Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 It is easy for you and stand on high moral grounds when you are born with a silver spoon medicine is not just a careet but a calling perhaps Dr Lee you should educate your family members first politicians are public servant and be accountable NOT being paid the hightest in the world when the countries population is only 4+ million poor soul politic is also not just a carrer but a calling too politicians can shape the country and determine how our society will eventually become we become so materialistic is because of the policies and so on justify this politician a public servant (person who serves the citizens) are earning thousand times the mean salary of the average job Practicing medicine is no longer simple you allow all sorts of FT doctors into our country and some dont even speak english hire some like the one in TTSH, unethical research and etc never heard of it happening to a local speak to your family doctor and you know what I mean http://www.asiaone.com/Business/Office/Hot...209-106550.html Medicine is not just a career, but a calling By Lee Wei Ling I have always felt keenly the suffering of animals. Since I was a child, I had wanted to be a vet. My parents persuaded me to abandon that idea by using the example of a vet whose university education was funded by the Public Service Commission. When he returned to Singapore, he was posted to serve his bond at the abattoirs. That was enough to persuade me to select my second career choice - a doctor. I have never regretted that decision. There are still many diseases for which medical science has no cure, and this is especially true of neurological diseases because nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord do not usually regenerate. Hence, a significant percentage of patients seeing neurologists, of which I am one, cannot be cured. But as in all areas of medicine, we still try our best for the patient, 'to cure, sometimes; to relieve, often; to comfort, always'. An example is a 70-year-old woman who sees me for her epilepsy. Her husband has taken a China mistress whom he has brought back to his marital home. He wants my patient to sell her 50 per cent ownership of their HDB flat and move out. Her children side with the husband because he is the one with the money and assets to will to them. When this patient comes, I always greet her with a big smile and compliment her on her cheongsam. She will tell me she sewed it herself, and I will praise her for her skill. Then I ask her whether she has had any seizures since the last time she saw me. She sees me at yearly intervals, and usually, she will have had none. Next, I ask her how she is coping at home. She would say she just ignores her husband and his mistress. I would give her a thumbs-up in reply, then ask her whether she still goes to watch Chinese operas. She would say yes. By then, I would have prepared her prescription. I hand it to her, pat her on her back and she would walk out with a smile on her face, back straight and a spring in her step. It takes me only five minutes to do the above. I can control but not cure her epilepsy. But I have cheered her up for the day. One very special patient, Jac, has idiopathic severe generalised torsion dystonia. By the age of 11, she was as twisted as a pretzel and barely able to speak intelligibly. She did well in the Primary School Leaving Examination, but was a few points short of the score needed for an external student to be accepted by Methodist Girls' School (MGS). I had done fund-raising for MGS prior to this and knew the principal. I phoned her and explained Jac's disease as well as her determination and diligence. I told the principal that the nurturing environment of MGS would be good for Jac, and that it would be a good lesson for the other students in MGS to learn to interact with a peer with disability. At the end of Secondary 2, Jac mailed me a book and a typed letter. The book was a collection of Chinese essays by students in MGS. There were two essays by Jac. In addition, she had topped the entire Secondary 1 and, subsequently, Secondary 2 in Chinese. She was second in the entire Secondary 2 for Chemistry. She was happy at MGS, and her peers accepted her and helped wheel her around in her wheelchair. Medication merely gave Jac some degree of pain relief from her dystonia. Being admitted to MGS gave her the opportunity to enjoy school and thrive in it. I was walking on clouds for the next few hours after I received the book and letter. Jac showed that an indomitable human spirit can triumph over a severe physical disability. As a doctor, I am not just handling a medical problem but the entire patient, including her education and social life. I have been practising medicine for 30 years now. Over this period, medical science has advanced tremendously, but the values held by the medical community seem to have changed for the worse. Yearning and working for money is more widely and openly practised; and sometimes this is perceived as acceptable behaviour, though our moral instinct tells us otherwise. Most normal humans have a moral instinct that can clearly distinguish between right and wrong. But we are more likely to excuse our own wrongdoing if there are others who are doing the same and getting away with it. These doctors who profit unfairly from their patients know they are doing wrong. But if A, B and C are doing wrong - and X, Y and Z too - then I need not be ashamed of doing the same. Medical students who see this behaviour being tacitly condoned will tend to lower their own moral standards. Instead of putting patients' welfare first, they will enrich themselves first. The most important trait a doctor needs is empathy. If we can feel our patient's pain and suffering, we would certainly do our best by our patients and their welfare would override everything else. Medicine is not just a prestigious, profitable career - it is a calling. Being a doctor will guarantee almost anyone a decent standard of living. How much money we need for a decent standard of living varies from individual to individual. My needs are simple and I live a spartan life. I choose to practise in the public sector because I want to serve all patients without needing to consider whether they can pay my fees. I try not to judge others who demand an expensive lifestyle and treat patients mainly as a source of income. But when the greed is too overwhelming, I cannot help but point out that such behaviour is unethical. The biggest challenge facing medicine in Singapore today is the struggle between two incentives that drive doctors in opposite directions: the humanitarian, ethical, compassionate drive to do the best by all patients versus the cold, calculating attitude that seeks to profit from as many patients as possible. Hopefully, the first will triumph. Doctors do have families to support. Needing and wanting money is not wrong. But doctors must never allow greed to determine their actions. I think if a fair system of pricing medical fees - such that doctors can earn what they deserve but not profit too much from patients - can be implemented, this problem will be much reduced. The Guideline of Fees, which previously was in effect, was dropped last year. I am trying to revive it as soon as possible. The writer is director of the National Neuroscience Institute. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 A person's moral standards have very little to do with his / her family background. One can be poor and yet noble. Likewise, a well to do person can also be a decent person. I really admire Dr Lee, for she has done a lot for her patients. For those who like to criticise, please ask yourself what have you done for others? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 I'm also still waiting for some concrete action other than just inane posts on his percieved ills... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Author Share February 20, 2009 in her position and her family connections she get everything and anything her way that makes it dangerous like when she help Jac into the school, when she clearly did not qualify this already place an unequal playing field what about the kid's place that was taken by Jac if it was your own son or daughter how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Author Share February 20, 2009 so for the apparent 3 million + people (assumption) of the 4+ million people who did not contribute are not in a position to criticize it is like saying if you have never tried this, you have no business to comment so everybody who wants to criticize those who kill themselves climbing Mount Everest and litter at the base camp cannot unless they themselves have climb mount everest come off it as long as you have a brain you should be able to criticize constructively to ensure a balance view Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Author Share February 20, 2009 (edited) either you think so highly of me or you are a no brainer if I have the solutions I wouldnt be here like you a born loser wasting my productive time posting in mycarforum see we are in the same boat the problem with you is that you have nothing better do you shoo go away if you dont like the posting, skip it sometimes I wonder why I waste my wasted time answering to clowns like you Edited February 20, 2009 by Hishercar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 If I dunno know who's the writer, I won't judge the article at all.. So, does LWL's birth with a silver spoon disqualify her from being genuinely caring? Perhaps, she does have her connection by virtue of status but it does not imply she had abuse it before.. On the contrary, she may have used her connection to help many people? I dunno, frankly.. But certainly, I won't feel the same towards the other members of her family whom i feel talk c*ck sing song a lot.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Author Share February 20, 2009 if you are a good doctor you dont have to shout to the whole world about your good deeds in part to justify your views on your fellow colleagues in any organisation there will also be bad sheeps look at the catholic church look at the ren chi hospital look at the police force look in the hospitals if you dont pull in revenue in for the hospital ... out you go you go and study and be a doctor and work in singapore government hospitals and you try to be missionary doctor at the expense of the hospital eg spending more time with each patient, that means you will be seeing less patients than your otehr colleagues and that mean less revenue for the hospital it is an entire culture of the health ministry mean testing, why all the big time surgeons and physicians dont do ward rounds everyday in the C wards but do everyday in the paying wards in addition, there are many good doctors around who sacrifice their life so that other may live there are so many unsung heros I am not saying that she is a poor or bad doctor but her comments need to be put in a proper perspective where was she when SARS was around hibernating for summer if she wants social justice and equalty speak up consistently for what you believe and not speak up only when a friend experience poor service Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 if I have the solutions I wouldnt be here like you a born loser wasting my productive time posting in mycarforum see we are in the same boat Yes yes...we are both born losers...surfing MCF here...I suppose anyone who doesn't agree with you would be born losers too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Author Share February 20, 2009 please dont get me wrong i am very sure she is a good doctor if you know you are king and no one can touch you you can be either the very best or the very worse she is not your typical doctor suffering the common faith as your ordinary doctors she comes from a very very powerful family do you think that any senior doctors dare to criticise the ministry without getting retaliation she can put it to good use if she is truly and sincere try to acheive what she claims she is contrary to the health ministry policies money is main driving force of the health ministry because the entity has become an INC why should a government hospital be trying so hard to be a tourist hospital when effort should be channelled to the ensure the health of singaporeans what has SGH become it is become a MNC prviate hospital soon like Raffles Hospital or if not already become one i am sure many C class patients suffering from cancers are not offered the expensive alternatives just because they cannot afford to pay even with the subsidy go figure out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched February 20, 2009 Author Share February 20, 2009 i have always appreciated your brand of sense of humor goodnight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 Why?! Thank you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheeze Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 what do you think is her ultimate purpose of writing such articles? I believe this is her second such essay written for the ST already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewy Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 Doctors should be rewarded when the patients under their direct care have lower cholesterol, stopped smoking, fall sick less and live fuller, healthier lives. But then if they become healthy and fall sick less, how do these same doctors that have helped them earn their keep? Perhaps a greater power should come into play to "correct" the current system of rewards? If the practice of medicine is profit based, then I would want as many people sick as possible. This would ensure I make big money? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 FYI she was the one who blew the whistle on that rogue doc u refer to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewy Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 (edited) We should ALWAYS support one another in this country, but don't forget and neglect those that are below you who do not have much. They are still very much citizens of this great and powerful nation. To be a truly great man, one must possess the divinity to forgive those who have done you wrong and the generosity to give back to those who have given to you. Edited February 20, 2009 by Chewy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nozzie Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 It's so sad... Such unwarranted comments are in every forum I go to... I've read articles from doctors, professors, gurus etc sitting in their ivory towers contributing nothing but articles that dictate & comment on what this politician should do, that banker should advice, how a doctor should diagnose, the analylst should know better, the government should give more... Here we have someone who is actually trying to do something & sharing it... & due to her family background, she gets torn apart. I think the fairest comment must come from someone who has met Prof Lee, know her personally, what she has & is trying to achieve before commenting on her intentions. I salute anyone, rich or poor, influential or not, who tries to make this world a better place by doing something & not just talking about it. 2cts worth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/20/2009 at 4:10 PM, Hishercar said: please dont get me wrong i am very sure she is a good doctor if you know you are king and no one can touch you you can be either the very best or the very worse she is not your typical doctor suffering the common faith as your ordinary doctors she comes from a very very powerful family do you think that any senior doctors dare to criticise the ministry without getting retaliation she can put it to good use if she is truly and sincere try to acheive what she claims she is contrary to the health ministry policies money is main driving force of the health ministry because the entity has become an INC why should a government hospital be trying so hard to be a tourist hospital when effort should be channelled to the ensure the health of singaporeans what has SGH become it is become a MNC prviate hospital soon like Raffles Hospital or if not already become one i am sure many C class patients suffering from cancers are not offered the expensive alternatives just because they cannot afford to pay even with the subsidy go figure out Side line, TS, y ur posting the line spacing is always so spacious? Ur paragraph also shorten? Have to scroll to read very troublesome. End up I dun read them. I dun mean it in an ofrending way. Ur posting could have been shorten to the below. Please dont get me wrong i am very sure she is a good doctor, if you know you are king and no one can touch you, you can be either the very best or the very worse. She is not your typical doctor suffering the common faith as your ordinary doctors, she comes from a very very powerful family, do you think that any senior doctors dare to criticise the ministry without getting retaliation. She can put it to good use, if she is truly and sincere try to acheive what she claims. She is contrary to the health ministry policies. Money is main driving force of the health ministry because the entity has become an INC. Why should a government hospital be trying so hard to be a tourist hospital when effort should be channelled to the ensure the health of singaporeans What has SGH become It is become a MNC prviate hospital soon like Raffles Hospital or if not already become one I am sure many C class patients suffering from cancers are not offered the expensive alternatives just because they cannot afford to pay even with the subsidy Go figure out ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...