Need New PC liao

Contax

if it is a well-known brand like Compaq, Dell, Acer... you can check it out on their website. U just need to know your model number.

The specs should be there. If you not sure, PM me the brand and model number. I'll do a search for you.

can we tell by looking at the spec that the motherboard can support the RAM ?

Mine is a P4 2.5Ghz

hard drive - 40GB 5400RPM

Thought you brought it down to SLS to have it fixed already? Ah buay ar?

change ram to 1G or 2G, then bigger HDD (160G or 320G) 7200rpm, the PC still powerful enough... [flowerface]

best is to borrow DDR ram from somewhere and try 1st...to confirm it is RAM spoiled, otherwise waste money

Edited by Starengine

It's a LONG and uninterrupted 'Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee...' <_<

Yup , will try to get a expert to look at it .

Thanks .

long eeee normall is video card....

ram is normally beep beep beep pause beep beep beep... but some manufacturer different

My PC is P4 2.4Ghz, also on DDR333 ram. My ram also gave up once, got a loud beep sound after restart. Fortunately, I have 2 rams & only needed to remove the faulty one to function again.

My mainboard manual say can support up to 512mb ram per slot. Now I am running on 2 x 512mb.

if it is a well-known brand like Compaq, Dell, Acer... you can check it out on their website. U just need to know your model number.

The specs should be there. If you not sure, PM me the brand and model number. I'll do a search for you.

Thanks , I got it. [flowerface]

Thought you brought it down to SLS to have it fixed already? Ah buay ar?

ah buay lar , boh eng leh [smash]

This weekend I will go look for the RAM .

your p4 2.5ghz should be using DDR ram. market nowaday are flood with DDR2, so make sure you can the correct one.

Yes , it's a DDR ram .Thank you .

change ram to 1G or 2G, then bigger HDD (160G or 320G) 7200rpm, the PC still powerful enough... [flowerface]

best is to borrow DDR ram from somewhere and try 1st...to confirm it is RAM spoiled, otherwise waste money

Yup [flowerface] a friend of mine happen to have a 256mb lying around.Going to collect it from him.

My PC is P4 2.4Ghz, also on DDR333 ram. My ram also gave up once, got a loud beep sound after restart. Fortunately, I have 2 rams & only needed to remove the faulty one to function again.

My mainboard manual say can support up to 512mb ram per slot. Now I am running on 2 x 512mb.

Does it run faster as compare to your stock?

I'll solve one problem at a time.Once this issue settle , I'll look into upgrading on my existing system.

u cant say it this way... a DIY pc is always way better than a branded pc... DIY pc, u can upgrade or change the parts juz by buying those parts off-shelf from sls... but for some branded pc, they will hav a warranty sticker which prevents u from opening the casing as it says warranty void if torn... so everytime if there is a problem and it's under warranty, u need to spend service charge and sometimes transportation for the ppl to come down and fix or whatsoever... so tink properly which u wan to get... btw, dell equals to h*ll...

ah buay lar , boh eng leh [smash]

This weekend I will go look for the RAM .

Bring down, let them have a look, settle the problem, and the guess work on the RAM,

if RAM can go max 1GB per slot, then by all means, go all the way.

RAM not like hundred plus per piece like last time, now so cheap, nasi lemak

with fish and luncheon meat and one otah still cost more. [laugh]

Tomorrow Saturday, go get it done faster, boh working day again, sian half liow.

Does it run faster as compare to your stock?

I'll solve one problem at a time.Once this issue settle , I'll look into upgrading on my existing system.

My stock was only 128mb, then upgraded to 384mb till now 1GB. Speed wise definitely faster, particularly the startup & running multiple applications.

Compaq has desktops going for less than $1k these days, good enough for daily home surfing use, only thing is keyboard / mouse is wired. if wan wireless keyboard / mouse have to get HP which costs around $1.2k for Core 2 Duo I think ...

Bring down, let them have a look, settle the problem, and the guess work on the RAM,

if RAM can go max 1GB per slot, then by all means, go all the way.

RAM not like hundred plus per piece like last time, now so cheap, nasi lemak

with fish and luncheon meat and one otah still cost more. [laugh]

Tomorrow Saturday, go get it done faster, boh working day again, sian half liow.

Sometime older ram can cost more than the current or latest too. Kind of lite Classic [laugh]

Older RAM work better at RAMMING up the system also. Because the RAM is used, so got experience INSIDE the motherboard. [sly]