Stock Rotor vs Slotted Rotor

Stinkray

Hello All,

Would like to know is there any different between Stock and Slotted rotor with Stock caliper in term of braking performance beside brake pad wear faster.....

Please comments....Thanks.... [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Edited by Stinkray

I believe it helps during high speed braking... A few months ago I changed to slotted rotors with new BBK micro 6 pot and the stopping power is simply amazing. Now I feel much safer when driving at decent speeds.

Hello All,

Would like to know is there any different between Stock and Slotted rotor with Stock caliper in term of braking performance beside brake pad wear faster.....

Changing to better Pads more bang for buck, compared to changing to slotted rotors. In my opinion.

slotted got groove which aid cooling, which in turn aid braking efficiency.. but in my oponion, not really useful to see any big difference if u are driving sedately from pt a to pt b.

I believe it helps during high speed braking... A few months ago I changed to slotted rotors with new BBK micro 6 pot and the stopping power is simply amazing. Now I feel much safer when driving at decent speeds.

BBK micro 6pot [thumbsup]

6pot if nvr makan then dun know wat to say....... some rims cannot clear leh like neither 15 inch nor 16 inch can clear i doubt

Hello All,

If u change slotted rotor, it's recommended that u upsize ur stock brake caliper too.

Otherwise, like wat [Forexter] mentioned, juz change to better aftermarket brake pads - more value for $$.

But u may get more brake dust deposits on ur rims.

I did consider same thing as u b4. In the end, decided to change brake pads instead. Slowly save $$ then change to 4pot.

Yeap... But ex leh...

Mi no $$... was considering between buying aftermarket slotted brake disc or uprating brake pads...

In the end, got advice frm my mechanic tat rather save the $$ and invest in Mintex pads...

Btw, a lot of my frens experienced "high pitch screeching sound" after changing to aftermarket pads but stopping power is improved... [:/]

This sound happens during bedding in time, should disappear after that.

If prolonged, then check that that pads are fitted in properly as the metal plates could be rubbing against the calipers or something like that. Else, could be due to small stones stuck in the pads. Best to get ur mech to check for u

Recently, i changed my front rotor to Brembo Max (Slotted). Other than rotor, nothing was changed. The main difference is for hi speed braking.

slots more for cooling the brakes at high speeds.

i think having a larger rotor is more effective for better braking...moment force applied is bigger

Yeap... But ex leh...

Mi no $$... was considering between buying aftermarket slotted brake disc or uprating brake pads...

In the end, got advice frm my mechanic tat rather save the $$ and invest in Mintex pads...

normally the high performance aftermarket pads have more metalic compound and it will generate the "high pitch screeching sound". in my past experience, the sound may subsize but won't go off even after bedding in. just my 2cts..

Edited by Freifeit

Slotted rotors help to improve braking by allowing the gases generated by braking to be released. Stock rotors performance degrade due to the presence of hot gases generated when braking. The brake pads vaporize and tend to create a boundary layer between the rotor and pad thus reducing contact. Slots or cross-drilled holes allow the gases to escape and help to maintain braking force.

Larger rotors DO cool down faster thus helping to improve braking as well, more mass to dissipate the heat when braking. Cooling is mainly the job of the vanes inside the rotors. Hope this helps... [flowerface]