Best_ctzn Clutched February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Most of us who do grocery in supermarkets will know about express checkout counters which limit items purchased to less than 10 to speed up buying process. Recently my wife and I were in a hurry and used a express counter when we have about 15 items with us. The counter girl at first refused to serve us, pointing that there are more than 10 items. Then my wife insisted that there are 2 of us, and she could split the items equally so that it is less than 10 items for each person. The counter girl obliged unwillingly with a black face, so do some of the faces in the queue. I just wonder if it is improper for us to do that? If there are 2 of us, and we have less than 20 items among us, then aren't we eligible to use the express counter? Couldn't we instruct the counter person to split the items so that we are not breaking the 'law'? What is your opinion? I know there is no right or wrong. Just want to know how rampant is the practice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Did you pay in 2 separate bills? If not, you were clearly in the wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 (edited) if you and your wife split the items and pay in separate bill.. technically it's okay. but one question, will you mind, if someone in the same Q , in front of you does the same thing ? Edited February 12, 2009 by Mingsect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Next time, ask your father, mother, in laws, brother, sister along. Then you can buy 50-60 items, go to express counter and told the cashier, 60/6 = 10.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Just spread the items into 7.5 each. That should solve the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Not appropriate. I wouldn't be too happy if people in my queue try to pull this stunt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 frankly..as long someone don't push a trolley load of items...how many item a basket can hold? live and let die lah...life is short...how much can one waste with one basket full of item... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennylwp Neutral Newbie February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Basic Rule: If u dun like others to do it, then u dun do it too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forhod Clutched February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Just follow the "rule". If everybody do your way, the express counter would be pointless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 (edited) On 2/12/2009 at 3:35 PM, Application9999 said: frankly..as long someone don't push a trolley load of items...how many item a basket can hold? live and let die lah...life is short...how much can one waste with one basket full of item... I have actually seen this happen. Stupid couple with trolley Q at the express lane.... when they reached the counter, they found out the lane is too narrow for the big trolley. NB, push here push there cannot go in, even try go in at an angle (cos the counter is angled)... stupid fark, i one look can tell cannot go in one leh. In the end they just take their stuff and put onto the counter and left the trolley there! Even gave up their $1. People behind had to squeeze pass the trolley. Really inconsiderate. Edited February 12, 2009 by Ultramega Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 Frankly speaking... exceed little bit the cashier can close one eye lah... no need to pull a black face. Exercise some flexibility and everyone happy then the world will be a better place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 On 2/12/2009 at 3:57 PM, Pcslim said: Frankly speaking... exceed little bit the cashier can close one eye lah... no need to pull a black face. Exercise some flexibility and everyone happy then the world will be a better place 15 items isn't "little bit"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 On 2/12/2009 at 3:01 PM, Best_ctzn said: Most of us who do grocery in supermarkets will know about express checkout counters which limit items purchased to less than 10 to speed up buying process. Recently my wife and I were in a hurry and used a express counter when we have about 15 items with us. The counter girl at first refused to serve us, pointing that there are more than 10 items. Then my wife insisted that there are 2 of us, and she could split the items equally so that it is less than 10 items for each person. The counter girl obliged unwillingly with a black face, so do some of the faces in the queue. I just wonder if it is improper for us to do that? If there are 2 of us, and we have less than 20 items among us, then aren't we eligible to use the express counter? Couldn't we instruct the counter person to split the items so that we are not breaking the 'law'? What is your opinion? I know there is no right or wrong. Just want to know how rampant is the practice. thanks for the idea to jump queue in this way. but then, i dont want to be that one kind of singaporean that others feel ashamed of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 On 2/12/2009 at 3:57 PM, Pcslim said: Frankly speaking... exceed little bit the cashier can close one eye lah... no need to pull a black face. Exercise some flexibility and everyone happy then the world will be a better place How could everyone be happy? Definitely, the counter girl and those customers queuing behind this inconsiderate couple were not happy! The counter girl was doing the right thing, need not be flexible in this case else she will get complaints from other customers for not doing her job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched February 12, 2009 Share February 12, 2009 On 2/12/2009 at 3:01 PM, Best_ctzn said: Most of us who do grocery in supermarkets will know about express checkout counters which limit items purchased to less than 10 to speed up buying process. Recently my wife and I were in a hurry and used a express counter when we have about 15 items with us. The counter girl at first refused to serve us, pointing that there are more than 10 items. Then my wife insisted that there are 2 of us, and she could split the items equally so that it is less than 10 items for each person. The counter girl obliged unwillingly with a black face, so do some of the faces in the queue. I just wonder if it is improper for us to do that? If there are 2 of us, and we have less than 20 items among us, then aren't we eligible to use the express counter? Couldn't we instruct the counter person to split the items so that we are not breaking the 'law'? What is your opinion? I know there is no right or wrong. Just want to know how rampant is the practice. Yes, to be consistent and fair to cashier and other customers, keep to the number of items specified. You never know when there would be people joining the queue suddenly. It's not fair for other. Even if you break the number of items into 2 parts, it's still the same. It's unfair to those who might join the queue behind you. So it has nothing to do with breaking any laws, rules or regulations. It has to do with basic social consciousness, i.e. how our own act may affect or inconvenient others. I think generally Singaporeans are very ignorant in these areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched February 13, 2009 Author Share February 13, 2009 On 2/12/2009 at 11:26 PM, Drive_carcar said: Yes, to be consistent and fair to cashier and other customers, keep to the number of items specified. You never know when there would be people joining the queue suddenly. It's not fair for other. Even if you break the number of items into 2 parts, it's still the same. It's unfair to those who might join the queue behind you. So it has nothing to do with breaking any laws, rules or regulations. It has to do with basic social consciousness, i.e. how our own act may affect or inconvenient others. I think generally Singaporeans are very ignorant in these areas. Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 On 2/13/2009 at 12:52 AM, Best_ctzn said: Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. Don't be so self righteous... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 On 2/13/2009 at 12:52 AM, Best_ctzn said: Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. Bro, there's no right or wrong here. It is how you and other people perceive it. You think it's okay, that's fine. Others may see it as an inconsiderate act but there's nothing they can do, except maybe "tsk tsk" and show black face. Then again, it is after all an express lane . . . . tsk tsk ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...