Rickster 5th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 4:21 AM, Sunlight said: why did they drop 92 in the first place? i dont see any reason why we cannot use 92 petrol, while our cousins up north has no problem with it. Actually most NA engine Japanese car on our roads can take RON92 petrol. Either way, the current price difference of RON 92 and 95 is usually around $0.50 per full tank for most cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 5:41 AM, Route88 said: Platinum IS 98ron now.Refer below http://www.caltex.com/sg/en/default.asp Actually might as well. Don't think their platinum is selling well compared to VPower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gila0gila Neutral Newbie March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 can toyota wish take 92? , dun really understand the manual .thanks for the input Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Yeah,so far my life filling up with them,never use the old platinum b4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 6:05 AM, Gila0gila said: can toyota wish take 92? , dun really understand the manual .thanks for the input see wat it writes on fuel cap unleaded = 92 premium = 95 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gila0gila Neutral Newbie March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 ok thank you bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 6:05 AM, Gila0gila said: can toyota wish take 92? , dun really understand the manual .thanks for the input Yes, can. Have been using 92 on my Wish for 3 years already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 ho seh!!!...time for me to further downgrade...pumped shell 92 and find no diff in power...if got grade 89 better still....just dreaming... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Should be the reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 4:21 AM, Sunlight said: why did they drop 92 in the first place? i dont see any reason why we cannot use 92 petrol, while our cousins up north has no problem with it. the reason is not about can use or cannot use, the main driving reason to phase out 92 is so stations can sell only more expensive petrol. imagine you go to a restaurant, look at the menu, sorry no chicken or duck, only serve sharksfin, fish, abalone, scallop. so you lan lan have to order the expensive dishes. shell station along amk ave 8 has already phase out their RON92 2 weeks ago after 7-11 took over. i was quite taken aback by it. even complain to the cashier and pump attendant (i noe they have nothing to do wif it but hope they feedback to their boss. lah) so i have decided to boycott it and move to caltex. hopefully they have their 92 ready by my next pump. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 well, well, looks like shell has decided to do a one up on caltex .... their RON92 is 1.535/l now http://www.shell.com/home/content/sg-en/sh...board_0720.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ridethewave Neutral Newbie March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Well, could be a marketing ploy. The Caltex station manager told me that you get Platinum @ Gold Price, whether the petrol is really Gold (98) or Platinum (98 Vpower) I really don't know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 well the pumps only have 3 nozzles. so if u bring back 92, u'll have to make a decision as to which one will have to go, right ? since 92 is reintroduced, 95 is for the masses, that leaves either gold or plat. so as a mktg gimmick, just remove one and call it plat@gold price loh ..... anyway both are RON98. The difference is supposedly in the additives. How are you going to verify what additives are in there ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 4:13 AM, Route88 said: Introduce or no introduce,also same, no power in our small island , no need power lar can move and no pinging ok liao. want power ? Go petronas . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 (edited) On 3/16/2009 at 7:31 AM, Furrynadz said: see wat it writes on fuel cap unleaded = 92 premium = 95 I think certain car manual will said it's ok with 92 but will be retarded,however, the long term effect will be a car that is retarded. From what I see, the price difference for 92 and 95 is too minimum to make a big impact.. Edited March 16, 2009 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 On 3/16/2009 at 8:49 AM, Try_conti said: well, well, looks like shell has decided to do a one up on caltex .... their RON92 is 1.535/l now http://www.shell.com/home/content/sg-en/sh...board_0720.html Caltex 92 is now S$1.507 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 (edited) Wah now then introduce haha. Just pumped 95 at caltex. Thought caltex got 92 haha. But best is to use 95 for most cars. Reason being more mileage out of it. 92 has damn bad mileage thats why. But the lower price makes up for it. Still, i dont think it is still better even though the price is lower. I guess 92 is only for those bike kup kias? Edited March 16, 2009 by Ev0lutionz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched March 16, 2009 Share March 16, 2009 Before any vehicle owner will to use 92-octane petrol just to save a few cents per litre, I would suggest that vehicle owners to check whether such petrol is appropriate for their vehicle. Reason being that most of our vehicles have to use 95-octane. If any of you still wishes to save that few cents/L, I would suggest that owners check with their vehicle's agent. Otherwise, it's like penny wise, pound foolish. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...