Wanderer Clutched March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/5/2009 at 9:24 PM, Cjgoh said: No, that clown didn't signal AT ALL.. just drive closer and closer and squeeze through near my front right corner bumper. For this type of CB drivers who r too lazy to signal their intentions, I just close up the gap and dun let him cut in, horning at the same time to wake up the bugger's idea. Often, you will start to see them start signaling as they start to panic about not able to get in. Quote What I mean is; if you cannot or do not know how to rush in a safe manner, or lack the skills to do so, DON'T try it at the expense of other road users! Must also have a powerful machine to perform this stunt fast too! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 i don't see how that can contribute to an accident if the car behind is keeping a safe distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonchaser Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 i guess it's not a matter of causing accidents but an issue of being polite on the roads. maybe the example of taking an escalator will allow some people to relate to better. ever encountered one of those instances when you are trying to get through an escalator but there are two people standing abreast and who didn't care enough to give way to you? similarly there's no accident that can be caused there, just the issue of being courteous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:19 AM, Moonchaser said: i guess it's not a matter of causing accidents but an issue of being polite on the roads. maybe the example of taking an escalator will allow some people to relate to better. ever encountered one of those instances when you are trying to get through an escalator but there are two people standing abreast and who didn't care enough to give way to you? similarly there's no accident that can be caused there, just the issue of being courteous. This is the ROOT CAUSE of contempt on our roads, ALL THESE WHILE. The gross lack of Common Courtesy which the government FAILED big time to cultivate in society over decades. That familiar local term; Kiasu. Ever wondered WHY kiasu? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 if the driver is already on lane 2 or 3 and being tailgated does being courteous mean speeding up and possibly breaking the law or drive onto the road shoulder so he can pass ? what's the overtaking lane for then ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 7:08 AM, Ekardo said: of course, I do not mean I stick to lane 1 and drive at 90km/h for the whole journey, but as long as I am faster than the cars on the lane 2, anything wrong that I am not speeding to 120km/h to overtake? Even if you are traveling faster than lane 2 at 110km/h at lane 1, but if there's a faster car coming up behind u at 130km/h and u refused to give way, it's still considered road hogging. Wat ever speed he wishes to travel at, it's his own biz, even at the expense of losing his license. Nowadays, alot of drivers like to act self-righteous in controlling how fast one can travel at lane 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:32 AM, Wanderer said: Even if you are traveling faster than lane 2 at 110km/h at lane 1, but if there's a faster car coming up behind u at 130km/h and u refused to give way, it's still considered road hogging. Wat ever speed he wishes to travel at, it's his own biz, even at the expense of losing his license. Nowadays, alot of drivers like to act self-righteous in controlling how fast one can travel at lane 1 If you had to overtake on Lane 1 at 130, so be it. Overtake and come back in Lane 3. But if he goes 130 all the way, however self-righteous he/she is, that's called speeding and it is chargeable. Worse, lose control at that speed, not only will the idiot lose hie/her life - other people's lives are at risk too. So you speedsters out there, know what kind of beings you are. I sincerely hope, the government will complete the race track wherever in Singapore it may be located, so that all these speed addicts can go and have their fix as well as expire earlier so that decent folks on the road can strive for a living and live longer without them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear March 6, 2009 Author Share March 6, 2009 (edited) On 3/6/2009 at 7:44 AM, Falc said: Also got to depend on the car behind you. Imagine you manage to stop 2m behind the 3rd car, then the car/van behind you couldn't, bang into you and you bang into the 3rd car. How then? Worst case is if the car who hit you from behind is a malaysian vehicle with no insurance. => All the cars in front will try to claim from you! LL yah lor... if really think about it... will be a damn scary and stressful situation.... happened to my friend he brake in time but car behind couldn't so push him forward n hit the car in front... don't know how the claims worked out... Edited March 6, 2009 by Tunge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonchaser Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:31 AM, S4vtec said: if the driver is already on lane 2 or 3 and being tailgated does being courteous mean speeding up and possibly breaking the law or drive onto the road shoulder so he can pass ? what's the overtaking lane for then ? i'm sorry, but you're putting a false premise into your argument and asking a question based on your false premise. driving on the centre or left lanes should not be considered road-hogging. if a faster vehicle wants to pass, they can do it on the overtaking lane on the right. again, take the example of the escalator. if you're taking your time going up or down the escalator and keep to the left, with no one beside you, and someone wants to pass you, they wouldn't just bang straight into you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:45 AM, Tunge said: yah lor... if really think about it... will be a damn scary and stressful situation.... happened to my friend he brake in time but car behind couldn't so push him forward n hit the car in front... don't know how the claims worked out... so long as he is not the last car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:45 AM, Tunge said: yah lor... if really think about it... will be a damn scary and stressful situation.... happened to my friend he brake in time but car behind couldn't so push him forward n hit the car in front... don't know how the claims worked out... This is where in-car video cam recording your rear comes in very handy. No way for other party to deny anything. This sort of accidents, if you don't join a convoy of dummies you will not get into the domino action. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:48 AM, Moonchaser said: i'm sorry, but you're putting a false premise into your argument and asking a question based on your false premise. driving on the centre or left lanes should not be considered road-hogging. if a faster vehicle wants to pass, they can do it on the overtaking lane on the right. again, take the example of the escalator. if you're taking your time going up or down the escalator and keep to the left, with no one beside you, and someone wants to pass you, they wouldn't just bang straight into you. and that's the point some forummers were trying to explain the whole while... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear March 6, 2009 Author Share March 6, 2009 from speeding and tailgatting thread now drift to road hogging liao... haha the arguement abt hogging lane 1 on highway will be never ending one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:48 AM, Moonchaser said: i'm sorry, but you're putting a false premise into your argument and asking a question based on your false premise. driving on the centre or left lanes should not be considered road-hogging. if a faster vehicle wants to pass, they can do it on the overtaking lane on the right. again, take the example of the escalator. if you're taking your time going up or down the escalator and keep to the left, with no one beside you, and someone wants to pass you, they wouldn't just bang straight into you. Which is the Falsehood, and which is the Premise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:56 AM, Tunge said: from speeding and tailgatting thread now drift to road hogging liao... haha the arguement abt hogging lane 1 on highway will be never ending one... Lane 1, is for Overtaking Only. Period. Anyone wants to contest this, please refer to TP Website or Highway Code Booklet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 9:25 AM, Cjgoh said: Lane 1, is for Overtaking Only. Period. Anyone wants to contest this, please refer to TP Website or Highway Code Booklet. i agree http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...afetyadvice.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 On 3/6/2009 at 8:32 AM, Wanderer said: Even if you are traveling faster than lane 2 at 110km/h at lane 1, but if there's a faster car coming up behind u at 130km/h and u refused to give way, it's still considered road hogging. Wat ever speed he wishes to travel at, it's his own biz, even at the expense of losing his license. Nowadays, alot of drivers like to act self-righteous in controlling how fast one can travel at lane 1 Wanderer, save your breath... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched March 6, 2009 Share March 6, 2009 I see potential/wannabe TP wardens in here.....The education system must be a really good brainwash. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...