Sktan10 5th Gear February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 so Tc make approx 4-5k for that car 4-5k profit i think is quite reasonable la! Unlike manual avante,omv 9.5k works out 21.7k+2k coe is 23.7k,sellling 37k. Profit 13.3k?Is my calculation correct? Is new car now cheap? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altis183 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 Sorry to TS, OT abit. What happen if after 6 months and one lets the COE lapses, will one gets the 10k deposit minus the COE back? If no register after 6 months, 10k forfeit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altis183 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 They will minus the actual COE amount. i.e to say a car with COE is 50k. Let say they bid the COE at 10k. therefore is 50k-10k = 40k. All dealers, AD or PI has a list price Not coe rebate lar, that is ypur discount for letting them bid the coe for you. Thats right. All PI and AD had price list for that. Getting a car with own bidded COE is quite normal already. Heard and seen many cases already. But the COE is already so low now, not much savings can b taken from there already then might as well leave it to the experts.. My thoughts only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 Isn't COE peg amount = COE Rebate amount? Just a different term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 (edited) 4-5k profit i think is quite reasonable la! Unlike manual avante,omv 9.5k works out 21.7k+2k coe is 23.7k,sellling 37k. Profit 13.3k?Is my calculation correct? Is new car now cheap? In term of selling price...Yes...it's cheaper...due to worthless COE (Form of INDIRECT TAX IMHO)..which is GOOD for consumer.. But in term of AD/PI margin...thinks it's Gone NORTH Somehow rather..I find 2nd hand car dealer are the ones Making the MOST..even as compare to AD they dun even need to provide servicing and guarantee (maybe just mouth guarantee..which is FREE), big showroom..(some just use carpark lot)....yet their margin are as good or even BETTER than AD....look at the take in price..and their asking price...wow...... Edited February 5, 2009 by Ah_dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 hi Picanto, with regards to my COE question, what additional danger is there buying from PI? (other than the typical stuff) your advise is a sound one. i think everyone here knows more or less the danger of buying from the PI. we have read all about them(the typical stuff). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 Isn't COE peg amount = COE Rebate amount? Just a different term. Now no difference liao... a fren tried to follow my steps, I tell him forget it.. the COE so low not worth all the trouble.... with most dealers are moving towards free COE now.... Typically PEG means, the amount of the bid that they will place during bidding. Let's say $4K. In most cases, non guaranteed COE, then if the COE goes to $5K, you will not get your COE. But if the the COE is say $3K, then the rebate level amount will come in. If they say, rebate level is $2K, then you get nothing. Thus in this case, PEG at $4K and rebate at $2K... rebate lower than COE amount, so get nothing. If you have COE, then they should take out the COE peg amount of $4K and not $2K ( rebate level ). Of course there are also many dealers that will give dollar-to-dollar rebate.. which means PEG at $4K and rebate at $4K. In this case, you will get back $1K if COE is $3K. But since COE now is so low... we are looking at a few hundred dollars rebate only ley.. not worth the time and effort.. though it can be fun to do it and a good learning experience... If still wants to take your own COE path, then One of the best way to get good bargain, track the price and COE peg history for the particular car that you like, you can get this from sgcarmart. From there, you can know the lowest possible price for the car ever recorded and then comes in and ask for that price without COE. Look out for low price and high COE peg price. Go in during after COE bidding completed. Leave photocopy of your IC, payslip documents to show your commitment and let the AD decide when to call you back to give you your price and take your order. But please honour those commitments once they meet your price... Get your loan amount approved and then be prepared with the 10K for COE bidding.. Must also tell AD how much you are bidding and to wait for how many bidding... to be fair to them lah... .... Cheers!... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ting Neutral Newbie February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 normal car or opc, can pm your SE. Thank you. My neighbour bid his own coe & get the $2 coe. He went to tan chong & brought a latio at 44K,omv 17K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched February 5, 2009 Share February 5, 2009 I know it has been mentioned briefly a few times. But is there any AD who allows that? what about PI? since PI are so competitive, i reckon they'll allow us to use our own COE? Now coe is free... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 13, 2017 Share February 13, 2017 bringing up an old thread. anyone knows any AD or PI sell without COE and base on what price list? Going to try my hands bidding it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 13, 2017 Share February 13, 2017 (edited) stuttgart is very transparent they quote with coe Edited February 13, 2017 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear February 13, 2017 Share February 13, 2017 bringing up an old thread. anyone knows any AD or PI sell without COE and base on what price list? Going to try my hands bidding it.I bought from Hup Long last year they just deduct the COE price to sell as car body only , Very fair and transparent . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 13, 2017 Share February 13, 2017 stuttgart is very transparent they quote with coe Most of the high end brands quote price without COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear February 13, 2017 Share February 13, 2017 Most of the high end brands quote price without COE.Correct this is to give a cheaper impression to entice buyers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 13, 2017 Share February 13, 2017 LTA came up with the COE scheme and they left this to big players to manipulate. I wonder why didn't they set guidelines on how they advertise car prices and COE? For tour packages, properties and even hawker centres, authorities do know how to control how their prices are being displayed. Any reason why LTA is so happy collecting income and doing nothing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 (edited) bringing up an old thread. anyone knows any AD or PI sell without COE and base on what price list? Going to try my hands bidding it. Any of the dealers. Just note that they will charge you a few K higher dan what they are offering. Don't expect free servicing or free stuff to come with it. If you are not happy you can always import your own car. See onemotoring website. LTA came up with the COE scheme and they left this to big players to manipulate. I wonder why didn't they set guidelines on how they advertise car prices and COE? For tour packages, properties and even hawker centres, authorities do know how to control how their prices are being displayed. Any reason why LTA is so happy collecting income and doing nothing? If LTA has the time lo. More rules means more to enforce. As long as the dealers do not go into price fixing they are fine. It has to be a somewhat "free market" for dealers to compete. If there's competition it's good for the consumers. If everything is fixed, price will more or less be fixed too, anti competition. If you find that the dealers are price fixing call CCS (competition commision of Singapore). Edited February 14, 2017 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 If LTA has the time lo. More rules means more to enforce. As long as the dealers do not go into price fixing they are fine. It has to be a somewhat "free market" for dealers to compete. If there's competition it's good for the consumers. If everything is fixed, price will more or less be fixed too, anti competition. If you find that the dealers are price fixing call CCS (competition commision of Singapore). While I can understand the government does not want to be accused of price fixing, COE is introduced by them. This is an additional component that consumers were not given a choice. Therefore, they should remove the COE from the car pricing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 (edited) While I can understand the government does not want to be accused of price fixing, COE is introduced by them. This is an additional component that consumers were not given a choice. Therefore, they should remove the COE from the car pricing. As far as LTA is concern, COE is always separated from the car price, but they cannot control how a dealer want to price their product. It is up to you to negotiate the deal without COE. A package deal is and always will be cheaper, ever wonder 1 whole water melon cost $5, but when you buy half of that melon, they sell to you at $3? Edited February 14, 2017 by Tianmo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...