Buying a car without COE

Friendstar

As far as LTA is concern, COE is always separated from the car price, but they cannot control how a dealer want to price their product. It is up to you to negotiate the deal without COE. A package deal is and always will be cheaper, ever wonder 1 whole water melon cost $5, but when you buy half of that melon, they sell to you at $3? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

thank you for sharing but i still feel it is not a fair comparison. COE is like a'tax'imposed by the authority. they should not allow profit from such component. it must be clearly listed in the price list.

That's why Singapore got no consumer protection lor

It just brings back the subject that ppl have been discussing for so long, "cars sld be sold without COE", final price sld be selling price plus COE, which sound fair tho.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

It will nvr happens unless COE bidding via Singpass.

Why so difficult to let individual bid for COE ah ? Edited by Char

As long as you got $10k cash, go ahead to bid.

Don't expect the total cost to be lower.

This is problem ... LTA should make it compulsory COE only can bid by seller .

the main reason coe is included in car price is because of loan ... it is sell as a package

if separate coe out ... coe must pay cash

then got coe already ... car loan not approve how?

if apply loan first then user bid coe exceed budget how?

that's why coe + car = 2 in 1 as 1 price and the loan is approved based on that 1 price ... manipulated by dealer [laugh]

if got loan buy car first but kiam siap and not able to secure coe how? lol

that's why coe and car must come together not 1 after another ... those lucky draw got car no coe practically is sell back to agent ... lol

You guys are wrong, everything is done fairly and transparently.

Who said dealers don't offer you car without COE? The question is, you willing to buy your own COE and then buy car separately from them? Be prepared to pay maybe 10-15k more over their "package" price.

Is this fair? Yes! Same reasoning as you go mcdonalds buy filet o fish meal for $5, but if you backside itchy buy filet o fish, fries and coke separately, you pay $7.

Who said dealers don't offer you car without COE? The question is, you willing to buy your own COE and then buy car separately from them? Be prepared to pay maybe 10-15k more over their "package" price.

Is this fair? Yes! Same reasoning as you go mcdonalds buy filet o fish meal for $5, but if you backside itchy buy filet o fish, fries and coke separately, you pay $7.

you win.

Mcdonalds example better than water melon.  [thumbsup]  [laugh]  [laugh]

this is not a FAIR example. mcdonald sell a "meal" at $5 and alacarte at $7 to entice customer to buy more (value meal)

i could have a mc-chicken at $2 and not necessary for the mc-chicken meal as i don't want fries and coke.

the whole reason COE is packaged or sell with the car is because of LOAN.

the whole reason dealer sell car at expensive price without COE is because to maintain PROFIT MARGIN (with built in margin in COE) and of course to DETER buyer from buying car without COE. dealer giving a option that is not an favourable option aka no option.

dealer selling "packaged" at higher price presuming higher margin

if buy separate ... dealer up the alacarte price to match the packaged price profit margin

mc selling "value" meal at cheaper price presuming lower margin higher volume (marketing 101)

do mc change the alacarte price to match value meal price?

this is not a FAIR example. mcdonald sell a "meal" at $5 and alacarte at $7 to entice customer to buy more (value meal)

i could have a mc-chicken at $2 and not necessary for the mc-chicken meal as i don't want fries and coke.

the whole reason COE is packaged or sell with the car is because of LOAN.

the whole reason dealer sell car at expensive price without COE is because to maintain PROFIT MARGIN (with built in margin in COE) and of course to DETER buyer from buying car without COE. dealer giving an option that is not an favourable option aka no option.

dealer selling "packaged" at higher price presuming higher margin

if buy separate ... dealer up the alacarte price to match the packaged price profit margin

mc selling "value" meal at cheaper price presuming lower margin higher volume (marketing 101)

do mc change the alacarte price to match value meal price?

Dealer never up alacarte price, it's simply more expensive than the package price. Dealers can set the price of their cars. You look at it from the wrong angle. Dealers start from the alacarte pricing, just like mcdonalds. Then, they think of how to attract customers. So dealers offer set meal of car+coe, which will be cheaper than if you buy car and coe separately.

Is it wrong for dealer to maintain profit margin? They are running a business not a charity.

agree with your point in this way/angle

the only issue is COE is not dealer material/product cost

it's a direct cost (TAX) collected by ah gong

but it's packaged into the car price as part of the profit margin

now even package CEVS (tax/rebate) into the profit margin

yes, it's absolutely fair and reasonable for dealer to make money running a business and not a charity

i'm just debating the reason why COE is packaged in the car price ... LOAN

having said that ... i guess any form of TAX is package in the selling price as part of profit margin

just like GST, petrol excise tax, import duty tax, etc

when tax raise ... businesses chop chop curry pop raise the price higher to capitalise higher profit margin

Dealer never up alacarte price, it's simply more expensive than the package price. Dealers can set the price of their cars. You look at it from the wrong angle. Dealers start from the alacarte pricing, just like mcdonalds. Then, they think of how to attract customers. So dealers offer set meal of car+coe, which will be cheaper than if you buy car and coe separately.

Is it wrong for dealer to maintain profit margin? They are running a business not a charity.

I say until sian....

Want buy car, buyer go bid coe on their own. Just like buying hdb flat, all DIY.

Reason for not implementing this and let dealers do it is simple.

Price can be better controlled when all dealers bid instead of thousands of individual bidders doing it.

You realise that the LTA/Govt "cleverly" never put the word TAX into any of these car related "expense"?

Registration Fee

Additional Registration Fee

COE Premium

CEVs Rebate/Penalty

The only out right stated tax are GST and Road tax.

agree with your point in this way/angle

the only issue is COE is not dealer material/product cost

it's a direct cost (TAX) collected by ah gong

but it's packaged into the car price as part of the profit margin

now even package CEVS (tax/rebate) into the profit margin

yes, it's absolutely fair and reasonable for dealer to make money running a business and not a charity

i'm just debating the reason why COE is packaged in the car price ... LOAN

having said that ... i guess any form of TAX is package in the selling price as part of profit margin

just like GST, petrol excise tax, import duty tax, etc

when tax raise ... businesses chop chop curry pop raise the price higher to capitalise higher profit margin