Any problem entering MSCP after roof box installation?

Alfc

Hi fellow MCFers, need some advice / feedback from anyone who has installed car roof boxes if there is any problem / restriction encountered going into multi-storey carparks?

Seriously considering installing one but think my vehicle height would end up somewhere between 1.9-2.0m depending on how slim the box is.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

I drive a station wagon c/w roof rails. Roof bar already installed.

I have measured that my height would end up 1.9 to 2.0m with a slim box.

Heard of any issues from anyone?

i think most basement or mscp have height limit of 2.0-2.1m. but i think i saw less before.

even if u pass the initial barrier, there may be other low points in the car park. always see scrapes on roof of MSCP whenever i park at these carparks [sweatdrop]

station wagon still need roof box :blink:

Family outing made easier as I can cater to more space with kids' bicylcles, folable bicycles, baskets, etc and not forgeting occasional road trips up north.

And of cos to satisfy personal fetish of "souped up" wagon look.

Most carparks nowadays 2.1m height limit so no problem. But always keep a lookout before entering a carpark. Some old carpark can be as low as 1.8m... :blink:

I drive a Cabstar during my work so I make it a habit to check out the height limit of a carpark first before entering.

Edited by Fcw75

Hey bro,since you driving a cabstar,i also driving one,the latest one and the older version,can share what's the minimum clearance as I don't want to kena scratch liao then regret.

I see. Thanks for the headsup. 1.8m is going to be an issue for me.

Looks like I may just have to shelve this idea.

On 3/2/2009 at 11:30 AM, Alfc said:

I see. Thanks for the headsup. 1.8m is going to be an issue for me.

Looks like I may just have to shelve this idea.

just use for trips up north la. unless u don't really need it. or maybe good excuse to LOWER ur ride [sly]

Its too bulky to leave it around the house.

Lowering ride is out for me, dun want to compromise the ride comfort.

And thats why I drive a station wagon [laugh]

  On 3/2/2009 at 9:58 AM, Alfc said:

Family outing made easier as I can cater to more space with kids' bicylcles, folable bicycles, baskets, etc and not forgeting occasional road trips up north.

And of cos to satisfy personal fetish of "souped up" wagon look.

Consider too the additional fuel consumption when you carry that additional weight around...

Maybe can use the plastic Gardenia Bread pallet and install on the roof rack to try first!

Go to your favourite MSCP for one month to test whether kena or not.

More scientifically you can make one whole row of satay/chop stick of different heights and secure it on your roof rack.

Try all the MSCP and see which of the satay stick is broken/ or has markings which indicates it has hit the barrier.

After that, then can safely go install a expensive roof basket of the appropriate height.

Enjoy....I also like those Garang Susuki Jinmy that has elevated suspensions!

Yup, considered the increase fuel consumption due to drag. Not a big issue as cost has been factored in... actually more concerned about the wind noise it might generate...

[laugh] very innovative idea. After that still can find a place by the sea for bbq.

Went to recce nearby MSCP, mostly at 2.0 above, only problem come when height becomes 1.8m...

hmm... just thinking for 1.8m height restriction, wouldnt it also pose problem for tall MPVs or SUVs?

  On 3/3/2009 at 3:22 AM, Alfc said:

[laugh] very innovative idea. After that still can find a place by the sea for bbq.

Went to recce nearby MSCP, mostly at 2.0 above, only problem come when height becomes 1.8m...

hmm... just thinking for 1.8m height restriction, wouldnt it also pose problem for tall MPVs or SUVs?

I went to a PI once to look at an Alphard. Salesguy told me the height restrictions are one reason why these don't sell too well in Singapore. Refreshingly honest.

Thats a fresh perspective... never really thought of such issue before until recently.

Imagine if the driver never check and just went in. Antena still relatively cheaper to replace but a damaged roof is.... [dizzy]