Powerkeong Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 Today (15 March 2009) around 3.10-3.20pm, I was driving along Jurong East Central under a heavy thunderstorm when suddenly, the raindrop sound become different and i see small balls of ice dropping from the sky onto my windscreen.. The rain got so big that eventually, my gf n I decided to stop at nearby Jurong East MSCP to shelter my car from the ice. Within 10 min of stopping the car inside the MSCP, the MSCP start to flood. Luckily, the rain got smaller and we decided to move off towards Suntec City for IT show. The destruction of the storm is catastrophic. I see numerous malfunction traffic lights, many trees kanna blown off it root at jurong east area, traffic jam + accident at Jurong Town Hall Road, Trees hit a car on the road and falling branches all over the road... All in 10min.. Strong Wind was also experience when i was fetching my girlfriend from Bukit Gombak. I can feel my car shaking buy the strong wind.. Weather in singapore nowadays is ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 It's unusual to have hailstone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 yah lor yesterday's storm was quite bad...I stay in Bt Batok, and i saw falling big tree branches landing on a lorry and van parked in my carpark....Poor them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 i was in jurong east central that time...but no ice leh...only heavy rain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 I was somewhere in the West near to Dover. No rain leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magnifique 2nd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 i experienced e same thing. visibility less than 10m. hailstorm + tree fell right in front of me. if drove any faster, would have been crushed. jurong town hall road hit worst. both lanes jammed with fallen trees blocking all 4 lanes. sbs buses got stuck with wheels under water. really bad! singapore going haywire? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 The Day After Tomorrow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 wow.... hailstones. Seems like a yearly event.... the first time was in july 2007 and then in march 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 funny man....i stay in jurong west...rain not that bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 The Day After Tomorrow. That'd be Wed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 it will be good if sg can experience some sort of cooler climate one day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Hailstones last reported in SG on 27 Mar 2008. http://www.post1.net/lowem/entry/nea_confi...es_in_singapore Before that it was Jul 2007. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 That'd be Wed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 I tot the title is for ICE meetup during thunderstorm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Effects of global warming I suppose??? Maybe we will have snow in SG ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 The Day After Tomorrow. if really like "day after tomorrow", then no more singapore... cos will be under water... we will need to move to australia liao, as northern hemisphere will be hit by ice age Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermit 1st Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Effects of global warming I suppose??? ..... Read somewhere that, instead of melting icecaps due to global warming as acclaimed by tree-hugging activists.. The polar axes of Gaia are shifting and changing its tilt.. (galactic passing of Nibiru in Yr 2012 is a contributing factor?) And so explains the 'shifting' of climatic phenomenon.. etc..etc.. Just sharing my 2-bytes worth.. Back to ice-kachang topic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 No wonder yesterday afternoon while driving past jurong east area i see many fallen tree brances & leaves all over the place. I was commenting to my frens in my car that a big thunderstorm must have juz subsided. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...