Keithhiap 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 Was on 70km/h, then i look at my rear mirror, saw one lexus (if i dont see it wrongly), kind of fast, catching me up from lane 3, which he is going to make a left turn out. suddenly, flashed.... kao, i was like, nabei, i am only on 70/km/h, plus my rim is 17inch, even speedometer is telling me 72km/h, my actual speed should be below 70km/h. Moreover, i have been using that road every weekend or weekday on my off day, i sometime will hit 72km/h and has never ganna flashed before. until this fast car catched up, and then flashed. What my concern is how they identify who is speeding? if the fast car is just right side of me, tiu, how? i am at center lane. obviously i am not speeding, cause i am letting those who wants to overtake me take the 1st lane. someone please enlighten me. thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takaro Neutral Newbie January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 i have tried near 80km/h, but always keep to abt or below 70, sometimes 75. anyone tried any higher and didnt get a ticket? wonder wats the allowance like? and neva really know which is then the speed cameras in that tunnel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 I doubt you'll get caught. If 2 or more cars a speeding close to each other, the photographic evidence would be quite ambiguous. I might be wrong, but logically the the system is quite simple. Cars will travel pass the radar, and any speed that's over the limit will trigger the camera. If at the point of time the camer clicks, a faster car is in the process of overtaking a slower car, it's not quite possible to tell which is the faster. Unless it is also supported by video camera. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 exactly, that is my concern, a faster car beside me, and a flashed happened at that point of time, who will be the speeding car? like that, i will be in the losing side, cause if they just take the picture as i am the ahead car, then they might assume that i am the speeding one. tiu. think need to call LTA to find out liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 On 1/29/2009 at 7:43 AM, Keithhiap said: Was on 70km/h, then i look at my rear mirror, saw one lexus (if i dont see it wrongly), kind of fast, catching me up from lane 3, which he is going to make a left turn out. suddenly, flashed.... kao, i was like, nabei, i am only on 70/km/h, plus my rim is 17inch, even speedometer is telling me 72km/h, my actual speed should be below 70km/h. Moreover, i have been using that road every weekend or weekday on my off day, i sometime will hit 72km/h and has never ganna flashed before. until this fast car catched up, and then flashed. What my concern is how they identify who is speeding? if the fast car is just right side of me, tiu, how? i am at center lane. obviously i am not speeding, cause i am letting those who wants to overtake me take the 1st lane. someone please enlighten me. thanks. There's 3 set of cameras on either direction of the KPE. If you travel there daily, you know where they are and which areas of the KPE is more forgiving. Check this link to see if you kenna: Check Driver Data Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 is today, the information wont be displayed so soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 even lets say they taken me as speeding, but i was not speeding at that time, cause i m monitoring my speedo every seconds i know i dont speed cause currently, i am having an pending outstanding fine $200 + 12 demerit point, obviously i wont go against again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 even i know, i has never over drive at KPE, cause i know that this road is very strict in speed controlling. what my concern is what if they mistaken me as the speeding car, then i have to go through the hassle to write in the appeal when i am not the one who is speeding, very troublesome one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 On 1/29/2009 at 7:52 AM, Drive_carcar said: I doubt you'll get caught. If 2 or more cars a speeding close to each other, the photographic evidence would be quite ambiguous. I might be wrong, but logically the the system is quite simple. Cars will travel pass the radar, and any speed that's over the limit will trigger the camera. If at the point of time the camer clicks, a faster car is in the process of overtaking a slower car, it's not quite possible to tell which is the faster. Unless it is also supported by video camera. There is indication in the photographs on which lane the offending vehicle was on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 hahaha my friend study traffic engineering... relax... u'r safe :) 100% u won't be wrongly accused :) trust me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Author Share January 29, 2009 very hard to say one, u see i already on -12 pts pending summon, if they mistaken me, wha kao, sian, no a good year for me liao lor. camera is just a camera, as long as it is a static picture, they want to say anything, also can mah. just like when i was in primary school, during oral exam, teacher give u a picture, so i describe. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 alamak. u still don't trust me :( let me tell u this again, my friend "is associated" with LTA. traffic engineer, he knows the technology of such cameras. 100% u'll be fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 i emphasize.... 100% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafira18 1st Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 who ask you to drive so fast.......anyway, there is a sensor on the road surface.....TP/LTA has done their homwork...wont anyhow summon people one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 You can relax if the car next to yours exceeded the speed limit cos for each camera infested area there are three cams covering each lane, meaning each cam is carefully aimed at one lane. Pls dun ask me where they are cos they are not hidden and if you pay attention you will see them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowbird Clutched January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 On 1/29/2009 at 7:51 AM, Takaro said: i have tried near 80km/h, but always keep to abt or below 70, sometimes 75. anyone tried any higher and didnt get a ticket? wonder wats the allowance like? and neva really know which is then the speed cameras in that tunnel. ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 i hit 88km/h. 1st time kana a warning letter only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 my frne in TP ... says TPE cam gets like alot of pple ganna. the speed u reading is frm ur stock speedo? my speedo and GPS reading is quite diff... as in GPS states 70kmh... my speedo is like 78kmh. my GPS reading and my pivot speed meter... exactly same readings... hmmm think the allowance oso not v big :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenithpool 2nd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 if I am not wrong, the cam at 1 time will take 2 photo. then from the position of the 2 photos, they can calculate wat is the speed that u are travelling. Hence u got no chance to fight that u didnt speed and yet camera snap. likewise I encounter CTE speed cam go faulty and snap here and there even no one speeding. I didnt receive any letter. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...