First inspection failed

thanks guys for helping me out..

a question, is those "express" workshops located within petrol stations able to perform the wheel alignment and headlight adjustement??

thanks

For wheel alignment, better to go to those places mentioned by Furrynadz. How misaligned are your headlamp? To be honest, none of my cars and family cars have/has ever pass the headlight.

wheel alignment 50

go stamford/autobacs..etc

if you don't know what an alignment machine looks like, then stick to stamford/autobacs. price might be a little higher than smaller workshops but cheaper than ur dealer. not sure how much dealers charge but i find it silly to go back to them for such things. pay more and wait longer. not saying u silly, but anyway, now u know.

u can try some of the larger tire shops too. the alignment machine looks like a set of rails which u drive your car over.. anyway, can always just stop ur car somewhere near and ask.

headlights ah.. maybe can ask the mech to help u adjust. not likely to help u pass but LTA doesn't really bother abt headlight alignment if it's a bit off.. always see taxis with one side highbeam [dizzy]

lta will only send you letter when your car about to finish 3rd year going to 4th.

you sure?? I bought my previous 1st hand car in Feb 2004, Dec2006 letter ask me to go for inspection!!! change car in Jan 2007

for info, the wheel alignment and the headlights fail. I have no idea how it is possible as i did not do any mods to the car, especially not to the headlights!

any bros and sis got any ideas how this is possible? will normal day to day driving cause the alignment and headlights to fail?

also, whats the market rate nowadays to re-align the wheels? I was quoted $100.. fair?

thanks very much

wheel alignment: you could have hit pot holes or rubbed a kerb, the alignment will go out of spec. can be fixed easily. $100 for wheel alignment sounds way off.

headlights: for most cars, the level is set by simple screw/gear mechanism. this can go off over time due to engine/chassis vibrations.

nothing to be fearful about. simple fixes that make sure your car is road-worthy.

Hi i just did my wheel alignment as i am going to 1st inspection next week for my ride. Did it for $80 at ubi autobacs today. I am so satisfied with their service, as the person also show me the checklist after the job. [thumbsup]

Edited by Davetan86

yup vicom quite strict now..i failed mine in Jan at the changi north..chat w the supervisor n he told me ever the outside got "ambush" so... [lipsrsealed]

thanks Furrynadz

do you think if go back to AD (CnC) will get $50?

Y do you still wanna go back and get chop by AD when there is no more warranty? unless you bought extend warranty or you got 5 yr warranty? [dizzy]

40 ringgit in JB, or S$40-50 at usual SG workshops will do just fine. S$80 can service your car (own oil) and rotate, high speed balance and align at JB with change to spare [sweatdrop]

next time lah..

minor problem... rectify then go back.. pay 50% of reinspection fee, sure pass. headlight doesnt matter. most of the time fail. they will also know and close eye.

Got a somewhat related problem here. Bought my car (second hand) last year august. Just pass my inspection this month but then the road tax letter came asking for renewal and found out that need to extend my insurance to cover until next year march together with the road tax when my insurance is actually going to last 1 year and ending this year august since my insurance cover from last august until this august.

Don't feel like extending with my current insurance as it's very expensive i was actually hoping to change insurance once this year finish. Is it possible to get insurance extension with a different insurance company while i'm still insured with aunty lucy?

Hi bros and sis,

A newbie car owner here. Just went for my first car inspection at Viccom last weekend and to my horror, my ride failed the test.

for info, the wheel alignment and the headlights fail. I have no idea how it is possible as i did not do any mods to the car, especially not to the headlights!

any bros and sis got any ideas how this is possible? will normal day to day driving cause the alignment and headlights to fail?

also, whats the market rate nowadays to re-align the wheels? I was quoted $100.. fair?

thanks very much

Got send car for servicing before inspection? Wheel alignment bo pian, no way to check on our own but faulty headlight? <_<

.... Is it possible to get insurance extension with a different insurance company while i'm still insured with aunty lucy?

Don't think you can do that. You will probably need to cancel the current one and sign up with another + the extension.

think no more warranty liao coz is 3rd year

well the reason why i thinking of going back CnC is for convenience la, coz near my office and got direct bus, then i can leave it there in the monring and collect it during lunch time.

Got send car for servicing before inspection? Wheel alignment bo pian, no way to check on our own but faulty headlight? <_<

boss, my headlight not faulty la, still bright and shining well, that why i also mystified as to why it can fail?

wheel alignment: you could have hit pot holes or rubbed a kerb, the alignment will go out of spec. can be fixed easily. $100 for wheel alignment sounds way off.

headlights: for most cars, the level is set by simple screw/gear mechanism. this can go off over time due to engine/chassis vibrations.

nothing to be fearful about. simple fixes that make sure your car is road-worthy.

oic.. thanks for clarifying