Home Safe Deposit Box to Recommend

Poper

Hi bro/sis,

Thinking of getting one digital safe box (like those hotel size) to put my 2 diamonds and 1 goldbar :D

Any reliable brand (support 6 digit PIN) recommended brand?

I understand that most, if not all, the safe box are only fire-resistant, not fire-proof.. and I'm ok with that.

Brand: SAVCO. Can get from NTUC Xtra and any other. My recommendation is to get the manual dial type rather than the digital type. Reason being, battery may leak.

I wonder what happen after battery goes flat? especially if you can only change battery from inside?

safe for what purpose ?? if for safe-keeping, most drawers with locks shud suffice.

but if for valuables, then get something that an average thief can't cart away .... like the one my dad uses .... more than 100 kgs !! but he uses it to keep his stamp and coins collections.

nowadays, those miniature safes sold at the supermarkets really CMI .... so small and light, thieves might just steal the safe together with the contents !

The safe behind got holes to drill to the wall one lah... you bo tak chey leh.. [shakehead]

I like those which can use credit card to swap and key in your own password number.

But where to put the small safe is a headache. You can't just drill two holes and stick it to the wall, too obvious. Hide behind a picture frame like in the movies is too troublesome cos got to dig a rectangle cavity on the wall [dead] . If you do it like hotel and put inside cabinet....cabinet made of wood...like not very secure.

Actually what some bros here said is right. Get one that is too heavy to run away with and does not run on batteries.

I wonder what happen after battery goes flat? especially if you can only change battery from inside?

Can buy diplomat. The battery is outside one. [thumbsup]

Some got keys that can help unlock it if batteries go flat. Emergency purpose.

safe for what purpose ?? if for safe-keeping, most drawers with locks shud suffice.

but if for valuables, then get something that an average thief can't cart away .... like the one my dad uses .... more than 100 kgs !! but he uses it to keep his stamp and coins collections.

My purpose for a simple safe is more for keeping valuables away from kids and other people (e.g. friends, maid, relatives, cleaning lady, etc). I'm pretty sure those who have lots of valuables would want to buy a very secure safe rather than those simple ones.

Those who have very valuable things will keep it with the banks loh... Mine is only to keep it out of reach from non-family members or simple-minded thiefs when I go overseas [thumbsup]

my family using the savco brand which is available at most megamarts. battery compartment accessible outside. max 16 digit but must use key to open after u enter your PIN. theres a master key which can let u open bypassing the PIN. So u only need to put the master key in another location. Mine is more than 70kg. because of the size, 70kg is not easy move unlike carrying a 70kg dumb bell.

the price is quite sticky. but wait for those megamart discounts like Carrforre when u can 10% storewide and use POSB master card to get another 5%.