Jellandross Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Looks like we will have to brave for the increase in Bus fares liao ... They are hinting .... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/bus-fares-will-be-affordable-if-raised Bus fares will be affordable if raised The Government bus contracting model will raise service standards but these improvements cannot be sustained without raising fares, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan. But if fares were to rise, the Public Transport Council (PTC) will ensure that the fares remain affordable, he said. His comments, given to Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao in an e-mail interview, were reported yesterday. The bus contracting model takes effect on Thursday. Bus fares will be even more affordable if not raised. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 (edited) Yet to see any real improvement in bus services... eg there are 5 buses from my place to my mom's. However the record time I have ever waited for any of these 5 buses was 35-40mins. Pui, kns... and for smrt trains, nowadays, a favourite tactic for each incoming train is to wait longer and longer times at each station, so as to give the illusion of ready trains waiting for you at the station..then the passengers are scratching their heads why the train doesn't want to move off and the hot air from outside just invades the cabin making everyone hot and irritable. And the lousy aircon on some buses and trains is ....like sauna... Edited August 29, 2016 by Kyrios 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 (edited) Ah ah ah, mai.......... Edited August 29, 2016 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 what else is new? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Yet to see any real improvement in bus services... eg there are 5 buses from my place to my mom's. However the record time I have ever waited for any of these 5 buses was 35-40mins. Pui, kns... and for smrt trains, nowadays, a favourite tactic for each incoming train is to wait longer and longer times at each station, so as to give the illusion of ready trains waiting for you at the station..then the passengers are scratching their heads why the train doesn't want to move off and the hot air from outside just invades the cabin making everyone hot and irritable. And the lousy aircon on some buses and trains is ....like sauna... You are right about the long wait by trains at the stations. Voyage times are greatly affected. There are boards at each platform showing how long it takes to reach a specific station. The time stated used to be very accurate but not anymore. Always slower than the stated timing these days. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Looks like we will have to brave for the increase in Bus fares liao ... They are hinting .... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/bus-fares-will-be-affordable-if-raised Bus fares will be affordable if raised The Government bus contracting model will raise service standards but these improvements cannot be sustained without raising fares, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan. But if fares were to rise, the Public Transport Council (PTC) will ensure that the fares remain affordable, he said. His comments, given to Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao in an e-mail interview, were reported yesterday. The bus contracting model takes effect on Thursday. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 (edited) Looks like we will have to brave for the increase in Bus fares liao ... They are hinting .... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/bus-fares-will-be-affordable-if-raised Bus fares will be affordable if raised The Government bus contracting model will raise service standards but these improvements cannot be sustained without raising fares, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan. But if fares were to rise, the Public Transport Council (PTC) will ensure that the fares remain affordable, he said. His comments, given to Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao in an e-mail interview, were reported yesterday. The bus contracting model takes effect on Thursday. Read with a pinch of salt. Edited August 29, 2016 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 (edited) Yet to see any real improvement in bus services... eg there are 5 buses from my place to my mom's. However the record time I have ever waited for any of these 5 buses was 35-40mins. Pui, kns... and for smrt trains, nowadays, a favourite tactic for each incoming train is to wait longer and longer times at each station, so as to give the illusion of ready trains waiting for you at the station..then the passengers are scratching their heads why the train doesn't want to move off and the hot air from outside just invades the cabin making everyone hot and irritable. And the lousy aircon on some buses and trains is ....like sauna... Paying ever increasing fare to improve public transport services is like paying a fengshui master mambo jambo to improve my life. Money already paid from my pocket but no guarantee of good result. If good things happen, credit goes to the fengshui master. If bad things happen, it's my bad karma and the only way is to pay even more money for more powerful mambo jambo. Edited August 29, 2016 by Jellandross 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Read with a pinch of salt. I read with a sea of salt Affordable? Just like boiling a frog .... little by little and soon we are dead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Looks like we will have to brave for the increase in Bus fares liao ... They are hinting .... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/bus-fares-will-be-affordable-if-raised Bus fares will be affordable if raised The Government bus contracting model will raise service standards but these improvements cannot be sustained without raising fares, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan. But if fares were to rise, the Public Transport Council (PTC) will ensure that the fares remain affordable, he said. His comments, given to Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao in an e-mail interview, were reported yesterday. The bus contracting model takes effect on Thursday. You tell me how not to be dulan with them .............. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Oil price fall and they didn't reduce prices? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Oil price fall and they didn't reduce prices? Oil prices fall, nothing got to do with them ... Oil prices increases, then must increase fares ... Long time ago, govt said outsource will mean competition and mean lower rates for us, Singaporeans ... Now, govt said outsource means higher standards, means we must pay more ... Everything you said ... you win liao lor ... You tell me how not to be dulan with them .............. 我忍气吞声 ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Oil prices fall, nothing got to do with them ... Oil prices increases, then must increase fares ... Long time ago, govt said outsource will mean competition and mean lower rates for us, Singaporeans ... Now, govt said outsource means higher standards, means we must pay more ... Everything you said ... you win liao lor ... 我忍气吞声 ... I think Low Thia Khiang ever asked MIW why everything they say can be twisted to suit where the wind blows... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 I read with a sea of salt Affordable? Just like boiling a frog .... little by little and soon we are dead .....every 10 years re-incarnate all over again as a frog in new water again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 30, 2016 Share August 30, 2016 Don't complain if you are one of the 70% You tell me how not to be dulan with them .............. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 30, 2016 Share August 30, 2016 Should be 5 years right? .....every 10 years re-incarnate all over again as a frog in new water again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 30, 2016 Share August 30, 2016 Looks like we will have to brave for the increase in Bus fares liao ... They are hinting .... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/bus-fares-will-be-affordable-if-raised Bus fares will be affordable if raised The Government bus contracting model will raise service standards but these improvements cannot be sustained without raising fares, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan. But if fares were to rise, the Public Transport Council (PTC) will ensure that the fares remain affordable, he said. His comments, given to Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao in an e-mail interview, were reported yesterday. The bus contracting model takes effect on Thursday. Bus contracting model will raise service standards meh? How come the bus service standards at my area still so bad? Even feedback also no use! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic August 30, 2016 Share August 30, 2016 Don't complain if you are one of the 70% I really wonder what are their thoughts ? ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...