Desnck Neutral Newbie February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 Hyundai Advante FC very low, Mazda FC too high, no power ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 9:13 AM, Desnck said: Hyundai Advante FC very low, Mazda FC too high, no power As for FC you got to drive the car yourself to find out. Different drivers with different daily route very difficult to compare. I used to rent Proton Iswara/wira in Malaysia. I get about 11km/L with some spirited driving but my friend who owns one Iswara in S/P gets 17km/L. Both Manual transmission. He usual drive well within speed limit and many occasions follow bus when there is no bus lane. So you can see the variation in FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 5:54 AM, Bsbs said: Normally, pay in full will incur a "penalty" , because they can't earn commission from your car loan. Probably 1K - 2K more. I had checked with them. Pay cash same price. SE explained that Komoco did not give any loan rebate, so cash payment also no penalty. So you can go ahead to pay cash and save some interest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 9:10 AM, Blue850r said: Perhaps due to this, many owner just drive it very slowly like doing Shell economy contest, so reported consumption is good. Not interesting to me. Just my observation, matrix and some korean car always road hog in the middle lane, may be because of the slow pickup, esp for the auto version Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 10:45 AM, Kwchan said: Just my observation, matrix and some korean car always road hog in the middle lane, may be because of the slow pickup, esp for the auto version not really. probably more like trying to improve FC any car will move once u step on the gas. just tt some cars burn lots of petrol everytime u press the accelerator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 10:45 AM, Kwchan said: Just my observation, matrix and some korean car always road hog in the middle lane, may be because of the slow pickup, esp for the auto version That is drivers' attitude. Not the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 9:10 AM, Blue850r said: I can attest to that. After so much rave above this Avante, I went to do test drive. Everything is acceptable but the road test was a big let down. It could be the way that the factory test and rate their engines. If Altis has 107bhp, I think Avante has only 95bhp. The 1st gear take off is already sluggish and if extended rpm, the noise is not so soft as many had claimed. Perhaps due to this, many owner just drive it very slowly like doing Shell economy contest, so reported consumption is good. Not interesting to me. toyotas and hondas have very sharp throttle response. dun confuse tt with power. u drive some conti marques the way u drive a toyota and u will find that they refuse to move. "sluggish". maybe tt's why pple can sell gadgets such as sprintbooster. but if one does not like the way a car drives, then forget it. otherwise sure damn sian on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 10:50 AM, Boyboy said: toyotas and hondas have very sharp throttle response. dun confuse tt with power. u drive some conti marques the way u drive a toyota and u will find that they refuse to move. "sluggish". maybe tt's why pple can sell gadgets such as sprintbooster. but if one does not like the way a car drives, then forget it. otherwise sure damn sian on the road Right On..sian liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 Oh wait.. you mention about throttle response. I think the Avante's problem is not the throttle response. It is the lack of torque below 4Krpm. Since many forumers says Avante is a better buy than Altis 1.6A, I did a back to back comparison. I test drove them the same way as I drive daily. After I left the showroom, I did some quick calculation on their depreciation as the OMV of both cars differ quite a lot. Avante 11K OMV. on full spec version selling $43399 while Altis is $52988 with $16K OMV. Scrap is low at 50% OMV. Avante : $3800 a year, 3 year warranty while Altis $4500 a year with 5 year warranty, 1st year free service The difference is $700 a year or $58 a month in depreciation. My conclusion is, Altis is not so much more expensive a one perceived. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 (edited) On 2/1/2009 at 9:53 AM, Junjie said: 2.5k for body?....not anymore in the current market....try calling up for trade in, the price they offer now will shock u..be it jap or korea or whatever...is the world's economy recession, other countries banks no longer loan easily and demand for our used rides drop drastically..... Agreed. My friend bought an Avante at $36,999 and traded in his SFK Jap brand car and gave him $300 for his body only! He was very happy with the interior of the car. He's the type that is point A to B person. Wife happy, he happy, sign on dotted line. Edited February 2, 2009 by Brock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crane Neutral Newbie February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 I assume he bought the manual version? I also bought the same model today. Did he receive any freebies? Cos I didn't so just want to find out if i have been taken advantage off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 12:28 PM, Crane said: I assume he bought the manual version? I also bought the same model today. Did he receive any freebies? Cos I didn't so just want to find out if i have been taken advantage off. He didn't really share much except that he bought the manual version. His traded-in car looked like an old cupboard compared to the Avante so he was over the moon with the new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 got leather / sports rim/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Granzon Neutral Newbie February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 My car is only 3.5 years old but also looked like old cupboard........lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 5:32 AM, Quantum said: not doubt avante is the hotest topic in many car forums recently, as per paper specification, avante indeed gives imperssive performance with 125hp and 152N.m against altis 107hp and 145N.m :angry: last weekend tested drive both of them, frankly speaking, couldn't feel avante gave better sprint than altis as paper spec defined anyone noticed that! Ha... You are spot on.. At least some one sensitive enough to tell it. After hearing many raved about how good the current avante and some even claim it's better than current altis, I went to borneo with an open mind in a one year old avante to test the current corolla and have a back to back comparison. Avante might have higher power and torque rating on paper than corolla, but I swear the corolla is stronger in reality. Take all specifications from manufacturer with a pinch of salt. Back in the 90s, local motoring magazine did a compro test on almost all 1.6 in the market such as corolla, civic, lancer, sunny and elantra. Elantra had the 2nd highest power at 114hp after 125hp civic esi (No VTi in that test). The winner from the acceleration test was the lower power 110hp corolla, even slightly ahead of 125hp civic esi while the elantra came in last from memory. Even the 90hp mazda 323 was faster. Elantra had the most advance engine with DOHC 16V while most of its competitiors were on SOHC. Of cos many korean fans here will say that test was long ago and it's not representitive, but it happened before and it could happen again. Looks like the scenario has not changed after so many years. My opinion on Altis vs Avante: Corolla has stronger engine, better noise insulation and firmer ride while avante wins on ride comfort because of its softer suspension which is preferred in family saloon. Subjective elements are: I prefer corolla more up market interior and exterior. Conclusion: You get what you pay. Same spec corolla vs avante is 53k vs 42k. If you can afford the additional 11k premium, go for corolla. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 corolla OMV much higher too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 Err....There is confirm no penalty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged February 3, 2009 Share February 3, 2009 does the Avante comes with sunroof? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...