Route88 2nd Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 Direct ship from UK is best. Very fast. Of cos must weight bet. direct versus Vpost europe. Base package from UK via Vpost is expensive ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 On 1/30/2009 at 2:00 PM, Blueray said: have not bought anything from the UK cos of the high GBP, but I think Amazon UK can do direct delivery like Amazon US, but I dunno which courier they use though ... But GBP is hovering around 2.1 now. It is good time to buy from UK. I m buying bicycle accessories which Amazon don't hav. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie January 30, 2009 Author Share January 30, 2009 On 1/30/2009 at 1:54 PM, Davidtch said: Borderlinx is for purchase from US of A. As my previous topic, UK how? It seems like not many ppl buy from UK other than porker. I'm going to try to ask around for friends next... Not going thru Vpost anymore. Too bad as it is now a good time to get stuff from YK with GBP so low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie January 30, 2009 Author Share January 30, 2009 On 1/30/2009 at 2:24 PM, Route88 said: Must be stressful working as Vpost CS It's more stressful being the person talking to the CS. I was very very patient and then I just blew because she just does not listen and nothing gets through to her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 (edited) On 1/30/2009 at 1:41 PM, Blueray said: Borderlinx uses DHL for the shipping to SG and to your home, just have to use a Citibank card to open a Borderlinx account. Problem with Borderlinx is that they deliver only items bot by Citi Credit card. And because they know the value bot using Citi card, you can't "escape" on the true value in order to avoid GST for items above SGD400. So if you are buying cheap things using Citi CC, then Borderlinx would be good. Edited January 30, 2009 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 not true. i paid for my items using uob card or paypal acc. but when u pay shipping charges of borderlinx, need to use citibank card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 vpost...very famous for their volumetric weight charges. if anyone bought anything from bodybuilding.com before...please dont use vpost but pay for the website's international shipping instead. bodybuilding.com sent items in one huge ass box. i bought some items totalling 70usd. vpost quoted me 120sgd for shipping cos of volumetric weight. ask them fly kite really. the customer service girl also like one ah lian saying "acherly hor, u can ask the merchant to pack sui sui, compress" i give up lah. stupid vpost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 so far when I buy apparel and the merchant ships in a box, Borderlinx charges me around US21 for shipping based on actual weight, quite consistent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 Also, with Borderlinx, you can check online to see your products reach the suite. with Vpost, it is prehistoric way of tracking...I am surprised vpost does not use morse code for communication Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 On 1/30/2009 at 6:30 PM, Starry said: Problem with Borderlinx is that they deliver only items bot by Citi Credit card. And because they know the value bot using Citi card, you can't "escape" on the true value in order to avoid GST for items above SGD400. So if you are buying cheap things using Citi CC, then Borderlinx would be good. as Boobon said, not true. Citi is only used for the shipping charges, else shopping at the site can use paypal or uob or other visa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 (edited) now the IN online site to surf now is taobao selling tons of stuffs.. lucky i got contact there and help my friend bought the car bluetooth set at 70+ which sold 200-300+ there got VIP discount for shipping also..so is around $1+ per 100g Edited January 31, 2009 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 sian man... shd have seen this thread earlier... i have 3 orders en-route from UK via vPost... crossing my fingers big time now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie February 2, 2009 Author Share February 2, 2009 (edited) Thought of just letting this thread die a natural death and not post anything... But I wanted to laugh when I read this... Perhaps Vpost should apply for the grant? They sure need it... When World Economic Forum did the competitiveness report, they must have left out Vpost... we are 10th in the world? Sorry, but which world are we living in? http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...202-118733.html $100m to boost service Mon, Feb 02, 2009 The Straits Times THE Government will pump in another $100 million to boost service standards here. Mr Lim Boon Heng, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office on Monday announced the next wave of national drive to improve service under Go the Extra Mile for service (Gems) programme. The campaign to improve service standards was launched in August 2005. Since then, Mr Lim said Singapore has leapt from 26th spot to 10th in the World Economic Forum's annual global competitiveness report. Such irony.. Gems means we (consumers) should go the extra mile for service INSTEAD of expecting it from local companies? Edited February 2, 2009 by Mojoe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 I kana not from Vpost, but from Amazon. One of their merchant, with whom I bought a watch from, on amazon's site it showed what I wanted, I even specified thur Borderlinx what I wanted, specifications all laid out and clear, they sent me another watch, same model, different specifications. After I kicked up some dirt with Borderlinx, did they agree to get a refund for me, but i lost shipping both ways from US to here, which the merchant did not refund. One thing is, Vpost I kana before, long time back, no more Vpost, besides, their rates are so expensive. Your GPS 007 licensed to kill one is it? Should have gotten from the US. Cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 5:27 AM, Mazdaowner said: I kana not from Vpost, but from Amazon. One of their merchant, with whom I bought a watch from, on amazon's site it showed what I wanted, I even specified thur Borderlinx what I wanted, specifications all laid out and clear, they sent me another watch, same model, different specifications. After I kicked up some dirt with Borderlinx, did they agree to get a refund for me, but i lost shipping both ways from US to here, which the merchant did not refund. One thing is, Vpost I kana before, long time back, no more Vpost, besides, their rates are so expensive. Your GPS 007 licensed to kill one is it? Should have gotten from the US. Cheaper. His is using Queen's engrish standard.......when reach destination GOD SAVE THE QUEEN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie February 2, 2009 Author Share February 2, 2009 On 2/2/2009 at 5:27 AM, Mazdaowner said: Your GPS 007 licensed to kill one is it? Should have gotten from the US. Cheaper. errrmmm... I repeated so many times since the beginning of this thread... GBP was low and USD was rising then. I checked Amazon US and it was more expensive than Amazon UK. Why does this question keep popping up? Plus the fact that I prefer having EU maps instead of US map. Don't keep thinking US is always cheaper dar... Do your homework first... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 1/30/2009 at 1:50 PM, Blueray said: I found out (the hard way), that the only time VPost won't screw up, is when I order 1 item only ... eg, a polo shirt ... the impression I get is that SingPost don't seem to be very interested in this area of business so the service standard and support is really substandard. If I really want the item fast, I go Paya Lebar and collect bestest liao, cos to reschedule delivery is 2 business days ... I think the problem lies with their US side, my packages, (mistake, sent to Vpost instead of Borderlinks once) items arrived at their place and they didn't even bother to update me on the arrival, even after 1 week! Kana spread peanut butter and jello from me, they gave me 20% off shipping, (no big deal, 20% is really their so called admin charges of whatever it's called) so spread more butter and finally got 40% off. [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator February 2, 2009 Share February 2, 2009 On 1/30/2009 at 5:55 PM, Mojoe said: It's more stressful being the person talking to the CS. I was very very patient and then I just blew because she just does not listen and nothing gets through to her. Her name MAY is it? I lost my cool explaining to her as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...