Kelpie 2nd Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 Had a lunch yesterday with a Malaysian associate and he told me Malaysian don't treat cars like god like we do in Singapore. For minor accident like hitting bumper, usually if just superficial scratches, both parties will just walk away from the incident. If the problem is more serious, usually on the spot settlement is RM300 at most. A Singapore friend recently hit a rear bumper of a Malaysian car infront, slighly dent and scratch to the Myvi's rear bumper. The Malaysian driver made some noises but didn't persue with the matter. I think in Singapore, even for minor accidents, you will see drivers dispute until like want to kill each other . Perhaps this is why our insurance premium is high and getting higher . Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 I don't understand why drivers like to dispute or argue when they get involved in accidents. Isn't that the job of their insurance companies - which is why we pay our premiums? The only exception is when loved ones are hurt/injured in the course of an accident, and/or the other party is being unreasonable or aggressive. Remember, in Singapore, the Self is god and all that matters. That's our national mentality for you :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 also , the total car price here one have to pay is the highest in the entire galaxy . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 Here... cars are too expensive. So some will treat it like their own child. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 heard it couple of times when e driver on e receiving end always come out of e car n ask......."why u bang mi???". Really silly remarks as if ppl got nothing better to do than to bang him infront Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 (edited) in stresspore (the most stressful country in the world), drivers behind the wheels are already very hot-tempered and stressed up even in normal road conditions, they despise one another on the roads when they encounter jam and delays, their blood pressure shoot up and curse other drivers when they collide their cars, their blood veessels explode and exchange furious words and point middle fingers when things get ugly, they fight among themselves Welcome to stresspore Edited March 15, 2009 by Edwards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raffy1996 Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 Well, it's the basic foundation of our society leh. We were all brought up on this: economics and the yusof ishak. that's how we got to where we are today in a short span of time. You pay for the accelerated process. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 hit in the rear bumper lightly, long long long ago by an elderly guy in a lorry. superficial scratches. fella was apologizing profusely. saw his tired out look, wrinkle face, and sun beaten skin under the street lamp.' I said, "uncle dont worry about it but do drive carefully, go home and take a rest now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishbowl 2nd Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 heard it couple of times when e driver on e receiving end always come out of e car n ask......."why u bang mi???". Really silly remarks as if ppl got nothing better to do than to bang him infront aiyoh...last night I kenna incident stupid ah pek drive his car never keep to his lane...both of us turning right and he on the left lane did not keep to his lane....I try to siam his car end up my rims kenna buah the kerb with loud sound. When both of us stop at the next traffic light...I was inside my car kpkb to myself oredi.... ah pek somemore can come down from his car and look at his bumper...faintz My rims kenna buah and he think I bang his car Still dun noe how bad my rims kenna buah cos at night cannot see clearly.....hmmmm....procrastinating Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 To recap: there was a minor accident between a Mazda 3 and a taxi, and ended with the Mazda 3 driver losing his life because he refused to let the taxi driver leave the scene. Totally not worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 don't fight with taxi drivers, most of them are mentally unsound not worth it, since mentally unsound people always get clemency from law Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 (edited) Had a lunch yesterday with a Malaysian associate and he told me Malaysian don't treat cars like god like we do in Singapore. For minor accident like hitting bumper, usually if just superficial scratches, both parties will just walk away from the incident. If the problem is more serious, usually on the spot settlement is RM300 at most. A Singapore friend recently hit a rear bumper of a Malaysian car infront, slighly dent and scratch to the Myvi's rear bumper. The Malaysian driver made some noises but didn't persue with the matter. I think in Singapore, even for minor accidents, you will see drivers dispute until like want to kill each other . Perhaps this is why our insurance premium is high and getting higher . Regards, For myself..I am not too particular about small dents here and there. Just last week, a cab driver reverse and bang onto my front bumper. My bumper caved in and all I ask is his phone number and his name. He was having that really worried look. I told him I will settle the repair and call him for the money. Off we go in 5 minutes. Next day, I repaired the bumper and repaint and ask him for $170. He drove me to my house and paid me the money. He first question is........what if he didn't reply to my sms or call? What makes me trust him? I told him that the damage is minor and if someone wants to run away over such small incident and live with a guilt, then I will just let him be. At least there are really still good and honest cabbies on the road. Edited March 15, 2009 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 (edited) u know why? $170 only if $1700, what you think will happen haha in money-minded stresspore, people react according to $$$ Edited March 15, 2009 by Edwards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 I don't understand why drivers like to dispute or argue when they get involved in accidents. Isn't that the job of their insurance companies - which is why we pay our premiums? The only exception is when loved ones are hurt/injured in the course of an accident, and/or the other party is being unreasonable or aggressive. Remember, in Singapore, the Self is god and all that matters. That's our national mentality for you :p if my honda cost SGD20k..i would've behaved the same way as malaysians too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 (edited) money is the roots of all evils especially in high-cost stresspore you do not have the right to own a car, unless you buy the right from the gahment, then they will award you this prestigious certificate of entitlement and congratulate you for being awarded the rights to own a car this certificate is only awarded in stresspore and maybe shanghai that's why people treasure their cars in stresspore Edited March 15, 2009 by Edwards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 Car is a necessity for most in other countries because of the distance travelled, therefore most do not treat their cars like 'treasure'. In Singapore, car is not a necessity to most and car prices are high, there is a pride in owning a car. That's why locals are treating their cars like 'treasure' esp, cars are not cheap and most used more than 30% of their monthly salary to pay monthly installment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 because cars in singapore are expensive. tat why we already react in tat manner. (or most of us) imagine a old lao pok car in sg can cost 10-20k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie March 15, 2009 Share March 15, 2009 (edited) yes i agree pride will transform into ego, ego behind the wheels in stresspore, you bang people's car means you hurt their ego/pride it's not only the physical damage to the vehicle, there's also a pyschological damage to one's ego and pride, they can't take it and will be emotionally impaired Edited March 15, 2009 by Edwards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...