HDB MSCP: Ever encountered 100% full?

Beng2

That's the exact area I'm staying! [laugh]

But I find it easier to get a lot at the open air carpark opposite! If I come back after 11 I don't even bother to enter the MSCP but head straight for the open lots. I've even come back at 12 plus or 1 a.m. and the open carpark isn't that full, at least I could find several lots to choose from. Maybe as you said they like MSCP better for some reason.

I stay opp of the JC in tampines and > 1/2 year ago the 4th (last sheltered level) was pretty empty even after midnight, no problem finding any lots.

Nowadays, I must be pretty lucky to be able to find one after 11. If i'm back after 12, 100% i have to park at the unsheltered top. seems like more and more people are getting hold of a car.

One of the MSCP opposite my mum's former flat was 100% full for a few year before HDB added more floors to the existing MSCP.

my family home at pasir ris was like tt too. they had to build lego on top, but that only made things worse until it was completed.

the area was a mess. pple (including my dad) would park anywhere and everywhere, less the disabled lot and rubbish chute area. note, it was FULL before they closed off the top few decks of the MSCP to add levels

Thats very optimistic thinking.

they have to walk more than 200M before reaching the open space carpark. Climb stairs better or walk more than 200M? figure it.

personally, i rather walk the 200m and save the $. paintwork chui but i don't care. rather preserve my steering, drive shaft and what not.

but must be quite sian for u [shakehead]. actually, i didn't know one could buy cheaper parking further away, i thought tt u'd have to buy the one nearest to ur flat

Are you guys saying that even MSCPs can be 100% full? [sweatdrop]

My estate has 3 MSCP and the one I park is 98% full to even the top floor. Chances of getting a shuttled lot after 9.30pm is impossible. And after midnight there's like only 3-4 lots left on the roof. My carpark has 5 levels consisting of A&B(so in total 10 level of parking lots). The other 2 carpark at the sides are usually filled till level 4 as well.

mine at tampines st 71 (next to basketball court) after 930pm confirm need to park at B5 (open).. somebody wrote on the today paper also abt this car park...If few floors are made reserved parking, then will be much better atleast..bcaus I see a lot of overnight parking there...

first time I came across an incident where people move house due to lack of parking space...

I knew someone would say this [flowerface]

Actually, the main reason of moving is not because of parking space. It's just one of the reasons.

It is very stressful coming home to a full carpark. I recently got a summon from TP for parking my car by roadside opposite my block on a deserted road. I have filed an appeal because on that night, there was not a single square inch of space for me to slot my car. Whatever little space had been taken up by other cars.

If I had a choice, I would definitely want a flat that does not have parking problems. Nowadays, I am reluctant to go out at night due to this problem. Sounds silly, right? I cannot imagine staying in a flat for 10 years from now, worrying about not having a lot to park my car each time I work late.

Now I know why people aspire to stay in condos.

some condos have less carpark space than number of units. mentioned before on MCF. so how? [flowerface]

maybe landed is the best, provided ur porch can hold all ur cars [sweatdrop].

Normally condo will have destinated parking lot for units , some max 2 car lots.

Condo maintence fee abt $100+ , say 85 for lot ,rest is for gym pool and security. Tats y worth it if u can afford a condo . :)

Actually, the main reason of moving is not because of parking space. It's just one of the reasons.

It is very stressful coming home to a full carpark. I recently got a summon from TP for parking my car by roadside opposite my block on a deserted road. I have filed an appeal because on that night, there was not a single square inch of space for me to slot my car. Whatever little space had been taken up by other cars.

If I had a choice, I would definitely want a flat that does not have parking problems. Nowadays, I am reluctant to go out at night due to this problem. Sounds silly, right? I cannot imagine staying in a flat for 10 years from now, worrying about not having a lot to park my car each time I work late.

Guess it is a common sight of insufficient HDB parking lots in SG. Just couple of days ago, witnessed a fatimah issuing a summon to a vehicle parked at side of the carpark. The carpark is usually full by 9pm. The driver rushed to his vehicle and plead to the fatimah but to no avail and was shooed off instead. [shakehead]

some condos have less carpark space than number of units. mentioned before on MCF. so how? [flowerface]

maybe landed is the best, provided ur porch can hold all ur cars [sweatdrop].

That's only if you have a large enough car porch. Most only enough space to park one car. [;)]

Normally condo will have destinated parking lot for units , some max 2 car lots.

Condo maintence fee abt $100+ , say 85 for lot ,rest is for gym pool and security. Tats y worth it if u can afford a condo . :)

Wah, maintenance $100+? Which condo brother? Those olden type?

I've got a friend in a Bukit Panjang Condo, 2nd car gotta do balloting each month. If unsuccessful, then have to buy season parking at guess where ....... the HDB MSCP opposite! LOL. So you're not just fighting with HDB residents, the neighbouring condo dwellers may also be after your lots! [sweatdrop]

That's only if you have a large enough car porch. Most only enough space to park one car. [;)]

ya lor. tt's why i say if the porch can hold all the cars mah..

my parents have "nice" neighbours who park all their cars outside. [rolleyes]

one of the factors i considered when shopping for flat was open air carpark. save $30 per month for no extra effort. but i consider myself very very lucky that my open air carpark usually has lots. thanx in part to parking attendants who are quite on the ball. [thumbsup]

many drivers detest parking attendants, but if u have cheepos trying to pull a fast one by kop-ing ur carpark, then u will appreciate their patrols [sly]

i think another thing to recce when house-hunting, is to check out the carpark space at night, as suggested by someone else earlier in this thread. otherwise, i guess the only way is to see MP and get them to write in to HDB. this is a valid reason for seeing MP, imho, rather than asking MP to help appeal against parking fines n etc etc [smash]

I stay Telok Blangah Crescent and the MSCP is also equally bad. total 6 level, 6A and B being the rooftop. If i come home by 9pm + i would be parking near 4A/B. Come back slightly later will be 5A/B. After midnite onwards, rooftop confirm plus chop. Every morning i see from window, level 6A is 95% full left only 6B with 10 to 20% parked by some cars (perhaps they dont want to squeeze in 6B).

My area MSCP is shared among many blocks and got a good 20 to 30% of parking are parked by lorries/Vans/ etc.. Si beh sian.. No lift and imagine climbing up and down is a chore at times.

Previously not like these 2 yrs back. Must be becos car price is cheap everyone started to buy car and thus this thread content.

Same thing with my open-space CP. Sometimes, there aren't any place to park as all the available illegal place is taken up liao.

If we are to write in to waive the fine, then why issue the summon in the first place, right?

Job creation. [lipsrsealed]

To show that one is working (issuing summons) and another alos working (waive summons).

The outsourced worker need to prove that he/she is working mah..

this is a concern.. Did you seek help from any organisation other than HDB?