Hishercar Clutched January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 From my recent experience with taxi I am of the opinion, this surcharge system is open to massive abuse 1. taxi driver drive slowly so to enter the "surcharge period" 2. before midnight cannot find taxi, suddenly after midnight taxi starts to appear. 3. Not only elderly person but people like us can be confused and not sure if it right type of surcharges added. I really dont mind paying for a taxi but not with all these confusing surcharges and open to abuse that make me uncomfortable to confront the taxi. One taxi driver (ah Pek) tell me CNY leh the other side issue, went to friends condo to visit, the indian security guard ask me for ang pow cant believe it is time so bad or just the way society has been conditioned to think nothing but money only your comments please thanks any similar experience and how to convince authorities to change ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 From my recent experience with taxi I am of the opinion, this surcharge system is open to massive abuse 1. taxi driver drive slowly so to enter the "surcharge period" 2. before midnight cannot find taxi, suddenly after midnight taxi starts to appear. 3. Not only elderly person but people like us can be confused and not sure if it right type of surcharges added. I really dont mind paying for a taxi but not with all these confusing surcharges and open to abuse that make me uncomfortable to confront the taxi. One taxi driver (ah Pek) tell me CNY leh the other side issue, went to friends condo to visit, the indian security guard ask me for ang pow cant believe it is time so bad or just the way society has been conditioned to think nothing but money only your comments please thanks any similar experience and how to convince authorities to change This actually happened last friday to a friend's younger sister. My friend and I were at a house party and her sister was supposed to join us. Called for a cab which was supposed to arrive at 11:45p, but the bugger called and said he was lost. He arrived at 12mn sharp. He could even get "lost" so a 15min journey turned into a 40min journey even though I left directions. Heng the party was a private house so when she reached, I went to the cab and gan the fellow upside down when he wanted to charge her the full fare. In the end he took $15 instead of the $28+ charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 exactly you are brave and quick action image how many kena con left right and centre my poor in-laws kena always when they go for medical check up because they have knee problem and have difficulty climbing steps dont know how to over this problem in the mean time until CASE or government do something about it 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 This actually happened last friday to a friend's younger sister. My friend and I were at a house party and her sister was supposed to join us. Called for a cab which was supposed to arrive at 11:45p, but the bugger called and said he was lost. He arrived at 12mn sharp. He could even get "lost" so a 15min journey turned into a 40min journey even though I left directions. Heng the party was a private house so when she reached, I went to the cab and gan the fellow upside down when he wanted to charge her the full fare. In the end he took $15 instead of the $28+ charge. Such buggers deserve to be gunned down. Very obvious he was out to cheat. I understand that all taxis are installed with GPS and wl show the driver where in Sin he is. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 (edited) they should just remove the midnight and peak hour surcharge altogether..like in HK..i don't see the HK taxi drivers having any problem with it.. Edited January 29, 2009 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 if u want to see how the taxi driver charge u just ask for the receipt loh, then can slowly examine. wah the indian security ask for ang pow? if i were u i would ask him to FO then complain to the condo management. whats this man, security guard asking for ang pow from outsiders? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 receipt is a good idea I ask my in-laws to ask for it the next time now you know why I am so p i s s but I did not complain to the management afterall it is new year and dont want anyone to get fired for such a small thing but really so un professional Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 (edited) exactly you are brave and quick action image how many kena con left right and centre my poor in-laws kena always when they go for medical check up because they have knee problem and have difficulty climbing steps dont know how to over this problem in the mean time until CASE or government do something about it The usual lah. Not the first cabby to try this trick. I'm sure my fully tatted out friend next to me did somehow manage to help with the convincing The second I heard from my friend that her sis said she was lost, I knew what was happening.... The problem is how it can be checked. I don't think out LTA or Taxi Co's are willing to have "taxi inspectors", and even if they did, these inspectors probably won't look gullible enough. Edited January 29, 2009 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 Such buggers deserve to be gunned down. Very obvious he was out to cheat. I understand that all taxis are installed with GPS and wl show the driver where in Sin he is. Not all, but comfort and citicab have it, and in my case it was a citicab..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 This is a little side track I cant help but read your tiny lines at the end of your posting do you think that he may drifting not really because it is exciting but because that the quickest way of finding an excuse to change tires just an after thought not many of us driving like our present tires but have to live with it until it get worn down because it is not economically sensible to just throw away because the next set may be equally bad or worse but then again we may be lucky and may be better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 This is a little side track I cant help but read your tiny lines at the end of your posting do you think that he may drifting not really because it is exciting but because that the quickest way of finding an excuse to change tires just an after thought not many of us driving like our present tires but have to live with it until it get worn down because it is not economically sensible to just throw away because the next set may be equally bad or worse but then again we may be lucky and may be better LOL I don't know, but i think he meant it (from stories i've heard about him). That is what he said so I guess we have to take it at face value Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 From my recent experience with taxi I am of the opinion, this surcharge system is open to massive abuse 2. before midnight cannot find taxi, suddenly after midnight taxi starts to appear. This has been on-going for many many years liao.......... U will see taxis disappear from as soon as 11 to 1115pm onwards. Then they will start appearing as soon as the midnite surcharge is on. the other side issue, went to friends condo to visit, the indian security guard ask me for ang pow cant believe it F**k him upside down lah............... Tell him this is not MY lah......... [laugh] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 (edited) This actually happened last friday to a friend's younger sister. My friend and I were at a house party and her sister was supposed to join us. Called for a cab which was supposed to arrive at 11:45p, but the bugger called and said he was lost. He arrived at 12mn sharp. He could even get "lost" so a 15min journey turned into a 40min journey even though I left directions. Heng the party was a private house so when she reached, I went to the cab and gan the fellow upside down when he wanted to charge her the full fare. In the end he took $15 instead of the $28+ charge. Next time for this 'lost' cases tell them cancel booking liow. Rather someone else earn the midnight surcharge than let this one earn.... Edited January 30, 2009 by Scoots 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched January 30, 2009 Author Share January 30, 2009 i should do that but is there penalty for cancelling last minute Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 Next time for this 'lost' cases tell them cancel booking liow. Rather someone else earn the midnight surcharge than let this one earn.... This was was 5 mins late and then called to say he was lost.... nb.... nvm... as long as someone like me is ard to put them in their place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 Its Chinese New Year leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 From my recent experience with taxi I am of the opinion, this surcharge system is open to massive abuse 1. taxi driver drive slowly so to enter the "surcharge period" 2. before midnight cannot find taxi, suddenly after midnight taxi starts to appear. 3. Not only elderly person but people like us can be confused and not sure if it right type of surcharges added. I really dont mind paying for a taxi but not with all these confusing surcharges and open to abuse that make me uncomfortable to confront the taxi. One taxi driver (ah Pek) tell me CNY leh the other side issue, went to friends condo to visit, the indian security guard ask me for ang pow cant believe it is time so bad or just the way society has been conditioned to think nothing but money only your comments please thanks any similar experience and how to convince authorities to change hong kong also got taxi surcharge? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 HK and SG got same taxi model ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...