visit any workshop (maybe you guys can recommend me a good air-con service workshop?). Cheers! Tomika at bukit merah lane 3? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermit 1st Gear March 27, 2009 Share March 27, 2009 Mark Cool.. Ah Huat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hisham Neutral Newbie April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 Bro it is normal with Tucson. The aircon will start to feel warm when you reach KL. When this happen switch off the aircon, wind down the windows and on back the aircon after about half/hr or so. The aircon should be find. There is no problem if you drive up to Malacca, only happen above KL .There was a tread on the Tucson website regarding this matter sometime back, the owner went bak to Komoco but problem cannot be solve. There is nothing wrong with the aircon, it just freezes up after long distance driving. Local driving no problem at all. If you manage to find a solution to this problem let me know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 (edited) Is the Tucson aircon compressor "cut in, cut out" type or permanent "cut in" type? Any shifu here knows? Edited July 12, 2011 by GoodCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 Can try checking the fuse box. If I'm not wrong, there shud be a fuse running the aircon. Check to see if its loose. If not, try replacing the fuse and see how it goes. Cus oso be have to top up air-con gas? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 Markz Cool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear July 13, 2011 Share July 13, 2011 4 year old, ok lah, time for something to fail, not all things so its ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 For this part of the world, our weather is rather humid. I think if we set the temp to max cold, some icing might take place in the cooling coil and give the temp sensor the wrong info. This probably explain why once the aircon is switch off for a while, everything return to normal;when the ice melted. Just my thinking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 tomika...the boss is a nice guy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 23, 2011 Share July 23, 2011 Does Tucson heater works in Singapore. I mean does hot air come out if select the temp control knob to the red region? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 14, 2011 Share August 14, 2011 motoraire at sin ming ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...