Fondue Neutral Newbie February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 3:51 PM, Ender said: The AA Voucher is $3 lah.. Hmmm ...... must have been dreaming all this while ..... anyway, already used all so can't take a good look at it again ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roverboy 1st Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 use SAFRA CARD plus citi dividend card for caltex on site discount 5% + safra card 7% + citi dividend card 5% =17% but no thanks pts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anakusop Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 this one confirm or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 3:44 PM, Fondue said: Need Platinum or One card to get the 5% discount. Its not they see you no up. The diff is because Credit Card company charges a higher commision on Platinum vs Gold/classic card, hence can afford to give you more discount. On another note, after the recenty price hike, I pump $60 at Caltex using the $1 voucher from AA magazine. But when I saw the bill, they actually deducted $3 instead .. anyone know why ? I also pumped exactly $60 at Caltex Silver Techron. I paid $50.95 after $3 AA voucher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 looks good.. http://www3.safra.sg/member_promotion_details.aspx?oid=817 assuming your spending is $300per month, 7% is already $21. 4 months you can break-even, with the 2yr membership until end 2010... then onwards is extra $21 savings monthly for the next 20 months.. of course, provided cowtax doesn't decide to withdraw (under their disclaimer) with my standchart xtra card... http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/deposits/xtrasaver.html yet another 10% off...[(5%+7%)+10%]=22% walao.. didnt realise this earlier... mai tu leow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Looks like i gotta apply for the citi dividend card le.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/3/2009 at 12:16 AM, Solar said: with my standchart xtra card... http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/deposits/xtrasaver.html yet another 10% off...[(5%+7%)+10%]=22% StanChart.. to enjoy the cashback... must maintain average $6K in the account per month!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 6:14 AM, RadX said: this ah...no la...this calendar oni...i onhly have ATM card Is that ur finger? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 actually, the extra 10% need $20k on average... so, good for those with rainy-day fund sitting around earning measly 0.x% interest, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 No wonder see Caltex now so packed, shell one like hit mosquito. Now we are really seeing more petrol war. Keep it up. Else 1 rise, all rise, like very sian one, always we lugi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Caltex's petrol is smoother also i feel, shell's kinda rough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/3/2009 at 12:16 AM, Solar said: looks good.. http://www3.safra.sg/member_promotion_details.aspx?oid=817 assuming your spending is $300per month, 7% is already $21. 4 months you can break-even, with the 2yr membership until end 2010... then onwards is extra $21 savings monthly for the next 20 months.. of course, provided cowtax doesn't decide to withdraw (under their disclaimer) with my standchart xtra card... http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/deposits/xtrasaver.html yet another 10% off...[(5%+7%)+10%]=22% walao.. didnt realise this earlier... mai tu leow Cash back from SCB got restriction - where the petrol station accepts non-EMV compliant MasterCard cards and if the petrol station's merchant category code is 5541 or 5542". Also got cap of $15 - $60 cash back. You must also have deposit of $20k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/3/2009 at 5:51 AM, Dumb said: Cash back from SCB got restriction - where the petrol station accepts non-EMV compliant MasterCard cards and if the petrol station's merchant category code is 5541 or 5542". Also got cap of $15 - $60 cash back. You must also have deposit of $20k. yeah.. man.. in these tough times, if in the first place, I had so much moolah like $20k to lie around idle... I would not be worried about saving a few cents to the dollar for every litre of petrol... probably be driving around a hummer as well! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 (edited) On 2/3/2009 at 3:31 AM, Robo said: Caltex's petrol is smoother also i feel, shell's kinda rough. I have been using Shell for the last 8 yrs. Just switched to Caltex in the last 2 refills and I can agree with you. I used AA and got 10% including site discount off my total, unlike UOB which give 5% smart$. Uplus credit card gives 5%+5% and another 3% if pump more than $300 pm. Since SAFRA member get 5%+7%, will I still get additional 3% if I use Uplus credit card to make payment, assuming I pump more than $300 per month. Edited February 3, 2009 by Dumb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Is the AA card for Caltex for the additional 5% (total 10%) still on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/3/2009 at 5:59 AM, Dumb said: I have been using Shell for the last 8 yrs. Just switched to Caltex in the last 2 refills and I can agree with you. I used AA and got 10% including site discount off my total, unlike UOB which give 5% smart$. Uplus credit card gives 5%+5% and another 3% if pump more than $300 pm. Since SAFRA member get 5%+7%, will I still get additional 3% if I use Uplus credit card to make payment, assuming I pump more than $300 per month. Me too have jump ship from Shell to Caltex. Been with Shell for the past 4+ yrs, 1st they change the points system from $1=1pt to 1L=1pt, next they increased the pts required to redeem free petrol and now they have the least competitive discount offer. Their $3 vouchers is not even enough to woo me back given that I can get additional 7% with Safra card at Caltex. (same site discount + dividend cc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/3/2009 at 8:20 AM, Ngaiky83 said: Me too have jump ship from Shell to Caltex. Been with Shell for the past 4+ yrs, 1st they change the points system from $1=1pt to 1L=1pt, next they increased the pts required to redeem free petrol and now they have the least competitive discount offer. Their $3 vouchers is not even enough to woo me back given that I can get additional 7% with Safra card at Caltex. (same site discount + dividend cc) Not that only. Now shell also withdrew the 100 bonus points for every 200 litres pumped during each month. Last month I finished all my 6000 shell points and switched to caltex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 On 2/3/2009 at 5:51 AM, Dumb said: Cash back from SCB got restriction - where the petrol station accepts non-EMV compliant MasterCard cards and if the petrol station's merchant category code is 5541 or 5542". Also got cap of $15 - $60 cash back. You must also have deposit of $20k. for different individual lah.. well, as i mentioned, its for those who has some rainy-day savings but sitting there doing nothing (and also don't want to risk into those 'dangerous' investment funds).. and for my case, i don't exceed $400 every month on petrol, so this tier is good for me. anyway, i still have citi dividend to fall back upon if somehow my spending is a lot.. also, so far i've used in sg and (a couple of times) esso in jb.. no problem.. btw, for those folks who frequent boleh petrol, and dare to use credit card to pay, this will stretch their savings further.. i also use it for other non-petrol purchases anywhere, which entitle 2% off. one thing to note.. 20k is minimum average that month for that tier.. if you fall below that, you'll drop back to the lower tier at 6k, which is 7%. btw, i don't work for scb.. and don't quite like their service either...just that i find the card good to utilise upon. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...