RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 March 16, 2009 Novena 'exorcism' case Ordered to pay $372,000 By Khushwant Singh Madam Amutha Valli Krishnan had unsuccessfully sued the church, two priests and six church goers for psychiatric ailments resulting from what she claimed was an exorcism ritual. -- ST PHOTO: ALBERT SIM MADAM Amutha Valli Krishnan, 53, the woman who lost her suit in the 'exorcism case', has to pay costs of more than $372,000 for taking on the Novena Church. She had unsuccessfully sued the church, two priests and six church goers for psychiatric ailments resulting from what she claimed was an exorcism ritual. She may have to pay a further $92,600 in disbursements if the Supreme Court registrar orders her to. After meeting her lawyer, Mr R.S. Bajwa, as well as the lawyers for the defendants in chambers on Monday, Justice Lee Seiu Kin ordered Madam Valli to pay the six church goers $300,000 in costs and disbursements, which include court filing fees and other paperwork. She also has to pay $67,700 for disbursements to the church and Father Simon Tan, and another $5,000 for disbursements to Father Jacob Ong. Other disbursements, amounting to $34,600 for the church and Father Simon, and $58,000 for Father Jacob, comprising largely of costs in getting psychiatrists to testify for the defence, were referred to the Supreme Court registrar to decide if the amount is fair and should be paid by Madam Valli. Senior Counsel Jimmy Yim, who acted for Father Simon and Mr Tito Issac for the church and Father Jacob had not asked for their fees to be included in the costs. This could probably amount to $1 million for the 32-day trial for the two teams of lawyers. 'If the lawyer does not charge his client fees, then he is not entitled to the costs' said Mr Bajwa. MORAL OF THE STORY - DUN TAKE ON THE HIGHEST COURT, AKA HEAVEN! Serves them bloody right ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 I think she can write a book on this and earn some money to pay everyone cos I dun think geylang will take her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 crooks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 serves her right. can't stand that sorry looking face in the papers. i admire the defending lawyers for not charging their fees Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 Yup...and the defendants too. If they had done so, wah lau....$1m at least Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 From the first day, this was already a scam too good to be true......think they kena possessed liao to try take on the church.... Anyway, Heaven have eyes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greggywong Neutral Newbie March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 not trying to pour cold water or wat....if she declares herself bankrupt....no one can get a cent out of it!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 not trying to pour cold water or wat....if she declares herself bankrupt....no one can get a cent out of it!! Well, at least they have to take over the assets and all first...still got some $$$... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 serves her right. can't stand that sorry looking face in the papers. i admire the defending lawyers for not charging their fees I admit it...i hate the way she always looks at the photographer using her "crying face"! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 I admit it...i hate the way she always looks at the photographer using her "crying face"! Well, you may see her along the roads or coming to your doorstep asking for $$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 I think she can write a book on this and earn some money to pay everyone cos I dun think geylang will take her. Thats a good idea. This whole saga can actually be written into a novel & case study for law schools! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcuter88 Neutral Newbie March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 So if that irritating manlingering former national runner of our's declares bankrupt, who is going to foot all the bills? 1. Court fees 2. Defendant lawyer fees 3. Prosecuter lawyer fees Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 Well, you may see her along the roads or coming to your doorstep asking for $$$ I'll not even open my door. If I give her $, U'll see me next in high court this time being accused of trying to molest her while giving her $. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 (edited) I'll not even open my door. If I give her $, U'll see me next in high court this time being accused of trying to molest her while giving her $. ...possible...possible instal cctv camera bo??? Edited March 17, 2009 by RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 ...possible...possible instal cctv camera bo??? Install also no use coz she can say the woman in the video clip is not her, but her long lost twin sista who is asking $$ from me becos i owe them $1 million. This kind of maligering bastaXds best not to even go near them. Even if u pay some deperate & deprived bangalas to rape her they also dun want [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 Install also no use coz she can say the woman in the video clip is not her, but her long lost twin sista who is asking $$ from me becos i owe them $1 million. This kind of maligering bastaXds best not to even go near them. Even if u pay some deperate & deprived bangalas to rape her they also dun want muahahaha.... eh skali they come here looking for chance to take you to high cot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 17, 2009 Author Share March 17, 2009 ahcerlee hor, she should be given an Oscar from the Tamil channel for bloody good acting...hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2009 Share March 17, 2009 ahcerlee hor, she should be given an Oscar from the Tamil channel for bloody good acting...hahahaha Ya man! All our TCS ah-jie or whoever no fight with her sia! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...