A_korusawa 5th Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Hi, I dun mean to offend all Taxi Drivers, but there are really some 'black sheeps' on the road now! To cut short my narration, it happened this way: I was trying to turn out to the right from a T-junction. As I descended from an upslope, signaled right, check thoroughly of no traffic and ensure the Taxi went off on the other side of the road before I stepped to move off. Then the Taxi suddenly dropped gear to almost stationary on the right lane!!! I managed to E-brake! He then rolled a bit more to apply brake again! It was definitely of ulterior motive as it was wee hours (5am), no traffic & no customer at all - not to mention on the right lane after knowing I was definitely approaching at momemtum. I horned at him before signalled to the left lane trying to shed him off. He then accelerated into my left lane again, & signalled to turn left, again by dropping his gear to as slow as 10-20kph. I was HOT! I trailed him for 10 meters before stopping in front to confront him by asking what he was trying to do...... Guess what? He replied me that I shouldn't have horned at him. And he was in good mood, or else . . . ! Well, I kept cool & told him to step out to see what did he mean by 'or else'. He then pointed his middle finger and challenged me to beat him up if I have guts. I noted down his vehicle number & moved off, with my wife in the car waiting. I was to my later thoughts to recall that these are some of the tactics used by rogue taxis to claim $, medicals, unpaid leave, downtime, loss of income from 3rd party insurances at these bad times. So motorists out there, be careful !!!! Kindly share your experience or similar encounter if any, cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Thank for sharing, bro. We only know too well what these people are capable of. They wouldn't dare talk to me this way if they see me . . . . . . check out my avatar . . . . har har! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkl78 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Ya, i guess with the poor economy, taxi drivers no business, so need to resort to do that.... For me, i always keep a safe distance especially behind taxis. And also taxi sometimes just suddenly cut into your lane and stop just to pick up passenger. So drive carfully.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Thank for sharing, bro. We only know too well what these people are capable of. They wouldn't dare talk to me this way if they see me . . . . . . check out my avatar . . . . har har! wah bro, i actually burst n still laughing while typing tis. ur avatar really funny... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 wait....izit a crown taxi, or sonata etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Ya, i guess with the poor economy, taxi drivers no business, so need to resort to do that.... For me, i always keep a safe distance especially behind taxis. And also taxi sometimes just suddenly cut into your lane and stop just to pick up passenger. So drive carfully.... The economic slowdown is the worst excuse i've ever heard for these taxi drivers to behave in such manner. Likewise for those who lie cheat, steal in order to make a living. I believe in times like this its up to us to work even harder to secure that ricebowl on the dinner table. No man or woman is useless. If we continue to blame the slowdown for our misfortunes we'll never ever see the light at the end of the tunnel. Sighz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 haha u got interesting avatar of oldies.. my guess you must be born in the 1960s ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Thank for sharing, bro. We only know too well what these people are capable of. They wouldn't dare talk to me this way if they see me . . . . . . check out my avatar . . . . har har! This is Sek King right? The bad guys act with Wong Fei Hong on those classic canto movies. Comne to think of it, the old avatar also canton movie actor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 yeah sek kin, 石堅 before this the avatar was comical 許冠英 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razgriz Clutched February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 frankly... is too much monks.. too little porridge, now it is even worse with economic downturn... i don like taxi drivers. they drive recklessly, but come to think... y do they? do they have a choice? if given a choice, i bet they oso dun wanna risk the wrath of ppl .. but.. 人在江湖,身不由己。。。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 what is the cabby number? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 i got a real experience i was going straight on the middle lane the left lane has lots of cars queueing up to turn left the middle lane is clear for me to proceed as i approach a yellow box before a junction a teksi dashes out from a minor road into the yellow box of the middle lane i suspect the queue on the left lane has obstructed the teksi's view crashed teksi chui teksi pay me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 haha u got interesting avatar of oldies.. my guess you must be born in the 1960s ? Spot on brudder!! '66 to be exact . . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 This is Sek King right? The bad guys act with Wong Fei Hong on those classic canto movies. Comne to think of it, the old avatar also canton movie actor. Arhh . . . you noticed. hehe heh . . . No choice lah, my Ricky Hui got 'kidnapped' and hung upside down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Arhh . . . you noticed. hehe heh . . . No choice lah, my Ricky Hui got 'kidnapped' and hung upside down. Yes, noticed got kidnapped and hung upside down. Even the signature Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Townegg Clutched February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Yah... do becareful. i have 2 different taxis jam brake in front of me on the weekends. Luckily never hit them. Just keep a safe distance away from taxis :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 Thanks for sharing Bro If over here is North, this fellow would have gotten his face re-arranged ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kamen Neutral Newbie February 17, 2009 Share February 17, 2009 I had a friend who is a taxi driver told me b4....some "black sheep" when get bored on road will pull some stunt like example : when the taxi driver see you tailgate them or u coming super fast behind them, what the taxi driver will do is pull hand brake, jammed brake to brace the impact from the driver behind. Pay special attention especially those taxi without passenger....then they will claim left right center.... be careful when driving behind taxi..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...