Latka 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Anyone in container shipping industry? Just heard Maersk having retrenchment exercise. Looks like the worse is yet to arrive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Anyone in container shipping industry? Just heard Maersk having retrenchment exercise. Looks like the worse is yet to arrive. You are not wrong ......... Sooner then you thought, Maersk is just only the tip of the icebreg ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 PSA...sooner or later.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Author Share March 3, 2009 You are not wrong ......... Sooner then you thought, Maersk is just only the tip of the icebreg ....... Actually, also just heard a soft rumour that in 6 months time 2 major players wl be closing shop too. But dont know which ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Actually, also just heard a soft rumour that in 6 months time 2 major players wl be closing shop too. But dont know which ones. -lloyd is facing troubles too man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 psa in fact has started terminating ppl.my fren working there kena fired already.not even retrenched.apparently they looking for de slightest fault for their reasons to fire that someone. he said the reason he got fired was bcos he has 2 days mc in 7 mths!crappy. another guy got fired cos he came 2 hrs late for work 1 day. looks like even to cut cost, they fire de workers n don even compensate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Author Share March 3, 2009 PSA...sooner or later.... PSA shud be ok. Only profits wise wl be tremendously affected but still can survive. After all, they are the only ones operating the terminals so no competition for them. But I do wish that a certain Vietnamese shipping company will fold up sooner though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Author Share March 3, 2009 -lloyd is facing troubles too man Surprisingly Lloyd was still hiring people 2 months ago. Too bad German pride was in the way to sell it to NOL and it wud have been NOL`s baby. Looks like K+N in for a rough ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Author Share March 3, 2009 psa in fact has started terminating ppl.my fren working there kena fired already.not even retrenched.apparently they looking for de slightest fault for their reasons to fire that someone. he said the reason he got fired was bcos he has 2 days mc in 7 mths!crappy. another guy got fired cos he came 2 hrs late for work 1 day. looks like even to cut cost, they fire de workers n don even compensate. Wah lau. And on the other hand, gahmen trying to save jobs for Sgreans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Actually, also just heard a soft rumour that in 6 months time 2 major players wl be closing shop too. But dont know which ones. which 2? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Wah lau. And on the other hand, gahmen trying to save jobs for Sgreans. trying niah hor ..... not a promise ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Anyone in container shipping industry? Just heard Maersk having retrenchment exercise. Looks like the worse is yet to arrive. U in shipping?? If you have just heard.... where have you been???????????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 All these crisis ignited by the banks.. and the banks had paid top bucks for the managment.. many months of bonus before this crisis... and even in the midst of crisis, huge compensation and pensions are still being given out to the bank managment..... and those that suffer the most because of this crisis is apparently those that had worked outside the finance sector.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 psa in fact has started terminating ppl.my fren working there kena fired already.not even retrenched.apparently they looking for de slightest fault for their reasons to fire that someone. he said the reason he got fired was bcos he has 2 days mc in 7 mths!crappy. another guy got fired cos he came 2 hrs late for work 1 day. looks like even to cut cost, they fire de workers n don even compensate. that's very bad man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 U in shipping?? If you have just heard.... where have you been???????????? he been to hovercraft .... faster .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Anyone in container shipping industry? Just heard Maersk having retrenchment exercise. Looks like the worse is yet to arrive. check out cosco, almost dead liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 check out cosco, almost dead liao. so far nothing on Evergreen ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 3, 2009 Share March 3, 2009 Actually, also just heard a soft rumour that in 6 months time 2 major players wl be closing shop too. But dont know which ones. just a couple of mths ago i was on a ferry otw to a neighboring country for business. i was quite surprise to see so many empty container ships parked along side ea other. those that were travelling were all at most half full. i doubt can even cover overhead. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...