My method of lane changing, pls comment

Hanhao

I suggest TS drive more at less busy road to get more confident.. otherwise, public transport is the way to go.. some people are just not suitable for driving..

Some just jam brake when confronted on the road and take few seconds to react.. by that time, accident already happen...

On 3/10/2009 at 4:19 PM, Hanhao said:

My method of lane changing, pls comment

Ok after reading http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...635942&st=0 , i have decided on this is how i am going to change lane in heavy , but not so slow traffic.

I think the key is knowing how to play with my signal lights and not to confuse the other driver of my intention

1) initially, check for a gap using side mirror, NO SIGNAL

2)

if got car quite far away at same speed relative to me.... SIGNAL

if got car quite near at same speed relative to me....NO SIGNAL + me Slow down and let that car speed forward till he is in front

if got no car, ..... SIGNAL

If got car quite far away driving faster ... NO SIGNAL

If got car quite near driving faster ... NO SIGNAL

3) for cases which I signal, i give 2 seconds for the car behind to take notice of me.

4)

after 2 seconds i check the car behind on my side mirror again,

if he speed up, I REMOVE SIGNAL and slow down and dont cut his lane

if he maintain speed, i continue my signal signal and cut in, speed up and pay attention to the car in front, ensuring that i have enough gap if that car in front jam brake

if he slow down, i continue my signal and cut in and speed up, and pay attention to the car in front , ensuring that i have enough gap if that car in front jam brake

feel free to leave your comments, whether positive or negative. As long as we have something to learn from it [thumbsup]

The person sitting next to you will be very amused when he/she look at your expression each time you change lane. That's because you will tend to be fixated in accessing the rules above each time changing lanes... Face will look like trying to memorize something... [sweatdrop]

Even aunties drive better than you ley. Why so many formulaes so difficult?

To change lane, simply be vigilant while driving,

1.. know your route, otherwise stick to slower moving lanes; signal and plan your intention well in advance;

2.. observe any possible slots to cut in further ahead or at the back? check rear, side, blind spot, spot memorize what vehicles and motorbikes are around you;

3.. ride on the divider line for a second before abruptly cut in to avoid collision as some vehicles will attempt to close the gap even when you are about to change lane, so be careful and alert.

4. MOST IMPORTANTLY, apply common sense, accelerate and keep up if you change to a faster moving lane, DO NOT cut in if the car at the back coming up fast, there will be a gap after the fast moving ones.

hey ppl i know i very popular but

pls comment on my method, rather than on me

thank you very much

On 3/11/2009 at 1:07 PM, Hondacub777 said:

Of all i know is that 80% of time,when i signal my intention,suddenly all the cars turn on their TURBOS [drivingcar] and close up the gaps [hur] .

In peak hour traffic that is haha.

  On 3/11/2009 at 1:07 PM, Hondacub777 said:

Of all i know is that 80% of time,when i signal my intention,suddenly all the cars turn on their TURBOS [drivingcar] and close up the gaps [hur] .

hmm..one reason i think that happens is because you tend to slow down when trying to change lane..therefore, cars beside you seem to go relatively faster when it's you who have slowed down..

nevertheless, there are some who purposely speed up so as not to let you cut in..

anyway, 1 thing i learnt about changing lane is.. once you spotted a space big enough..

either maintain same speed as the car behind on the next lane, signal then filter in within 2sec..

or

if the gap is big enough(about 2-3 car length), speed up, signal and cut in..mai hum ji..kar kar lai..

On 3/11/2009 at 11:56 AM, Hanhao said:

hey ppl i know i very popular but

pls comment on my method, rather than on me

thank you very much

most drivers, including myself do not know how to give comments to your method coz we never uses it..

i agree with Sony

your method is too chim to understand [sweatdrop]

i think there is no one hard and fast rule

this type is instinct one

On 3/10/2009 at 11:30 PM, Spiderman302 said:

Maybe he is a driving instructor ?

he is a programmer....

the algorithm can be used for driverless car

On 3/11/2009 at 1:39 PM, Shull said:

if the gap is big enough(about 2-3 car length), speed up, signal and cut in..mai hum ji..kar kar lai..

I also notice something abt this..........

Got this space as mentioned but still the car dare not change lane even though the car behind in the next lane is letting him in. Die die have to give space abt 5 car length then dare to change............ [shakehead]

200 over words from the thread starter is confusing.. whatever just..

signal first, see mirror check blindspot and keep alittle to the lane, if no vehicle just change, if there's another vehicle just see how he respond, 50% each will give way or accelerate.. just act with common sense..

Hanhao you never state the most impt thing -- What car do you drive? Different cars get different reactions on the roads believe me. When I see an Audi I will gladly give way no matter how small the gap. He just needs to signal that's enough. On the other hand, when I see a COE car I will put on my turbo no matter how far away I am. Lols...

wat kind of logic is tat?

coe car = speed up & close gap

audi = i gif way

if u're a lady, then u most likely will..

asian = giap my legs tight

ang moh = i spread them wide!