Kohler Neutral Newbie February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Hi P-plater male driver Please be advise that you nearly scare me with your dangerous driving alone the stretch of PIE ( near ToPayoh heading toward airport ) around 9.40pm today. How on earth can u drift from lane 1 to lane 2 at a bend of the expressway . This is damn dangerous considering that my bike is only 1 bike length away from your car . Please do not drive fast if you can't handle your car well . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Forgive and forget, bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Forgive and forget, bro... It's not that simple and I wish u wouldn't say that..... it concerns a human life and due to the recklessness of that driver, someone may to pay for his or her life in the worst scenario. Road safety is everyone's responsibility and in this case, the p-plater is clearly at fault. I've seen quite a number of instances where the cars on the next lane need to jam brake just becos the driver on the other lane chut this stunt.... U may not understand the complications until u have seen one urself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sw20 2nd Gear February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 (edited) Ya i agree, anyway in 2 days i almost hit 2 different bikes! Why they like to stay in lane 1 on expressways and in my blind spot.... My c pillar totally mask them. Luckily, I look left when coming out of my lane. Bikers... last time 3-5 years ago you all don't stay in 1st lane... why all of you in 1st lane lately? Edited February 12, 2009 by Sw20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 It's not that simple and I wish u wouldn't say that..... it concerns a human life and due to the recklessness of that driver, someone may to pay for his or her life in the worst scenario. Road safety is everyone's responsibility and in this case, the p-plater is clearly at fault. I've seen quite a number of instances where the cars on the next lane need to jam brake just becos the driver on the other lane chut this stunt.... U may not understand the complications until u have seen one urself Indeed I have encountered a number of near-accidents with other vehicles (be it 4-wheels or 2-wheels) cutting into my lane at such dangerous speed...I have to admit that I had cursed and sweared at that moment of heat... However, after cooling down, there is nothing we can do to stop them from behaving this way... just hope they will practise safe-driving... for themselves and for other road users... just to try put the bad experience behind and do our part to be a responsible driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Ya i agree, anyway in 2 days i almost hit 2 different bikes! Why they like to stay in lane 1 on expressways and in my blind spot.... My c pillar totally mask them. Luckily, I look left when coming out of my lane. Bikers... last time 3-5 years ago you all don't stay in 1st lane... why all of you in 1st lane lately? While i agree that SG bikes tend to straddle lanes, i don't understand why can't they be in lane 1 while you can? As long as the bike is overtaking, i see no reason why they can't be in lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 and in my blind spot.... My c pillar totally mask them. Luckily, I look left when coming out of my lane. "Luckily, I look..."? you are supposed to check your blind spot. pls wake up your idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Regardless of the car drifting into your lane, if you are intelligent enough to use the Internet, you should have not exposed yourself to such a fool. Defensive riding philosophy / technique will tell you that approaching and remaining in the blind spot of a larger vehicle, especially when rounding a corner on the outside of the vehicle, are TWO stupid mistakes you should avoid. At least you are alive to learn this lesson that there are fools on the road. But do not be just as stupid as them and continue to place yourself at their mercy. Spot them early and avoid them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Ya i agree, anyway in 2 days i almost hit 2 different bikes! Why they like to stay in lane 1 on expressways and in my blind spot.... My c pillar totally mask them. Luckily, I look left when coming out of my lane. Bikers... last time 3-5 years ago you all don't stay in 1st lane... why all of you in 1st lane lately? Now even VAN/PICK UP also start to stay in 1st lane liao. I remember van/pickup the most can use 2nd lane for overtake only...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 no matter wat...u are wrapping the metal...while the one is being wrap with metal... U are lucky to be alive....worst scenario is the other party at most license suspend..and fine..or even jail....But at least he is still breathing.. so pls be careful and treat every one like a fool....if that's going to keep u alive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Hi P-plater male driver Please be advise that you nearly scare me with your dangerous driving alone the stretch of PIE ( near ToPayoh heading toward airport ) around 9.40pm today. How on earth can u drift from lane 1 to lane 2 at a bend of the expressway . This is damn dangerous considering that my bike is only 1 bike length away from your car . Please do not drive fast if you can't handle your car well . Some 'Ko Lo Pok' aka P Plate's driving really Am glad that you escape unscathed ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Some 'Ko Lo Pok' aka P Plate's driving really Am glad that you escape unscathed ... Btw the male driver mentioned may not be a P-plater... could be a reckless seasoned driver driving a car with p-plate probably for family members... Both p-plater and seasoned drivers have a fair share of blame in many accidents... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Now even VAN/PICK UP also start to stay in 1st lane liao. I remember van/pickup the most can use 2nd lane for overtake only...... Not anymore............. now u can see a lot of cruising along the 2nd lane as well..... at speeds of 60 to 70 km..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohler Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Author Share February 13, 2009 something to add . I wasn't staggered in between lane 1 and lane 2 . i was taking lane 2 all on my own. I was forunate that i was't adjacent to his car otherwise I would have been hit. Changing lane at a bend is definitely dangerous because the blind spot area is wider. I reckon the driver cannot handle the speed at that time thus resulted in drifting to the 2nd lane . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Hi P-plater male driver Please be advise that you nearly scare me with your dangerous driving alone the stretch of PIE ( near ToPayoh heading toward airport ) around 9.40pm today. How on earth can u drift from lane 1 to lane 2 at a bend of the expressway . This is damn dangerous considering that my bike is only 1 bike length away from your car . Please do not drive fast if you can't handle your car well . tot the stretch of road is straight, the most is a curve, what bend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Not anymore............. now u can see a lot of cruising along the 2nd lane as well..... at speeds of 60 to 70 km..... Its time the gahmen to introduce MINIMUM SPEED LIMIT at expressway and catch more road hoggers as much as they catch the speeders.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WINXP Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 It seems like alot of drivers do not care about lane discipline in Singapore. It happens frequently on expressway when there is a bend and almost always at a right turn junction. Those drivers on the expressway tends to be driving at a fast speed and wants to negotiate the turn at a less acute angle without slowing down their speed while those at turn right junction simply have no idea what lane discipline is at all. Ultimately these drivers are just plan selfish. Defensive driving can ensure that we do not have to go through the hassle of claims and repairs but this means such inconsiderate drivers will continue driving in such dangerous fashion since they expect others to watch out for them. If you cannot negotiate a bend while keeping to your lane it means that u are travelling too fast!! And for those drivers that do not keep to your lane while turning at a junction...please go back to the driving school! It will be too late to regret once u hit someone.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwaver 4th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 totally agree, dun regret only when something happen...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...