How to see how much discount to ask for when buyin used car?

Oyama

Hey guys, I just wanna ask for some advice.

For example you are interested in a unit from a dealer in SGcarmart, how do you calculate how much discount you should ask for?

Should it be in hundreds or thousands ?

For example, this almost new car below, is almost 30k off the new car price, seems like a good deal?

Can I still ask for discount?

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...485&DL=1059

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Edited by Oyama

Get the car information like COE, age, model, mileage, etc...actually all should be available from Sgcarmart.

Look at newspaper for numbers of dealers wanting to buy old cars....call them up and give them the exact same details.

Ball-park price is mid-way of the two prices you get for the same car!

Ideally its the price that the dealer wants to buy from you, for that same old car when you call them!

Why I say ideally leh?

Well...simply because people who buy new cars and trade in their old cars are WILLING to let go at low price to 2nd-hand car dealers!

Good luck.

On 2/26/2009 at 6:47 AM, Oyama said:

Hey guys, I just wanna ask for some advice.

For example you are interested in a unit from a dealer in SGcarmart, how do you calculate how much discount you should ask for?

Should it be in hundreds or thousands ?

For example, this almost new car below, is almost 30k off the new car price, seems like a good deal?

Can I still ask for discount?

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...485&DL=1059

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Hi, thx for your advice.

I was thinkin, when you call dealers, they will expect to ask for the owner's details, etc right?

Anyway I will to call them, see how it goes.

Edited by Oyama

Erm, I checked in SGcarmart, someone is selling a similar model with a difference of 2 months, but the price is at 133k instead of 149k.

Direct owner selling that is.

If thats the case, if I were to bid, for example, 5k off the 149k, is that too much? Or too little?

Im ok with 149k since its 30k off the new price but the lower the price the better right.

What will you ask for if you were in my shoes?

Try to get ballpark price in between ? Which is roughly 142k. Then again, agents will want to earn abit, so 143-145k?

Edited by Oyama

Why not get from direct owner than? Get the car for a proper inspection to see if there's anything wrong with it.

On 2/26/2009 at 7:14 PM, Teriyaki said:

Nice coupe... only 24km.. hahahahaha...

Might be a demo car from PML. May be that they chose to outsource such selling to dealers. Just my guess.

I like the description:"Only Just 24km Mileage. Driven Twice To Supermarket By Wife. Selling As Wife Need A Slower Car"

Yea, heard many views on that dealer.

Decided on a 325 from Presto Expat instead.

Heard any problems with them before ? [gossip]

mmm... may i know what are some of the horror stories about that dealer (Eurosp**d)? Asking bcos they seem reasonably okay lei... from the outside.

If it's inconvenient to post here, do send me a PM. (:

My true story.

Just very recently, I have booked a 1.5years old used car with a used car dealer. It was on a Sunday. We agreed on price, transfer fee and service charge. I placed a deposit of $1000 to secure the car. On top of the usual agreements, the dealer guaranteed that the car is accident-free and he will fit a brand new battery for me.

On the following day, which is a Monday, I sent my then current car to an exporter for export can got a cashier order for the car. The arrangement with the used car dealer was that I will issue a cashier order for the car on Wednesday and collect the car at the same time on Wednesday.

Not long after I have exported my car, 15mins later (245pm on Monday), the used car dealer called... bad news for me. He said that the car was an accident car and that he cannot sell the vehicle to me. I smell a rat. It is highly likely that he had sold the car for a higher price and made up this excuse of an accident car.

I rushed down to his office to demand my deposit back. Although I know his dirty tricks, I would rather not deal with him any longer and just want get my deposit back.

When I reached his office, his boss had issued a company check for $1000. But the name on the check had a spelling mistake. I couldn't bank it in and his boss is not around to amend. I demanded for cash. ?In the end, he relented and went to the company safe and gave me a $1000 bill.

He even said that I am lucky to have met him, if not I would have got an accident car. Of course, I believe in not a single word he said.

This car was advertised on SG carmart. On sunday afternoon, after I placed my deposit, the ad was still live and available. Strange as he had all the time to update the status. All the way until 3plus pm on Monday, the day he called the car status was still available. After collecting my deposit refund, I went home, logged in and wah lah.. the car status was "SOLD".

You make your own judgement and come to your own conclusion. I did... and I will never go back to this used car dealer.. over my dead body.

In the end, I went to Jardine C&C for my car.

On 3/7/2009 at 9:26 AM, Maffie said:

mmm... may i know what are some of the horror stories about that dealer (Eurosp**d)? Asking bcos they seem reasonably okay lei... from the outside.

If it's inconvenient to post here, do send me a PM. (:

On 3/7/2009 at 10:07 AM, Civicblade said:

My true story.

Just very recently, I have booked a 1.5years old used car with a used car dealer. It was on a Sunday. We agreed on price, transfer fee and service charge. I placed a deposit of $1000 to secure the car. On top of the usual agreements, the dealer guaranteed that the car is accident-free and he will fit a brand new battery for me.

On the following day, which is a Monday, I sent my then current car to an exporter for export can got a cashier order for the car. The arrangement with the used car dealer was that I will issue a cashier order for the car on Wednesday and collect the car at the same time on Wednesday.

Not long after I have exported my car, 15mins later (245pm on Monday), the used car dealer called... bad news for me. He said that the car was an accident car and that he cannot sell the vehicle to me. I smell a rat. It is highly likely that he had sold the car for a higher price and made up this excuse of an accident car.

I rushed down to his office to demand my deposit back. Although I know his dirty tricks, I would rather not deal with him any longer and just want get my deposit back.

When I reached his office, his boss had issued a company check for $1000. But the name on the check had a spelling mistake. I couldn't bank it in and his boss is not around to amend. I demanded for cash. ?In the end, he relented and went to the company safe and gave me a $1000 bill.

He even said that I am lucky to have met him, if not I would have got an accident car. Of course, I believe in not a single word he said.

This car was advertised on SG carmart. On sunday afternoon, after I placed my deposit, the ad was still live and available. Strange as he had all the time to update the status. All the way until 3plus pm on Monday, the day he called the car status was still available. After collecting my deposit refund, I went home, logged in and wah lah.. the car status was "SOLD".

You make your own judgement and come to your own conclusion. I did... and I will never go back to this used car dealer.. over my dead body.

Not so bad liao la, at least you got back your deposit...

  On 3/7/2009 at 10:07 AM, Civicblade said:

My true story.

I see what you mean... it is indeed true that some small car dealers are like that. You mentioned 'a used car dealer'. Does it have anything to do with Eurosp**d though?

Nothing to do with the used car dealer that you have mentioned.

On 3/7/2009 at 10:43 AM, Maffie said:

I see what you mean... it is indeed true that some small car dealers are like that. You mentioned 'a used car dealer'. Does it have anything to do with Eurosp**d though?