Window visor will not stick, help !!!

Decimal86

hi all,

i got a set of visors from a famous shop in Ubi but second visit to shop liao still will not stick. keeps coming off the windows. my car is a suzuki swift. anybody can recomm a way to make it stick ?

thks for yr help.

  On 3/4/2009 at 3:31 AM, Osiris said:

3m outdoor double sided tape.

Inaddition to theabove 3M tape.

TS might want to try remove/clean away any wax on the paint 1st.

I assume the curvature of visor not same as body. Its normal... Suggest for those portion bugging out, stick 2 layers of 3M tape. and yes, before pasting, remove any wax on body..

Have a good clean on the contact surface to remove any waxing , use 3M tape and alcohol to clean up the contact surface.

Rdgs

The 3M tape to use is the ultra sticky, RED mounting type - a bit pricey, but worth it.

Edited by Mits_jc

  On 3/4/2009 at 3:21 AM, Decimal86 said:

hi all,

i got a set of visors from a famous shop in Ubi but second visit to shop liao still will not stick. keeps coming off the windows. my car is a suzuki swift. anybody can recomm a way to make it stick ?

thks for yr help.

I can safely tell you whatever tape also no use cos the visor and the contour of your door frame dun match. You have to look for someone to use an industrial heat blower(looks like a hair dryer) to go over the contours and double side tape. The visors will soften and follow the shape of the door frame contours. If you dun do that your visors will continue to pop out of place.

hey thks for the reponse. wha...jialat !!

i got one set on my JAZZ and they are clip-on so no probs.

yeah i know what you mean by a heat-blower. but the other 2 doors are doing ok though...

to the others that replied, i waited there the second time and they did all the above, i checked and it was good work too. then a couple of days later, POPPED goes the weasel. rattling in the wind. i think they used 3M tape too but not red though ??

Edited by Decimal86

Which is why I will never use a set of 3rd party visor if it was not molded specifically for the car make. Also all good visors should come with clips at both ends to secure as well. So those who buy crappy cheapskate visors be warned.

On 3/4/2009 at 3:21 AM, Decimal86 said:

hi all,

thks for yr help.

Hi 'Decimal86', I concur with 'Mits_jc' viewpoint to use the 3M tape specifically for outdoor usage. The latter is written on the box. It is clear in colour and with red colour protective film. It's between S$7.50 to S$10.00 depends on where you buy.

Pls remember that before you paste the tape along the edges of the visors, make sure that the surfaces are grease free. As for the vehicle window edges where these visors are to be placed, cleaned away any wax so that the tape on the visors will fully adhere onto the surface.

where do i find these 3M tapes with red backing? i was thinking the top part appears to need one layer thinner than the sides. do they all come in the same thickness ?

On 3/4/2009 at 6:00 PM, Mikeyeo said:

Hi 'Decimal86', I concur with 'Mits_jc' viewpoint to use the 3M tape specifically for outdoor usage. The latter is written on the box. It is clear in colour and with red colour protective film. It's between S$7.50 to S$10.00 depends on where you buy.

Pls remember that before you paste the tape along the edges of the visors, make sure that the surfaces are grease free. As for the vehicle window edges where these visors are to be placed, cleaned away any wax so that the tape on the visors will fully adhere onto the surface.

The 3M tape is the one clear in color? But do u think the one in grey with red color film ok shld b ok too rite?

go Mustaffa Ctr...top flr...car accessaries thr, turn right...lots of double sided tape thr...

buy e green type...e double sided inside r actually transparent...bit ex but worth it.

niway window visor corners sometimes pop upt or loosen due times....jus nid a little efford to apply e DS tape....hopes tis helps...

You know, after using 3M's adhesive tapes, I'm starting to think that 3M stands for either 3 Minutes, or 3 Months... [laugh]

hi sorry about this, i dont know why i cant start any treads.

while we are at window visor, i have something to ask,

does anyone know where to get the window visor for 2009 toyota fortuner? i saw BM sell for 100+, is there any where that sell lower and do the fixing?

thank you.