Thousands snap up discounted holiday packages at travel fair

Peqasus

Wah...indeed, Singapore is recession proof despite wat economic data indicates.

Channel News Asia

This is not surprising. As a develop country, we are all moving towards the US route. People buy much more than they can actually afford and mostly on credit.

On second thought, it might be OK since they have made it illegal to block the airport with demonstrations.

So you can go, the risk is lower and most importantly, your flight will back is guaranteed.

It is true the only equation out of recession is through consumption. focus is shifting to the big savers and oil countries of yesteryrs to drive spending. ironically, it's the govt that should be spending by expediting more projects.

in all cases, with the travel packages snap up, we can be sure at least in the near term, travel agents side wont contribute to unemployment.

on spending on credit. see if any data on bankrupcies or refunds pile up. believe many are 1 paycheck away from financial meltdown.

Wah.... I think you give singaporeans less credit than they deserve leh. [sweatdrop]

I think many are well prepared for this recession (with savings that'll allow them to tide over months, if not years of unemployment) , just that they still KPKB ........ [rolleyes]

I don't think these bargain hunters are the "hand to mouth" group.

On second thought, it might be OK since they have made it illegal to block the airport with demonstrations.

So you can go, the risk is lower and most importantly, your flight will back is guaranteed.

so the risk of blocking roads to the airport is higher.

===> the risk of missing ur flight higher

===> the possibility of getting ur air ticket refunded is much lower or impossible

Wah.... I think you give singaporeans less credit than they deserve leh. [sweatdrop]

I think many are well prepared for this recession (with savings that'll allow them to tide over months, if not years of unemployment) , just that they still KPKB ........ [rolleyes]

I don't think these bargain hunters are the "hand to mouth" group.

Singaporeans are still asians..and being asians, we're kiasu and kiasi..so i think most would have some form of savings to tide over the difficult times..

Wah...indeed, Singapore is recession proof despite wat economic data indicates.

Channel News Asia

the thing i don't get it is... why mcf forumers always feel that singaporeans are not capable of buying condos/travel packages/cars during this period?

i reckon those group have lots of savings + in recession proof jobs like SAF/Teaching/Medicine/Police Force.

they'r the ones who'll come out to "kio sai"

Edited by Friendstar

It is true the only equation out of recession is through consumption. focus is shifting to the big savers and oil countries of yesteryrs to drive spending. ironically, it's the govt that should be spending by expediting more projects.

in all cases, with the travel packages snap up, we can be sure at least in the near term, travel agents side wont contribute to unemployment.

on spending on credit. see if any data on bankrupcies or refunds pile up. believe many are 1 paycheck away from financial meltdown.

Not everybody is spending on credit. In fact, penty of ppl i know have tons of cash, duno how to spend. Why ? JUST DONT HAVE KIDS OR STAY SINGLE LOR.

My office got penty of these ppl. 1 year go for overseas holiday at least once a year. And its not going to the nearby bangkok, bali hor. Its STANDARD 2-3 weeks for comprehensive tour of turkey, alaska, nz, switzerland, south africa....blah blah blah. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

yea, sporeans' fave pastime, complain :)

tat aside, not here to make sweeping statements bout sporeans' financial literacy. jus tat when such a headline comes out, wat is it set to achieve in this economic climate? Jus a pt of information? or

convince ppl there are ppl who still spend?

convince ppl recession not as bad?

well at least, the low COE is no longer sensational news.

slightly OT.. is it advisable to go Bangkok for holiday next month?

why not? but get some travel insurance..