Jiean2004 Clutched February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 In my opinion,most of the OPC offenders did in on purpose ratehr than being forgetful......is kind of cheapskat to be frank...upfront 17k rebate still 1 2 save on 20 bucks..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matt Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 well 5k as a fine is not excessive as this will serve as an effective deterrrent for the public. it is 250x more than the $20 isnt that the way our system works? its entirely similar to parking coupons. it may cost only $1 for one hour, but sometimes we take chances and dont put. If we are caught and fined, it could cost us 6x or 20x more. but somehow, we will still try our luck right? so if the fine is 250x more, who would want to try still? point is.. the 5k is very effective IF the TP are super on the ball and monitor all roads.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matt Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 sometimes the OPC owner will not necessarily forget, but be absent-minded ot blur.. i was an OPC owner and i tore the coupon for the next day. i did not realise my mistake until the next day when i wanted to tear the coupon and realised that it was done so for the previous day.. honest mistake, no intention to cheat. i guess i was either just too hurried the previous day or i was absent-minded.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 (edited) On 2/21/2009 at 4:26 AM, RadX said: If your memory is as bad as you say, you should be one of those going across the causeway for permanent retirement... Here's an example of someone who never forgets -> RadX Laugh at me, like u never forget anything before in your life, PUI !!!! Edited February 21, 2009 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 9:29 AM, Jiean2004 said: In my opinion,most of the OPC offenders did in on purpose ratehr than being forgetful......is kind of cheapskat to be frank...upfront 17k rebate still 1 2 save on 20 bucks..... I agree with u also, i also think most r on purpose, only a few really forget. And forget is also once in very long time, if everyday forget is not consider forget liao, is brain damage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 (edited) On 2/21/2009 at 7:56 AM, Phang79 said: I don't understand how can ppl forget to put coupons. Din realised it's restricted hours, or dun bother to check. 1. OPC owners are mindful of restricted hours. If they walk to the car during RH and wanna move it, they will know coupons are needed. 2. The big coupons are put on the front windscreen. I think it's very obvious if the drivers did not put one. Based on the two points above, I dun think being forgetful is a valid reason, unless they dun bother to check at all. Btw, does anyone forget to put parking coupons before? Guess the answer is no Here's another example of someone who never forgets anything in his life -> Phang79 Join the list: RadX Phang79 I think this list is going to get big really fast just by looking at the posts in this thread. Didn't know Singapore have so many people with superhuman memory. One word, RESPECT Edited February 21, 2009 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 With the current hefty fine amount, we still hear of people cheating on OPC coupons. I have a friend who tells his passenger to hold on to an untorn coupon. If a TP is at sight, the passenger is to tear the coupon tabs. If the fine is reduced, we will have more cheats. As someone mentioned, if URA/HDB parking fine for non-display of valid coupons is increased by 20 times the current amount, I am sure there will not be many cheats. Someone pls tell me how the writer calculates the $10 per day rebate thingy. OPCs are supposed to be used during off peak period. If we make it too cheap for normal use, the whole street will be flooded with OPCs. Regular-car owners will be penalised this way. As it is, Saturdays are really congested enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 4:28 AM, RadX said: eh...how cum u active this thread ah..u kena sian before by those OPC clowns an Nothing against OPC cars (heck, it's juz a damn piece of mass produced metal). Juz buay tahan when ppl who cook up c*ck & bull excuses and reasons to justify their lack of integrity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/20/2009 at 1:51 AM, Osiris said: Home > ST Forum > Story Make off-peak car scheme more attractive IT IS heartening to learn that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) plans to encourage existing motorists to switch to off-peak vehicles ('Off-peak car scheme to get a tune-up', last Friday). Before the LTA finalises the details of its revised off-peak scheme, I would like to contribute my views as to how the off-peak car (OPC) scheme can be made more attractive, and practical, to car users. First, treat OPC users with respect. The current system hauls an OPC user to court for non-display of the off-peak coupon before even offering him a compounded fine, and without considering that the offence may be just a slip of the mind. The offence is seen as tax evasion and exposed to a maximum penalty of $5,000 when a $200 fine would suffice as a deterrent against such negligence. Whether the term 'supplementary licence' is used in place of the simple words 'off-peak coupon', to reflect its severity, is immaterial. Second, the $17,000 purchase tax cut and road tax concessions spread over the 10-year lifespan of an OPC licence point towards a supplementary day licence price of $10, instead of the existing $20. Should we not allow OPC users flexibility of use rather than deter them from use during emergencies? Restricted OPC hours on Saturdays should not just be shortened, but removed completely. Restrictions on Saturday driving for OPCs are 'anti-family' with our push for a five-day work week. Roads are mostly under-used on Saturdays. So why the need to tie such drivers to unnecessary restrictions which do not serve the purpose of the OPC scheme to cut down on 'peak-hour' vehicles? By completely allowing OPC accessibility on our roads on Saturdays, we are encouraging family-oriented lifestyles among our people, especially in the face of the present recession. Tightly budgeted Singaporeans, if they better appreciate a full and relaxed weekend lifestyle, may even long for more children. From increased mobility, shops will find their businesses improved thanks to a multiplier effect in these bad times. However, if we continue to harp on the tax cuts to OPC users, and demand a 'fair' deal from them with heavy penalties, expensive peak-hour use and unnecessary restrictions, we will undermine the positive effects of this otherwise excellent traffic scheme. Jimmy Ho excuse excuse excuse and more excuse.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 (edited) they should fine them $17K if get caught the first time Edited February 21, 2009 by Porche Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 8:37 AM, Picanto said: another one of those idiotic comments from you. show some good upbringing lah........... Tks...better than a bloody cheapa$$ wipe like you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 THANKS. Losers like you shld just take the public...oops, you might even forget the bus no, train route...er stay home, please..in JB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 11:02 AM, RadX said: Tks...better than a bloody cheapa$$ wipe like you your car mother is no better. cheap also.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 9:29 AM, Jiean2004 said: In my opinion,most of the OPC offenders did in on purpose ratehr than being forgetful......is kind of cheapskat to be frank...upfront 17k rebate still 1 2 save on 20 bucks..... have to agree with you on this. forgetful is just an excuse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 7:56 AM, Phang79 said: I don't understand how can ppl forget to put coupons. Din realised it's restricted hours, or dun bother to check. 1. OPC owners are mindful of restricted hours. If they walk to the car during RH and wanna move it, they will know coupons are needed. 2. The big coupons are put on the front windscreen. I think it's very obvious if the drivers did not put one. Based on the two points above, I dun think being forgetful is a valid reason, unless they dun bother to check at all. Btw, does anyone forget to put parking coupons before? Guess the answer is no is quite easy to forget. i wanted to test drive a opc this afternoon. dealer said have to wait a while, if not, can drive around compound only. i was like wat? why? wait for wat? tats when he said, not 3pm yet. haha see? if he handed me the keys, i would have drove off liao. heng... it is easy to forget when there are other things on ur mind. but there are cheats and unfortunately, becos of them, some of those genuine cases oso kena. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 Maybe it's because you do not own the OPC yet. I believe you will remember to do so each time you want to drive off - maybe to the extent of tearing coupon on PH or Sun or Sat post-3pm. Just wondering whether anyone can forget to display parking coupon at HDB/URA lots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 I think its because too many people claim that they forget - which is why they intend to come up with a "better" OPC charging system. ERP is one such system where forgetting holds no water and the "capture" rate is practically 100%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 On 2/21/2009 at 9:42 AM, Matt said: sometimes the OPC owner will not necessarily forget, but be absent-minded ot blur.. i was an OPC owner and i tore the coupon for the next day. i did not realise my mistake until the next day when i wanted to tear the coupon and realised that it was done so for the previous day.. honest mistake, no intention to cheat. i guess i was either just too hurried the previous day or i was absent-minded.. my case even worse.borrowed my uncle's OPC once.was in the action of tearing the coupon in the carpark,but my mind was thinking about my exam date.so while my mind is so occupied with my exam date,i accidentally tore off the wrong date!cursed my luck,no choice have to go to nearest post office to buy another one.don't even dare to try my luck coz i knw,those bo liao TP sure won't accept my reason. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...