Charged with threat on MP

Sleepyman

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_334104.html

Charged with threat on MP

By Elena Chong

'I am willing to apologise to the MP (Denise Phua, left) and to the police as well. I have not been receiving any help for one year,' the accused said.

A RAG-and-bone man was hauled to court on Wednesday for threatening to cause hurt to Jalan Besar GRC Member of Parliament Denise Phua.

Ng Kim Ngweng, 49, allegedly committed the criminal intimidation by telling a Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports customer service officer over the phone: 'I cannot take this anymore and I don't know what I'll do one day, I can't be sure on that .... How can you don't hit her? I get angry when I see her so how can I don't hit her?''

The alleged offence took place at his Crawford Lane home on Jan 12 - a day after Yio Chu Kang MP Seng Han Thong was set on fire by a former cabby at a community event.

In the dock, a tanned-looking Ng pleaded to the court to release him for a few days so that he could clear up the newspapers at home which might pose a fire hazard.

He said he had no one to bail him out and could not afford if the personal bond was high.

Ng told District Judge Toh Yung Cheong he did not intimidate anyone.

'I was just making a complaint to the Prime Minister. I was given this number to call MCYS and I was told that I could say anything. So I just voiced out my opinion,'' he said.

He admitted he had said the wrong thing and was sorry.

'I am willing to apologise to the MP and to the police as well. I have not been receiving any help for one year,' he added.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Imran Abdul Hamid objected to the personal bond, saying he was a flight risk, and that police had waited for him the whole day on Tuesday.

While the DPP was talking, Ng talked non-stop in Mandarin, prompting the judge to say that from the way he was acting, it appeared that he was suffering from some mental illness.

The DPP, however, could not confirm if he had a psychiatric history although Ng had been to the Institute of Mental Health before.

Bail of $50,000 was set. The case was adjourned to Feb 17.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Imran Abdul Hamid objected to the personal bond, saying he was a flight risk, and that police had waited for him the whole day on Tuesday.

And on what basis was he a flight risk? Karung Guni man work from morning till night just to eke a living la. Idiot. [hur][thumbsdown]

Maybe sampan boat risk... haha

I think she is the one who came up with this plan to charge 2nd hand vendors at Sungei rd daily rental. So come rain or shine, these poor vendors have to pay rental regardless of whether got biz or not. Worse, they are not allowed to put up tentage, but some of them ignore this only to be warned by NEA officers making their rounds and force them to take it down. So these vendors have to suffer either way when rain comes, or when the afternoon sun baked their backs...

crap lah..... the MIB has got their priorities wrong....

i read before: kenna punched and assaulted, the MIB will not do anything...for this case, just a threat and all these?

talk about double standards! [shakehead]

I don't know what to say. For a year, nobody listens to his plead, until that call comes about. MCYS, have you seriously access this man's living condition before coming to the judge??

how can he imply that the man was a flight risk based on the fact that the police had waited for him the whole day is beyond me.

Did the man know the police were waiting for him and took steps to avoid them? Did he resist arrest? ahaha, like that, if you go out and club the whole day and night while the poodle waits for you outside your door , that alone would imply that you are a flight risk.

I think she is the one who came up with this plan to charge 2nd hand vendors at Sungei rd daily rental. So come rain or shine, these poor vendors have to pay rental regardless of whether got biz or not. Worse, they are not allowed to put up tentage, but some of them ignore this only to be warned by NEA officers making their rounds and force them to take it down. So these vendors have to suffer either way when rain comes, or when the afternoon sun baked their backs...

We pay S$13 000 a month to this lady to spot nitty witty things?

i read before: kenna punched and assaulted, the MIB will not do anything...for this case, just a threat and all these?

talk about double standards! [shakehead]

Told you all liao, they probably being asked "Are you an elite?". This is rotten to the core, I am so agitated reading these, but no threats from me. Just venting through a 3 hour LSD! I am sure the level of anger from me is many times than the poor man.

We pay S$13 000 a month to this lady to spot nitty witty things?

she got too much free time window shop around and notice it haha

to b honest the quality of life here is really deteriorating...it really pains me to see uncles aunties in their late 60s still struggling and working as toilet cleaners, kopitiam cleaners.....sigh....

i dun understand how they can say work til u r 70s.... [thumbsdown]

He has, over the years, managed to build a Bat mobile with all the bits and pieces of junks he collected. So he has a high risk of running away.

Get it?? [sleeping]

after all these years and you guys are still blur

the government technique is scare tactics

after the burning MP incident

anybody want to play play or even joke will be send to the slammer

remember the bomb joker in the plane

I think this government is getting out of hand

even this kara guni man also want to attack

we all know (without a need for PHD in psychology) he is just frustrated and wanted ventilation

all we have to wait is for papa to mama to heaven then all hell will break loose

This garmen is getting too big headed. Instead of serving the people, they make it tough for their own citizens. [shakehead]

If this carries on, the people will start to exhibit their frustrations in different ways and it has already started. [gossip] Sooner or later someone is going to get hurt. BTW I'm not threatening anyone, just saying it like I see it. [sweatdrop]

Scare tactics will eventually lose its effects, so to the guy with the knuckle duster, I say give it up!

i believe all these years you have been living in Borneo with the orang utan -- no offense meant

why

This garmen is getting too big headed. Instead of serving the people, they make it tough for their own citizens.

the correct statement should be

the people are getting too big headed, instead it is the people who should be serving the government and we should work very very hard to make life easy for the government so that we may have peace and stability