Kopites Supersonic March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 Well.. Benefits of a Meritocratic society ? Where everyone was schooled and brought up to think for themselves... Just see the competition in the Unis and JCs and Polys Bro, you miss out....pre-school, pri and sec school...compete, compete for places, result etc.....Our MIW nurture us the style they blue printed after sillypore obtain independence. I wonder if we are still part of our neightbour what would we become now........ i wonder.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 100% agree, especially the woodlands custom area. It is like a war zone last time! :angry: Sharpened my driving skill at the old woodland custom. Anyone remember the good old days? Three lanes become a 7 lanes road...That is where i mean "ground zero of war zone". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 no big deal on the road is like a fight everyone fight to save time and be the fastest no point spent $$ on car and petrol to be bogged down on the road by other users i think it's sad that it's probably the considerate and kind people that would take offence and the 'uglier' ppl simply do not give a hoot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 Stress for driver to Q in traffic jams,as for motobike/cyclist, stress free,cos any traffic jam they always in front. Tats why they r friendly among each other, but not to car driver. try riding in the jams with a 1000cc sports engine between your legs. the heat cooking your balls and legs, having to balance the bike and be careful not to hit any cars' mirror. the worst thing is anytime any car can just change lane or swing the front portion out and you have to jam your brakes. to be honest, i find driving a car more stress-free and relaxing. i only ride my bikes in the night when there are little traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weizhen77 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 Actually there are times when driver not familiar wif the roads and last min have to cut in to go into expressways. It has happened to me b4 but I make it a point to wave and thank the driver. I cant stand those who after giving way to them, they dont do that. As though we owe it to them. I share the same thoughts, as I am just started driving in Singapore road a month ago (before that, I used to drive parents' car in Malaysia). When I brought up this topic from my experiences on Singapore roads to my colleagues during a lunchtime chit chatting. Most their of responses are similar as quoted below. I only despise motorists who refused to join the queue to turn and instead tried to squeeze in the very last minute..... Why have such thoughts that other drivers are trying to take advantage of you by cutting your queue? In fact this kind of thought never come to my mind, and was very curious why people are giving me long honk eventhough I signalled. It was until during the lunchtime chit chat, my colleque mentioned that I am actually cutting queue. I was taken quite by surprised and responsed, "What!?! Isn't giving way part of a basic courtesy in driving?" Strange enough in the past I had no such experiences when driving in Malaysia, not trying to brat, but most probably I used to drive bigger car(my parents') bah. Or maybe I am more familiar with the roads in Malaysia. So, what happen to all the courtesy in driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weizhen77 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 eh it's true, i started cursing and swearing more after driving. :X Same. But this "disease" lasted me only for my first 2 weeks after my collection of my car. I was toned down when I heard my mother-in-law scolding my brother-in-law on how impatient he is. This further reminds me how my mum used to scold me when I start to get impatient and bad-temper while driving, and how much both mothers keep reminding their sons to always give way, don't drive too fast etc etc. If not for my mum holding me down, I would have gotten out of the car and beat up that taxi driver(or got beat up by him), who yah yah tried to provoke me after "brushing" my side mirror with his taxi. See picture Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 Not happy with each other horn or just want to be first in the queue when queuing to turn. Unlike cyclists, they help each other when in need. Why the trend? U know why I horn at ashwhole drivers? Cos they only START to turn when the green turn arrow is flashing. Or sometimes during turn they slow down almost to a stop & obstruct traffic. They r like in a dream land or wonking or dunno what. Maybe they are thinking of their Mother? Also another type of ashwhole is they turn out/filter immediately after signaling, w/o looking & nearly cause accident. Why so much these motherparkers around? They dunno how to look before changing lane or just plain ashwholes? They must be thinking of their Father or Fathers. Another type ashwhole is they think they own the road & travel 100m away from the next car at 60-70kmh on lane 1. Are they doing Shell endurance Eco test I wonder? These same ashwholes will attempt to drive a car the whole way w/o pressing the accelerator! I figure they wish to own a car but dont wanna pay for petrol. These kinda people dont think of their father or mother but really wanna park themselves and reproduce like hemophodites. Its hard to love such people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 after driving and riding in other countries, the stress level on the roads in sg is definitely higher. Definitely agreed. Driving across the causeway seemed to be more lively and lesser stress..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 Bro, you miss out....pre-school, pri and sec school...compete, compete for places, result etc.....Our MIW nurture us the style they blue printed after sillypore obtain independence. I wonder if we are still part of our neightbour what would we become now........ i wonder.... More of a system of "cream of the crop"....squeezing out their best from the system...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 more road rages..haha..got more shows to watch liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear March 11, 2010 Share March 11, 2010 Simple, because the road users here kiasu, they worried if they give way, they will lose time. But it's only 1 or 2 cars that are in front of you, what time will you lose??? If ka ka lai, sway sway bang, then you lose more time taking down details and report for repair. Just dunno how these road users think, waste a few minutes only also cannot, always must be the first. I will laugh if you are the first to get into an accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 actually not only motor road users singporeans dislike one another generally, be it on the trains, in shopping centres, on the streets the social harmony and the level of graciousness is deteriorating. there is a strong sense of resentment among the stressed up and hot tempered citizens themselves, their kiasu and ugly behaviours in the public reveals it all. Well....for every living organism, there is a minimum living space requirement. Squeeze too many into the same damn island and this is bound to happen. As a matter of fact, I'm in the process of controlling my temper as I'm writing this reply while enduring the howling from some neighbour who is singing karaoke and another one who is trying to prove to the whole neighbourhood that he has a very good theater system in his home. If I have a RPG on hand, I think I won't have second thought in pulling the trigger and laughing all the way while seeing flesh and brains matters being blown out of their house..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 Looking at all the replies, clearly the problem is lack of graciousness and integrity. I don't mind giving way if someone has made a mistake and needs to change lane. I only hate it when drivers deliberately cut into your lane to gain an advantage. That's just being selfish and says lots about lack of integrity. To these drivers: "How do you teach your kids to have integrity if you drive like this?" Driving schools need to teach learners the correct attitude towards driving. It should be for the "greater good" ie. for the sake of everyone on the road, rather than for oneself. One things I hate most: drivers slowing down or even braking when there is an ACCIDENT on the OTHER side. Simply ridiculous. Other than being "busybodies", what is to be gained by watching someone else's demise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 (edited) I share the same thoughts, as I am just started driving in Singapore road a month ago (before that, I used to drive parents' car in Malaysia). When I brought up this topic from my experiences on Singapore roads to my colleagues during a lunchtime chit chatting. Most their of responses are similar as quoted below. Why have such thoughts that other drivers are trying to take advantage of you by cutting your queue? In fact this kind of thought never come to my mind, and was very curious why people are giving me long honk eventhough I signalled. It was until during the lunchtime chit chat, my colleque mentioned that I am actually cutting queue. I was taken quite by surprised and responsed, "What!?! Isn't giving way part of a basic courtesy in driving?" Strange enough in the past I had no such experiences when driving in Malaysia, not trying to brat, but most probably I used to drive bigger car(my parents') bah. Or maybe I am more familiar with the roads in Malaysia. So, what happen to all the courtesy in driving? Dun know if u pretending to be dumb but i ll give u the benefit of doubt. Cutting queue and giving way is 2 totally different things. Cutting queue is when there is already a long queue formed and the queue-cutter bypasses (almost) the whole line and tries to cut in at the front. When u queueing long long for your favourite chicken rice and someone just goes all the way to the front and try to place an order, isn't dat cutting queue? U wouldn't mind in the name of "courtesy"? Its a totally shameless act of someone with no integrity. On the other hand, giving way is, for example someone who is trying coming out of, say Takashimaya carpark but there is a long queue on the road just outside the carpark exit so he can't get out causing a backflow of jam inside taka carpark. in this case, i would give way a bit to let one or two cars come out to join the queue. Is the difference clear enough? One is deliberately dun want to queue, the other is where got no choice. Edited March 30, 2010 by Kar_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 Not happy with each other horn or just want to be first in the queue when queuing to turn. Unlike cyclists, they help each other when in need. Why the trend? cuz cyclists die easier.... so they stay friendly while they still can.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 [laugh] drive in sg long enough to anticipate the traffic, I don't find any difficulties driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 cause we have been drill "i have the right of way, nothing else really matters" true bikers are more friendly and approachable......miss those days but last time drivers are not like that in the 90s when i was riding, drivers tend to me more friendly such as giving way. even when i bang into a bmw and a taxi, although their damage was only a slight dent, the first question they ask me was whether i'm ok or not. both times they just wave off when i told them how to settle since i bang into their rear. they said as long i'm ok and the damage to their vehicle are not so great, they just let the matter off. now i dont know why we have so bad mentality Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia0042 2nd Gear March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 I meet Q-cutters from Mon-Fri at Mandai Ave toward BKE and KJE toward BKE. Doubtless, they gain a little faster to reach their destination. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...