Djanggo Neutral Newbie March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 (edited) this is what happen when riding between lanes at 0.28. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tULMTKrkhiw Edited March 7, 2009 by Djanggo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 I dun like those who squeeze in-between the cars at traffic stop. And gang up at after the white line, their 2T oil will start to get on my bonnet . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 10:55 PM, Solar said: driver behind dun show patience prob because the biker is road hogging. Like most of Singpaorean drivers, 'everything' in front of you are 'road hoggin'. Once there was this auntie tell me, she saw me riding on on PIE in front of her car. She tell me, I should keep to left because I was hogging her way.... I told her : "Auntie, I riding a 1.3L bike, can do 0-100 in 3sec, and I was riding 130Km/h, how I hog you with that kind of speed a 8AM on PIE?" Bike and car is diffferent. Bike need to move forward at certain speed to maintain balance, car has no worry about the balance. We are sharing the road to get to our destination, not racing with each others, not KILLING each others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 Think there is another growing trend also, driving between lanes or driving on 2 lanes... That one is worst than bikes riding in between lanes.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 for me if u ride in between lanes, i will honk you ass to get out of the way cos if ie, u are riddin btw the first late ( over takin land) and 2nd land, both lanes i cannot over take u you'll be dam close to me. if you ride in the middle of the lane ( like a normal car), i will overtake u like how i overtake other cars, by moving to another lane and if u ride in the 1st lane at DAM slow speed, i will honk you ass cos you are hogging. but if u ride a hyabusa and wack like siao in first lane, then u deserve to be in 1st lane, cos u are not hogging. TP should make it bloody illegal to ride in between lanes cos its a real PAIN in the ASS when some of these motorcyclist overtake u at DAM NEAR distances when u are just cruising in ur own lane minding your own business. But TP would rather catch pple wil zng number plates or other rubbish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 I really have no issues with bikers taking the the edge of lanes (whichever lanes). the fact that i am still driving now means that i am in a way resigned to the fact and have accepted the reality. i do not however understand this stupid behaviour. look guys, this is a diagram of a typical road at the traffic junction. Lane 1 is turn right only and Lane 2 is go straight. How many times have you encounter this scenario? Lane 1 is lined up with fellas trying to turn right, waiting for a green arrow or traffic to clear whichever. Suddenly some bike go very slow teetering on the right hand side of Lane 2. He then ends up turning to the right suddenly becoming the lead vehicle of the mass of vehicles trying to turn right. What is this really? I don't know? A selfish desire to be the first to turn right? A fear of queuing up? And to top it up, because you aren't going very fast while you are basically trying to filter right on the go-ahead lane, you hold up traffic which is basically trying to go straight. Well done. To bikers who are guilty of this, shame on you for causing the gridlocks on our roads to intensify more thanks to your selfishness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silent6 Neutral Newbie March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 (edited) In reply to "Kelpie's" question on "Do you think riding in between lanes is a form of defensive riding for the riders"....Perhaps you may be able to find your answer from instructors at driving schools. Edited March 7, 2009 by Silent6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackreplica Neutral Newbie March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 (edited) I am a biker and driver Riding close to a lane marking is defensive riding, it allows a rider an escape route if the idiot in front decides to jam brake. We have 2 tyres instead of 4 to stop and most of us do not have ABS. It is an established defensive street riding procedure. For example, if i was riding in the first lane on the highway, i would be on the left of that lane, near (but not ON) the lane marking. If moron in front decides to hit the brakes, we just check our mirrors and move left into lane 2, then give the moron the finger as we pass on the left. But guess what, being close to the lane marking means there is a little space on the right, so here comes mr moron who thinks its fair game to just move into that gap, and in the process, force me out of my lane against my will or risk being roadkill. 8 out of 10 times, this happens. Bikes are typically much faster than cars and being close to the lane marking allows us to overtake more quickly as well, which makes things a lot safer. This overtaking maneuver may mean being in between 2 cars in some situations. If in doubt (i.e some bike zooms by close to you or seems to be riding aggressively/erratically, maintain your position in the lane and your speed. We, as bikers, will keep clear. Or SHOULD keep clear. Particularly when overtaking. After all, we have much more to lose. Any half decent sensible rider will not hit you even if he is overtaking between 2 vehicles if you do not make sudden steering inputs or decide to accelerate/brake abruptly. If his riding style bothers you, fret not, because he is much faster than you and will be gone into the horizon in a less than a minute and you will not have to bear with his presence much longer Having said that, there is no excuse for straddling 2 lanes by riding on the lane marking continuously. all it does is confuse the drivers behind you since they dont know which lane you will move to next. I have been riding for a decade and every 2 times i decide to ride my bike, some idiot in a car will almost kill me at least once. I have almost been T-boned, run over, forced to jam brake so hard my back wheel was in the air, pushed off my lane by cars, and nearly flung into the air by people who do not follow stop signs and CHECK before they turn into a main road which i happen to be travelling on. The list just goes on and on. Lets not start pointing fingers Edited March 7, 2009 by Blackreplica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 bikers should not ride in between lanes except overtaking when u ride in between lanes, the cars in the 2 lane duno which lane you want, and u r inviting pple to overtake you closely. when i ride, i normally keep to the centre of the lane but gotta keep a close watch on the following distance and at the same time defend my lane. if u r following behind a saloon car then normally its ok because you can see its front windscreen however if behind a van or suv, then gotta tilt slightly out to catch the view on the front to be ready for evasive action there are STILL drivers who think bikes dun deserve one lane or be on lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 On 3/7/2009 at 3:57 PM, Happily1986 said: I really have no issues with bikers taking the the edge of lanes (whichever lanes). the fact that i am still driving now means that i am in a way resigned to the fact and have accepted the reality. i do not however understand this stupid behaviour. look guys, this is a diagram of a typical road at the traffic junction. Lane 1 is turn right only and Lane 2 is go straight. How many times have you encounter this scenario? Lane 1 is lined up with fellas trying to turn right, waiting for a green arrow or traffic to clear whichever. Suddenly some bike go very slow teetering on the right hand side of Lane 2. He then ends up turning to the right suddenly becoming the lead vehicle of the mass of vehicles trying to turn right. What is this really? I don't know? A selfish desire to be the first to turn right? A fear of queuing up? And to top it up, because you aren't going very fast while you are basically trying to filter right on the go-ahead lane, you hold up traffic which is basically trying to go straight. Well done. To bikers who are guilty of this, shame on you for causing the gridlocks on our roads to intensify more thanks to your selfishness. i give them my horn when i am 0.5m away from them.... inconsiderate pricks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thelord Neutral Newbie March 7, 2009 Share March 7, 2009 This topic discuss forever also wont get an outcome, the replies says it all liao ma. Everybody got different views, so many cars on the road whos the saint whos the devil? I say bang them all, set fire to all the bikes in the carparks. Other than that? Accept reality. Give and take, live with it. Everybody wans to get from point A to B in 1 piece only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 On 3/7/2009 at 1:11 AM, Djanggo said: this is what happen when riding between lanes at 0.28. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tULMTKrkhiw How come the vans and lorries machiam driving on ice like that ? If they never change the 100 years harden tires, then they are frigging ASKIN' for it. A**holes like this only endanger the lives of others... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitro Neutral Newbie March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 Can't stand bikes who ride between lanes. Especially when during heavy traffic. My side mirrors got whacked a couple of times already. One a$$hole sideswiped so hard till my mirror went the opposite direction, "CRACKKK" the autoclose mechanism broke. Gotta spend 100plus to get it fixed. Never say sorry or stop, just ride and run away even when I horned. I think the 0.28secs part of the youtube video is a good example of the consequences of "in between" riding. If it's a 2 lane road, its a 2 lane road....not 2 and a half lane road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 3:08 AM, Zenithpool said: Driver that forcing biker out of lane, knowing that the biker will sure siam cause they cannot afford a single lightest contact with the car, is super low class. I personally encounter few time too. And this will be the time I show the driver what can 160HP on a 200kg machine do. End of day, it is really abt respect, accomodate, compromise. i dun mean to be antagonistic, but can your 160bhp protect u in any way? it can only get u further away (that's good) for those cases of bikers riding between lane 1 and 2, and going slower than lane 1 but always eating into lane 1, why not just show the driver what 160bhp can do, BEFORE you are forced out of lane? but to be fair, i usually have most issues with malaysian bikers riding their small cc and noisy bikes. like to overtake very slowly on lane 1, when there's a whole queue of cars behind this bike trying to get past. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 On 3/7/2009 at 7:38 PM, Blackreplica said: I am a biker and driver Riding close to a lane marking is defensive riding, it allows a rider an escape route if the idiot in front decides to jam brake. We have 2 tyres instead of 4 to stop and most of us do not have ABS. It is an established defensive street riding procedure. For example, if i was riding in the first lane on the highway, i would be on the left of that lane, near (but not ON) the lane marking. If moron in front decides to hit the brakes, we just check our mirrors and move left into lane 2, then give the moron the finger as we pass on the left. But guess what, being close to the lane marking means there is a little space on the right, so here comes mr moron who thinks its fair game to just move into that gap, and in the process, force me out of my lane against my will or risk being roadkill. 8 out of 10 times, this happens. i dun doubt people will try to force you out, but i think most of the drivers here are referring to the small bikes who love to cruise between lane 1 and two while hogging. if one is near to the next car in front, he is not hogging. doesn't matter bike or car. i've never even had the chance to push a biker like u out of their lane, esp if there is a car (or long line of cars) in front. big bikes i see usually zip by in a flash. it's the hogging slow bikes which really irritate me, and i will not hesitate to blast my horn at them if they are too much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oriki Neutral Newbie March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 I've encountered several times for the scenario for right turn. Most of the time when I horn them, they dun seem to think they are doing anything wrong. And some drivers are also using the same "tactic". Slowing down from middle lane to filter to turn right quite near to the traffic junction. Think it's best to "tahan".. if not driving/riding on roads will make our blood pressure high everyday. there will always be "black sheep" no matter if U are driving/riding, and regardless of the size of ur vehicle. On 3/7/2009 at 3:57 PM, Happily1986 said: I really have no issues with bikers taking the the edge of lanes (whichever lanes). the fact that i am still driving now means that i am in a way resigned to the fact and have accepted the reality. i do not however understand this stupid behaviour. look guys, this is a diagram of a typical road at the traffic junction. Lane 1 is turn right only and Lane 2 is go straight. How many times have you encounter this scenario? Lane 1 is lined up with fellas trying to turn right, waiting for a green arrow or traffic to clear whichever. Suddenly some bike go very slow teetering on the right hand side of Lane 2. He then ends up turning to the right suddenly becoming the lead vehicle of the mass of vehicles trying to turn right. What is this really? I don't know? A selfish desire to be the first to turn right? A fear of queuing up? And to top it up, because you aren't going very fast while you are basically trying to filter right on the go-ahead lane, you hold up traffic which is basically trying to go straight. Well done. To bikers who are guilty of this, shame on you for causing the gridlocks on our roads to intensify more thanks to your selfishness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 On 3/7/2009 at 7:38 PM, Blackreplica said: I am a biker and driver Riding close to a lane marking is defensive riding, it allows a rider an escape route if the idiot in front decides to jam brake. We have 2 tyres instead of 4 to stop and most of us do not have ABS. It is an established defensive street riding procedure. For example, if i was riding in the first lane on the highway, i would be on the left of that lane, near (but not ON) the lane marking. If moron in front decides to hit the brakes, we just check our mirrors and move left into lane 2, then give the moron the finger as we pass on the left. But guess what, being close to the lane marking means there is a little space on the right, so here comes mr moron who thinks its fair game to just move into that gap, and in the process, force me out of my lane against my will or risk being roadkill. 8 out of 10 times, this happens. Bikes are typically much faster than cars and being close to the lane marking allows us to overtake more quickly as well, which makes things a lot safer. This overtaking maneuver may mean being in between 2 cars in some situations. If in doubt (i.e some bike zooms by close to you or seems to be riding aggressively/erratically, maintain your position in the lane and your speed. We, as bikers, will keep clear. Or SHOULD keep clear. Particularly when overtaking. After all, we have much more to lose. Any half decent sensible rider will not hit you even if he is overtaking between 2 vehicles if you do not make sudden steering inputs or decide to accelerate/brake abruptly. If his riding style bothers you, fret not, because he is much faster than you and will be gone into the horizon in a less than a minute and you will not have to bear with his presence much longer Having said that, there is no excuse for straddling 2 lanes by riding on the lane marking continuously. all it does is confuse the drivers behind you since they dont know which lane you will move to next. I have been riding for a decade and every 2 times i decide to ride my bike, some idiot in a car will almost kill me at least once. I have almost been T-boned, run over, forced to jam brake so hard my back wheel was in the air, pushed off my lane by cars, and nearly flung into the air by people who do not follow stop signs and CHECK before they turn into a main road which i happen to be travelling on. The list just goes on and on. Lets not start pointing fingers You may have been riding for a decade but you sure sound like you need a lot of lessons on road riding. Ever reflect that it's your own (wrong) riding style and mentality that creates such dangerous situations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ekardo Clutched March 8, 2009 Share March 8, 2009 (edited) **** correct some typo ******* guys...this discussion can go on and on...every bikers and drivers all behave differently, I am a biker as well as driver (50 - 50%), and I pay special attention to bikers since I know bikers are at a disadvantage when come to any accident, be it whoever's fault. drive safely, what you can save 1 or 2s can actually save someone..no need to go to the funeral to understand this.. Respect everyone's life, even a murderer have parent.. I am hoping Singaporean will stop been snobbish..and live like a 1st world country citizen. Edited March 8, 2009 by Ekardo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...