No money for monthly repayment loan. How?

Teriyaki

Dear all,

I have a friend who recently got retrenched. He still has to pay HDB loan and car loan... He's thinking of letting go his car. But even selling off, he still owe finance company more than $10k. Since he does not has anymore income, he is thinking of defaulting monthly payment... But don't think bank can allow him to do that?

He still got to worry about HDB repayment. No car never mind. But no roof over the head is quite bad..

So how? Will the bank just repossess his car?

Edited by Teriyaki

He can either default his repayment and wait for the finance co. to repossess the car..then kenna sued for the outstanding payment. Or he can talk to the finance co. and hopefully work out a repayment scheme for the outstanding amount after he has sold his car.

yeah, he's thinking of defaulting till he get another job. but guess by then, his car would be towed away.

I think in such bad times.....speak to the finance co is the best way forward. See if he can convinced them to allow him to not pay anything or pay a small portion until he find a job. Win-win for both party. Repossess and auction off, in such lousy market, may not be able to recover the full amount.

Risky...may be shipped out of the country and reported stolen + may not have enough insurance to cover anu accident while it is being rented out.

Yup, it is also illegal.

you multi-tasking ah? [wave] saw your post in another thread before edit [:p][:p]

He can pass his car over to his family or relatives or close friends who need a car. Whoever takes over will pay for the instalment.

this doesn't really falls under renting the car out.

I think in such bad times.....speak to the finance co is the best way forward. See if he can convinced them to allow him to not pay anything or pay a small portion until he find a job. Win-win for both party. Repossess and auction off, in such lousy market, may not be able to recover the full amount.

Agreed. But I think your friend should also talk to the HDB about repayment of the housing loan. HDB is very easy on repayment and they won't just chase you out if you don't pay.

think hdb at least the wife can still contribute... anyway cpf mah..

He can pass his car over to his family or relatives or close friends who need a car. Whoever takes over will pay for the instalment.

this doesn't really falls under renting the car out.

if i dont have car.. i may consider. but i think now buy car so damn cheap. really waiting for prices to drop further

Dear all,

I have a friend who recently got retrenched. He still has to pay HDB loan and car loan... He's thinking of letting go his car. But even selling off, he still owe finance company more than $10k. Since he does not has anymore income, he is thinking of defaulting monthly payment... But don't think bank can allow him to do that?

He still got to worry about HDB repayment. No car never mind. But no roof over the head is quite bad..

So how? Will the bank just repossess his car?

He should delay HDB. They have a longer grace period, can go to MP for help to delay also. Then meanwhile figure out what to do about car.

think hdb at least the wife can still contribute... anyway cpf mah..

errr..... how u know the wife working?? and even working, how u know wife cpf mthly contribution enough for the instalment?..it sounds like his friend hdb is not cheap type and perhaps need cash top up type..... don't forget many young couple nowadays don't mind to slog for their so call dream home which cost 500-700K hor... [sweatdrop]