Drive_carcar Clutched February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 Housework has taken it's toll on my wife and me. For me I have to work very hard and am very tired at the end of the day. My wife is currently a housewife taking care of the family, which includes 2 kids and my parents. Further, my wife is not getting along well with my mother, and she has a potential job offer waiting for her, which she hopes to take up. Further, I think taking my wife out of home into a career will help to lessen the friction at home. As I have never ever considered employing a maid before, I'm clueless how to go about it. How much does it cost (initial cost + monthly salary + maid levy)? Anybody here thinking of "retrenching" their maids? Would it be easier and faster to take over a "retrenched" maid? Please chime in and give me some tips & advice? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 just a quick reply from the toilet, first u have to pay the agency fee which is about 200 to 350 dollars, famous one like Nation will be more expensive. then maid insurance 200 . maid levy if u have kids is 170 per month. salary depends on which nationality. damn, i just realise i run out of toilet paper ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 Just get a part time cleaner to do housework. It will save you a lot of $$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched February 21, 2009 Author Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 8:18 AM, Watwheels said: Just get a part time cleaner to do housework. It will save you a lot of $$. I did think of it, but a bit leceh... the ideaa is to have full time help, so wife can go out to work. Then everybody probably feel less pressure. Right now she's getting very bad tempered, whole day face black... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daryl76 Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 can understand.. my whole damn house oso very dirty got those domestic helper, $10 per hour but only once a week.. rest of the time, house so messy cos my son damn notti... oso thinking of a maid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 (edited) Very easy to choose a maid. Just get one with the biggest ( . ) ( . ) Just kidding. Your wife would probably choose the ugliest maid available. Edited February 21, 2009 by Flying_genie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched February 21, 2009 Author Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 8:41 AM, Daryl76 said: can understand.. my whole damn house oso very dirty got those domestic helper, $10 per hour but only once a week.. rest of the time, house so messy cos my son damn notti... oso thinking of a maid Some more my wife very clean freak... I think the once per week solution is not good enough for her.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched February 21, 2009 Author Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 9:02 AM, Flying_genie said: Very easy to choose a maid. Just get one with the biggest ( . ) ( . ) Just kidding. Your wife would probably choose the ugliest maid available. I'm absolutely sure my wife will choose the ugliest one... she is so insecure... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 7:15 AM, Drive_carcar said: Housework has taken it's toll on my wife and me. For me I have to work very hard and am very tired at the end of the day. My wife is currently a housewife taking care of the family, which includes 2 kids and my parents. Further, my wife is not getting along well with my mother, and she has a potential job offer waiting for her, which she hopes to take up. Further, I think taking my wife out of home into a career will help to lessen the friction at home. As I have never ever considered employing a maid before, I'm clueless how to go about it. How much does it cost (initial cost + monthly salary + maid levy)? Anybody here thinking of "retrenching" their maids? Would it be easier and faster to take over a "retrenched" maid? Please chime in and give me some tips & advice? Thanks! Actually, the procedure of getting a maid is simple. Just go to a maid agency and they will settle everything for you. If you sre a first time maid employer need to go take exam. The REAL PROBLEM is managing the maid... ..... May give u more problem than lessen your burden if mis-manage... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 9:07 AM, Drive_carcar said: I'm absolutely sure my wife will choose the ugliest one... she is so insecure... Har? She's insecure and you still marry her? If she's insecure ... that means your social life must be cut off liao right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 Looking at your situation u need a maid... Up front u need to pay 2-3k for the maid loan, provided that you do not want a returned maid. The loan u pay is used to offset her salary which is around 300-400 per month. PM me if u need some advice :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 8:18 AM, Watwheels said: Just get a part time cleaner to do housework. It will save you a lot of $$. Yup, safe $$$ and no stress. Stress in the case of getting a "wrong" maid, the kind which causes more headache and problems . . . .you know what I mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 If you worry about getting 'wrong' maid, then advisable to get one who has already had some work experience, preferably in singapore. Or get those who are 'transfers' i.e. stopped half-way by other households, as long as it's not due to disciplinary problems. 'Retrenched' maids, as you say. These maids are hanging around the agency waiting for new employer, so you can ask the agency about their attitude, observe them yourself, interview them etc. I think most agency will not want to mislead you concerning suitability of the maid, because a returned maid causes more admin problems for them, and they have to allow you a free exchange. Some maids who are stopped by their previous employer may not necessarily mean they're not good - it could be the employer very 'ngeow' or unreasonable or just no chemistry. Getting brand new maids, straight out of their home country for the first time, which you choose thru photo only, IMHO, is the riskiest method. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 7:40 AM, Vextan said: just a quick reply from the toilet, first u have to pay the agency fee which is about 200 to 350 dollars, famous one like Nation will be more expensive. then maid insurance 200 . maid levy if u have kids is 170 per month. salary depends on which nationality. damn, i just realise i run out of toilet paper ! did u use bare finger to clean and at the same time use the phone?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 (edited) On 2/21/2009 at 7:15 AM, Drive_carcar said: Housework has taken it's toll on my wife and me. For me I have to work very hard and am very tired at the end of the day. My wife is currently a housewife taking care of the family, which includes 2 kids and my parents. Further, my wife is not getting along well with my mother, and she has a potential job offer waiting for her, which she hopes to take up. Further, I think taking my wife out of home into a career will help to lessen the friction at home. As I have never ever considered employing a maid before, I'm clueless how to go about it. How much does it cost (initial cost + monthly salary + maid levy)? Anybody here thinking of "retrenching" their maids? Would it be easier and faster to take over a "retrenched" maid? Please chime in and give me some tips & advice? Thanks! for me, getting a maid is a matter of luck..of couse training is importance.. some maid no matter how u train, how u monitor,, u still get headache...some after 1 or 2 motnhs, they can be on thier own... same for the agency...they car only keen to make $$ from u and the maid...anything wrong, the employer bear the full responsibities..al matter of luck.. few things to take note, MOM lavies >>170 if your kid is below 12, maid salary >> 320-350 , depend on which country Upon the loan back up. for the maid... Sunday got off or ?? Agency fee >> 188-288 etc etc begining misc fee >> phots. test etc etc medical exam fee >>every 6 months her general welfare/medical expenditures...( i always kana maid with tooth problems,,,majiam come herer for free dental services like that) To me the expenditure on fodd is the same, she eat what we eat.. go out eating properly need to spend more.. from my experience,,, change the maid once they start giving u attitude problems.. your case is quite the same as mine,, helping up the hse work while the parent look aft the kids... Edited February 21, 2009 by Modykoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 5:00 PM, Sosaria said: If you worry about getting 'wrong' maid, then advisable to get one who has already had some work experience, preferably in singapore. Or get those who are 'transfers' i.e. stopped half-way by other households, as long as it's not due to disciplinary problems. 'Retrenched' maids, as you say. These maids are hanging around the agency waiting for new employer, so you can ask the agency about their attitude, observe them yourself, interview them etc. I think most agency will not want to mislead you concerning suitability of the maid, because a returned maid causes more admin problems for them, and they have to allow you a free exchange. Some maids who are stopped by their previous employer may not necessarily mean they're not good - it could be the employer very 'ngeow' or unreasonable or just no chemistry. Getting brand new maids, straight out of their home country for the first time, which you choose thru photo only, IMHO, is the riskiest method. Agreed - I have had maids straight out of their home countries and these never turn out well. In the end, I only look for maids who have finished 2 or 4 years with a previous employer and are looking for a change in employer. My reasoning is that if the previous employer can tahan them for 2 or 4 years, they cannot be that bad. My current maid just signed on another 2 years with me. I am generous with her and she is hardworking and looks after my kids really well. I pay a premium - gave her more than what her previous employer paid her of course and she get every Sunday off. But in return, I get no trouble from her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear February 22, 2009 Share February 22, 2009 Another aspect of getting a maid is you and your family's expectations. If you think you're getting Superwoman at bargain prices, be prepared for trouble. Also if your family's communication is done mainly thru grunting, snarling, shouting, shrieking, then expect trouble. If you are petty about how much food each member consumes in your household, expect trouble. In fact......just expect trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 22, 2009 Share February 22, 2009 On 2/22/2009 at 12:43 AM, Gendut said: Another aspect of getting a maid is you and your family's expectations. If you think you're getting Superwoman at bargain prices, be prepared for trouble. Also if your family's communication is done mainly thru grunting, snarling, shouting, shrieking, then expect trouble. If you are petty about how much food each member consumes in your household, expect trouble. In fact......just expect trouble. If you have picky, fussy, cleanliness-obsessed, slightly-bigoted mom or mom-in-law, expect BIG trouble! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...