Encik dies during run

MacDuck

Maybe he was just carrying out his daily fitness routine to keep himself in shape. I know of a lot of suicidal idiots who insist on running or exercising when they're down with a virus or just recovered from a virus though. it's plain idiocy to do as such, because exertion weakens the heart temporarily and gives the virus a window of opportunity to attack the heart.....

I always felt that running is the cheapest form of exercise. Just put on a pair of running shoes and zoom off. Good for sweat out and to de-stress. It seems like running itself can be a slient killer.

Regards,

It's cheapest on the wallet..... but more expensive on the body.... especially the joints. You'll incur a debt which will definitely be payable once you enter middle-age or later ;)

Cycling, stairs climbing, rowing or even the elliptical machine in the gyms are all great cardio alternatives which are kinder on the joints. I wish I live in the East, so I could take advantage of all the park connectors and cycling tracks. But I live in the West where it's a health (and road) hazard to really cycle. Kinda bleah if you ask me, short-changing West-siders in this aspect.

i may be wrong but is the deceased encik used to work in ARTC in amoy quee camp throughout the 90's ?

The photograph in the today sunday time orbituary look familiar though .

He was a great man.Very humble ,helpful and soft spoken to us eventhough he was a staff sergeant then and we're only lance corporal .

I used to station at GSMB armanent maintenance base in amoy quee camp during my NS time .

If at 52, he is still a 2WO...

Chances of promotion are next to nill I'm afraid.. so no need to chiong so hard..

Dont "chiong" and cannot pass IPPT means year end bonus affected ba.

So sad. I give him an angel [angel] .

Besides, it is just a morning jog, why blame the SAF for this? He has a high enough rank to sit out the morning run if he's not feeling well so how can you blame the army for this? I'm more concerned about NSFs who are pressured (with peer pressure or punishment) to go beyond their limits.

in my reservist unit, the CO told us that NSMen are "encouraged" to join in the morning camp run once a week, i thk it's every Wednesday.

but ALL of us(NSMen) will just act blur and hide in the office building,

so i think this shud have be a case of "camaraderie" thingy for the active personnel.

Time for SAF to revise IPPT criteria.

Physical fitness does not equate to combat fitness.

And IPPT is turning into a killer tool.

at age 52, i dun think he is doing IPPT anymore, at most only 3 stations.

iF IPPT is unmanageable, it would be difficult to pass combat fitness test too. Unless the test is to take out mess tin and cook 3 dishes in 15 mins. :)

IPPT vs SOC, which do you choose? for a man at age 52?

Edited by Nerdyfrog

I always felt that running is the cheapest form of exercise. Just put on a pair of running shoes and zoom off. Good for sweat out and to de-stress. It seems like running itself can be a slient killer.

Regards,

i think swimming trunks cheaper than running shoes [flowerface]

but i like cycling. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ [sweatdrop]

It's cheapest on the wallet..... but more expensive on the body.... especially the joints. You'll incur a debt which will definitely be payable once you enter middle-age or later ;)

Cycling, stairs climbing, rowing or even the elliptical machine in the gyms are all great cardio alternatives which are kinder on the joints. I wish I live in the East, so I could take advantage of all the park connectors and cycling tracks. But I live in the West where it's a health (and road) hazard to really cycle. Kinda bleah if you ask me, short-changing West-siders in this aspect.

the best offroad is closer to the west. ubin sucks cos you have to bumboat across.

take a slow ride to bukit timah or mandai T15 [thumbsup]. ride along the pavements if safety is an issue. since it's legal now. of course, give way to peds [grouphug]

read the news in the paper...think he was taking part in a thrice weekly live run conducted in the camp, part of camp activities, and if i nv rem wrongly, saw tat he will b covered state flag

??? Stair climbing not double impact on the joints meh?

Jog on the softer track lor... but then again, there is that sense of achievement once you finish that 42.195km, which you can never do on the track..........

jogging nowsday is really scary. I will take my time to take a stroll and light jog. cannot take it, then walk. why force myself when my joint is bad and my stamina sucks. no wonder i never pass my IPPT before. lol =)

I tot u scared kena rape

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Actually, alot of PTIs in RT and IPT also encourage pple to try their best but dun over exert themselves ......