Illegal U-turn

Unfair

About a year ago, I was fined $70 for making a U-turn along this road. My car was parked in a lot along the left side of the road as seen above. Now I'm wondering those vehicles and motorcycles parked at the side of the road, were to go towards the opposite direction confirm will tio summon for U-turning. How about those taxi, uber, grabcar drop off passengers at the market, then make a U-turn?? Many similar road situations like the above.

I believe most motorist will take due care and assess road situation before making a U-turn. To penalize us simply because there's no U-turn sign is absurd. The picture above at Owen road has no U-turn sign at all, the road leads to all the way to bukit timah road!!!

post-4330-0-20116600-1489335749_thumb.jpg

Edited by Zxcvb

On 9/5/2013 at 5:10 AM, 13177 said:

I still cannot understand why they adopt such thing here. Sg should follow other countries that only 'No U-turn' sign is present then drivers are not allowed to U-turn. Other then that drivers should able to U-turn freely but in a safe manner la. rolleyes.gif

The problem is our roads are full of signs. If they were to add no U turn signs, I am afraid you will be confused with all the signs. Every new sign they erect a new stand/pole. Just go to any traffic junction, :a-confused:

Another problem here is the people putting up these signs were very familiar and know the location very well. They expect someone that need these signs to also have the same knowledge. If that is so, they don't need to look out for sign. I would suggest before they put up these sign, check with their admin clerk to see if he/she understand what the sign means by placing it in that location. :a-noway:

  On 3/12/2017 at 4:37 PM, Zxcvb said:

About a year ago, I was fined $70 for making a U-turn along this road. My car was parked in a lot along the left side of the road as seen above. Now I'm wondering those vehicles and motorcycles parked at the side of the road, were to go towards the opposite direction confirm will tio summon for U-turning. How about those taxi, uber, grabcar drop off passengers at the market, then make a U-turn?? Many similar road situations like the above.

I believe most motorist will take due care and assess road situation before making a U-turn. To penalize us simply because there's no U-turn sign is absurd. The picture above at Owen road has no U-turn sign at all, the road leads to all the way to bukit timah road!!!

there's no double white line by right should be able to u-turn even without a u-turn sign. did u clarify with TP

On 3/12/2017 at 4:37 PM, Zxcvb said:

About a year ago, I was fined $70 for making a U-turn along this road. My car was parked in a lot along the left side of the road as seen above. Now I'm wondering those vehicles and motorcycles parked at the side of the road, were to go towards the opposite direction confirm will tio summon for U-turning. How about those taxi, uber, grabcar drop off passengers at the market, then make a U-turn?? Many similar road situations like the above.

I believe most motorist will take due care and assess road situation before making a U-turn. To penalize us simply because there's no U-turn sign is absurd. The picture above at Owen road has no U-turn sign at all, the road leads to all the way to bukit timah road!!!

I use this road daily. Always trying to exit Kent Road onto Owen Road will encounter vehicles like yourself making that illegal u-turn. So definately no u-turn should be allowed there. Otherwise how drivers from Kent road gona exit. We depend on the traffic light to exit Kent road.

Then if we have to lookout for u-turn vehicles also...............problem liao. Also pedestrian there dont always use the pedestrian crossing. They will cross at the Kent road exit also.

BTW, I did not report any vehicle doing a u-turn on Owen road. So its not me who reported you.

  On 3/13/2017 at 12:46 AM, Adrianli said:

I use this road daily. Always trying to exit Kent Road onto Owen Road will encounter vehicles like yourself making that illegal u-turn. So definately no u-turn should be allowed there. Otherwise how drivers from Kent road gona exit. We depend on the traffic light to exit Kent road.

Then if we have to lookout for u-turn vehicles also...............problem liao. Also pedestrian there dont always use the pedestrian crossing. They will cross at the Kent road exit also.

BTW, I did not report any vehicle doing a u-turn on Owen road. So its not me who reported you.

Probably those newly installed CCTV a year ago to catch illegal parking. But to double up to catch illegal U-turn??!! Now that's a bloody low blow (below the belt). Too bad we don't have IC number attached to our body or head when we go out, else they will do the same send summon letter to ppl's home for jay walking.

N.J. USA:  School bus made illegal u-turn - body of bus ripped from chassis.

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2018/05/17/mount-olive-school-bus-crash/

MOUNT OLIVE, N.J. (CBSNewYork) – A student and teacher were killed when a school bus on its way to a field trip collided with a dump truck on Thursday morning in Mount Olive, New Jersey.

sources tell CBS2 the school bus missed an exit and was trying to take an illegal U-turn when the collision occurred. The bus was carrying a group of fifth graders from East Brook Middle School in Paramus.

The body of the bus was ripped from its chassis, which sprawled across the interstate, while the rest of the vehicle sat on the median.

buscrash11.jpg?w=555&h=313

On 11/30/2018 at 6:22 PM, questionman26 said:

Hi i received letter from SPF request for driver details due to illegal u-turn, fine 70. Shall i made appeal at this time before submit detail? or wait for the summon received then appeal?

Where n did they catch u on the spot or?

On 12/1/2018 at 5:03 PM, questionman26 said:

at hougang, they did not catch me on the spot but i received the SPF letter, 

Hougang which road?

Must take note.

I think usually they dont catch you on the spot for illegal U-turn de. They just send you the summon letter for your offence.

It might be possible someone submitted the video to the TP.

I admit I also do illegal u turn sometime. Safe for me doesn't mean other will feel the same. So if I ever being summoned by the TP. I will admit fault and accept it.

On 11/30/2018 at 6:22 PM, questionman26 said:

Hi i received letter from SPF request for driver details due to illegal u-turn, fine 70. Shall i made appeal at this time before submit detail? or wait for the summon received then appeal? 

The question now is "Do you remember making that illegal U-turn" ? or someone borrowed your car and made that U-turn ?

If you do, appeal also useless. Just submit the particulars of the driver and pay the fine. If not drag until court case and in the end spending more money & wasting time going to court.   :lll._.:

On 12/1/2018 at 5:03 PM, questionman26 said:

at hougang, they did not catch me on the spot but i received the SPF letter,

Most likely ppl sabo u submit video.

Just pay the fine.

Nothing much you can do.

In Singapore, no U-turn sign means cannot U-turn.

Can do but don't get caught. If get caught, then no choice.

On 12/4/2018 at 5:56 PM, DACH said:

Just pay the fine.

Nothing much you can do.

In Singapore, no U-turn sign means cannot U-turn.

Can do but don't get caught. If get caught, then no choice.

Not necessary must have U-turn sign. To be more specific, should be road intersection or junction or opening on a road divider unless permitted by the U-turn sign. Those signal white line in-between 2-way traffic still can do a U-turn. 

On 12/4/2018 at 10:09 PM, Dafansu said:

Not necessary must have U-turn sign. To be more specific, should be road intersection or junction or opening on a road divider unless permitted by the U-turn sign. Those signal white line in-between 2-way traffic still can do a U-turn.

Hello chun boh? Singapore law by law hor. Do only when you are told. Otherwise at your own risk hor