Sci10213 3rd Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Well it depends on how many years of working experience one has. The normal route will be 4 yrs in sec sch then 2 yrs in JC, 2.5 yrs in NS then 3yrs in Uni. By the time grad is ard 24 to 25. However, some follks took longer route..5 yrs in Sec sch, then ITE 2 yrs, NS 2 yrs, Poly another 3 yrs after that Uni another 3 yrs. But also depends on yourself, some had good career luck till 30s then stay constant while some are late bloomers.. In my industry, a AM in this company is equivalent to a Senior Analyst in another. Most impt thing is the pay ! LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... Whoa...new stereotype?? Siong....very hard to keep up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 It is normal. Don't worry too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Normal to be still exec at age 30, but it is at the stage where you have to ask yourself whether a promotion is in sight soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 for normal singaporean grad. at age 30yrs , if doing well in the same company, should be about the time to be promoted to " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthforge Neutral Newbie February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Agree. Title is less important, how much they are willing to pay you is the litmus test !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragos 1st Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 pay more important...any title also no use.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... agree... just look at pay... if you want to compare yourself to others, i think you know yourself well.. compare your capabilities against your peers and see where you stand... if you are just a average or below average performer, then dun expect too much lor... stable job happy liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... Job titles are deceiving... whether it's AVP, Director, Senior Analyst, Senior Manager, the scope and complexity of the role varies from industry to industry; and within each industry, it varies from MNC to SME.. So, it's quite pointless to compare job titles.. I agree that comparing salary package is a better approach.. Some even compare per hour salary.. For instance, A & B both makes $5000 a month but A works 40 hours a week, while B is 60 hours.. Obviously, A is "paid" higher per hour and can have a more balanced work-life. Frankly, if you ask me on job titles and salary package? I'll say "f*ck it!".. At the end, it's all a rat race... For those who have the guts to break away from the corporate rat race, do your business.. Well, I'm still waiting for the day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Job titles are deceiving... whether it's AVP, Director, Senior Analyst, Senior Manager, the scope and complexity of the role varies from industry to industry; and within each industry, it varies from MNC to SME.. So, it's quite pointless to compare job titles.. I agree that comparing salary package is a better approach.. Some even compare per hour salary.. For instance, A & B both makes $5000 a month but A works 40 hours a week, while B is 60 hours.. Obviously, A is "paid" higher per hour and can have a more balanced work-life. Frankly, if you ask me on job titles and salary package? I'll say "f*ck it!".. At the end, it's all a rat race... For those who have the guts to break away from the corporate rat race, do your business.. Well, I'm still waiting for the day Running your own shop is a different set of problems that one has to manage. Flexibility is there but lots of logistical and money matters to juggle with. Working as an employee has its own merits, just collect money at the end of the month. Since you run your own shop, you like to use whatever title is really up to you. I've seen corporate people doing the same old thing for 20 years but title keep "going up". So a director may still have to roll up sleeves to do the ground work or the "dirty" jobs. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... What would the pay be like for this executive position that you are asking here? I mean .... if today a person is being paid $10,000/mth as executive .... would anyone mind? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongbapao Neutral Newbie February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Job titles are deceiving... whether it's AVP, Director, Senior Analyst, Senior Manager, the scope and complexity of the role varies from industry to industry; and within each industry, it varies from MNC to SME.. So, it's quite pointless to compare job titles.. I agree that comparing salary package is a better approach.. Some even compare per hour salary.. For instance, A & B both makes $5000 a month but A works 40 hours a week, while B is 60 hours.. Obviously, A is "paid" higher per hour and can have a more balanced work-life. Frankly, if you ask me on job titles and salary package? I'll say "f*ck it!".. At the end, it's all a rat race... For those who have the guts to break away from the corporate rat race, do your business.. Well, I'm still waiting for the day Very true.. I'm doing my mgr's work even though I'm a lowly exec. But wat to do in these times? As long as at the end of the month there's $ in my account and food on the table and job to do, LPPL lor. Then hope for the 10 mil toto every year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funkyjr Neutral Newbie February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 My definition will be title is not impt, SALARY that matters.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 (edited) Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... I think title is not that important. Its the responsibilities you are holding & payscale u're on. I've a friend who is an "Executive assistant" to the country CEO of standchart. She is 25 yr old and earns 60++K per annum. On the other hand, many managers or assistant managers I know personally don't even earn 5K/month. Edited February 4, 2009 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 my fren working in some big transport company in SG as a marketing manager.. earning 3k only.. you want title or $$? look at throttle... table cleaner stay near tanglin and drive 5 series.. smoke cigar drink red wine.. so what do you want? :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 It's the salary that matters...me only a lowly professional....but,....nvm, you get my drift.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 4, 2009 Share February 4, 2009 Hello, If you are approaching 30 years old and you are just in an executive position (obviously I'm not referring to chief executive) - just those type of low rank executive, when is it time to move on to another company or even to another industry if you are still not promoted to next level e.g. senior executive or even assistant manager? 30 years old still just an executive - is it normal? any benchmark? Assume you have degree qualification... As many mentioned, the monetary package is more important than $$. Some other factors you should look at the the job responsibilities, colleagues and bosses, plus how hours you put in to earn that share. If you work for the coy for some time, say several years and no promo or prospect is in sight, time to move on to another company. It is not advisable to jump to another industry as you already acquired the necessary experience to move on with the experience and pay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...