Road Hogging and he doesn't know

Osiris

Why can't people just give way ?

When someone come up fast behind me on lane 1 and I do not want to speed up, i signal to filter left. (Unless of course it's bumper to bumper in front. )

If I want to go fast again, just filter right to lane 1.

What's so difficult. If any1 decide to play the role to police other drivers in this case, join the tp, otherwise just be gracious.

Hear! Hear!

Unfortunately there are so many such hoggers who think they are right and just create traffic jams... Can even write to "justify" and saying he slowed down... [rifle][furious][hur]

Edited by Mojoe

From one end to the other other only takes 30 mins, not as if it double the time if traveling a little slower right? It won't shorten the time by half if lane 1 is clear unless one travels at constant 120+ but is there a real need for them?

one point to another takes 30min? but you factored about joining roads, traffic light and so on from start to destination?

anyway, you don't get the point... stay away from lane 1 if there's another faster vehicle behind.

in certain situations, seconds count.

it can be an ambulance, someone on urgent business or simply be a doctor rushing to attend to someone.

i suppose you won't want to be caught in a situation where you miss seeing someone dear for the last time bcos some bugger hogs the road?

Obviously no one knows the full story except those 2 drivers. One thing highly skeptical is the need to overtake others at 90+.

If off peak, surely there is chance to overtake from left. So just move on and stop taking an effort to write in and complain.

If during peak hours, where else can Steven siam to? Already at 90+ Tailgater rushing to meet his date, he also rushing for time wait for no man.

Basic courteosy is when the other party is polite too. I wonder did the tailgater give a few seconds for Steven to react before high beaming people, it is not right to high beam continuously even for emergency vehicles. So after flashing twice, by right the tailgater should just tap horn, that's why I say he need to go theory class.

Tailgater is definitely no angel.

should be shot! but den again such idiots are getting more and more common everyday!

Just to highlight to you, 1 finger pointing others, 4 fingers pointing yourself.

Aiya... based on the 2 stories described (unless there are something else that is not reported here), both Choo and Goh sama sama...pot calling kettle black. Both had done something wrong yet still kpkb accusing one another... [hur]

Obviously no one knows the full story except those 2 drivers. One thing highly skeptical is the need to overtake others at 90+.

If off peak, surely there is chance to overtake from left. So just move on and stop taking an effort to write in and complain.

If during peak hours, where else can Steven siam to? Already at 90+ Tailgater rushing to meet his date, he also rushing for time wait for no man.

Basic courteosy is when the other party is polite too. I wonder did the tailgater give a few seconds for Steven to react before high beaming people, it is not right to high beam continuously even for emergency vehicles. So after flashing twice, by right the tailgater should just tap horn, that's why I say he need to go theory class.

Tailgater is definitely no angel.

Ya.. true... but I tot giving way to the faster car behind u is the more "correct" and safe thing to do rather than the faster vehicle should - "If off peak, surely there is chance to overtake from left" like what you have suggested?

90+ maybe fast to some, but definitely v slow to a lot of ppl.. So what if you are driving near the speed limit already? does that give you the right to hog lane 1?

Cheers.. [thumbsup]

Just to highlight to you, 1 finger pointing others, 4 fingers pointing yourself.

whether its a fact or not only the person knows it better himself. [sleeping]

I understand the rationale that gives way to a faster vehicle.

Steven is being safe that's all, CONTINUOUS HIGH BEAM is totally wrong, pay attention to the words in bold. If one travels at 110 surely there will be someone slower at 100 that 'hogs' him. If he travels at 105 and Steven at 100, just what is the f* difference?

The highway here is so short, curvy and congested, if one likes to cruise at 110, better to do at nearest NSH, can go up to 160 all the way, that I fully agree traveling at 120 on lane 1 is considered hogging. Pleasure driving here? Can forget about it, vehicles suppose to be a transportation in city driving.

The tailgater is the bigger devil in this case!

hoggers' head a as thick as brick. you can't get them to understand one. we've discussed/flamed to death still we get hoggers justifying they are right

i got one word for them...just hope that they don't kenna an emergency situation themselves. [thumbsdown]

hoggers' head a as thick as brick. you can't get them to understand one. we've discussed/flamed to death still we get hoggers justifying they are right

i got one word for them...just hope that they don't kenna an emergency situation themselves. [thumbsdown]

Agree. Just cannot understand why we cannot just agree that lane 1 is for overtaking....anyone slower just give way to the faster one.

Too few drivers in Singapore is giving the other driver the benefit of the doubt and showing courtesy. When something out of the ordinary happens on the road, usually 1st reaction is not about "understanding why the other driver did that", but about the self-centered Singaporean mentality "I am not wrong what, u idiot, i will horn and flash u till u die, #^%@#$"

Horn is not used to warn ppl but to scold them.

Anybody disagree?

Self-centered mentality is not only for Singaporean. Just tat Singaporean lack of very basic courtesy. This may be due to lack of education since young. But Singaporean is "unique" in a way that they are proud of being "special" (although in a wrong way)

Actually, i don't fault him for traveling 90 on lane 1 IF all the traffic in front of him are doing so.

Realistically, during peak hours it might be the only lane you can travel at 90 as lane 2 hogged by vans/lorries doing 70/80.

Certainly not me when I m driving a van. More that often, I go "with the flow" or could be even faster. Hee..

Agree. Just cannot understand why we cannot just agree that lane 1 is for overtaking....anyone slower just give way to the faster one.

Cause we are unique Singaporean lah.

When we are moody and want to drive leisurely , we take lane 1 for cruising. Because lane 2 is hogged by all the slow drivers. So we hog at lane 1 loh. Although we cant tahan ppl block our way at lane 2, we believe we are right to block other ppl from lane 1 loh. Anyway, we will be able to find all the "reasons" to justify our acts. And although we are not taught to be shown by other ppl what is the right way of doing things, we are trained to teach ppl a lesson when we think we are right (in reality, no comments).

on hazards light or brake tapping is onli for loser.....it onli serve to boil e driver behind more [thumbsdown]

I did none of those but there was once when I was riding and my bike has 2 big boxes at the sides, I went onto lane 1 to overtake but when I went onto lane 1, traffic became slower than 2. Gosh I was stuck here and could not go back to lane 1, then came one car coming fast from behind and tailgate real close.

Here I was trying to find ways and means to get outa situation and here we have a joker that's not sensitive enough, how am I gonna give way to you when I m stuck with my 2 big huge bum? So I gave a courtesy hand gesture by putting out my left hand (my right gotto hold on to my throttle), palm facing down to request just give me a min and I will let you pass.

Still the tailgater either dun understand or dun buy that & edge fuurther. Now I m mad, instead of following the 2 sec rule, now I follow the 4 sec rule (folks, this is taught as defensive driving & pls dun take it as a rebel). Gradually I gave a 6 secs rule and once the road is clear enough, I point at my mirror and gave the driver a thumbs down and swooosh off I go.

All I can hope for is this ppl go to NSHW but I bet their balls gonna shrink & just gonna keep to lane 2 all the way.

The reason why peak traffic exist is because of the many Steven Gohs in the front of this Steven Goh... If you keep right lane as OVERTAKING lane, then most vehicles have no business on the right lane.

Think about it... in an expressway going straight, why do we have start-stop traffic during peak on the right lane? There's no turning on the right lane (except the one at Clementi/Dunearn)... Why? Even if there is choke point because of a left turn, the ones who filtered to the right should just speed up, pass that choke point and filter BACK to the left.

Anyway... as many has stated, no point talking sense to people who just don't get it... until they are in an emergency and are driving car behind such hoggers.

I think my spelling sala, should be rectum right? [sly]

I think it is where we find a balance and this balance somehow can be achieved along NSHW. There are cars that cannot respond as fast as some supercars & it is just a matter of give & take. Somehow, we cannot achieve here, ppl too impatient or ppl take their own time to overtake or overtake already still on lane 1. Cheers.

This is how i feel.

if steven feels that he is in danger, shouldn't he move out of that lane?

I am sure if forumers here being tailgate by a trailer, we would filter out of the lane instead of turning on hazard lights and slowing down.

The thing is he simply refuse to give way. to me he's more like "I am in front, I am at speed limit, what else you want?"

High beam blind him thus hazard lights??

who he kidding? adjust the mirror and highbeam is gone.