Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 Happy New years guys.. ok.. what i m gonna say might sound ridiculous to some or in fact many.. since half a year after I gotten, i have been experiencing this till today. Whenever i drive my car from point A to point B, i alight and close the door. What's been happening is that whenever I touched the metal part of the door, I get 'electrocuted', i experienced some kinda strong static electricity. i thought it's me who's experiencing this, but several of my friends experienced that when they wanna close the door.. it's been a year now.. All i did was to reach for the plastic pillar to push close the door instead of touching any metal part. Just days back, another friend got 'electrocuted'. I dunno what to do.. if i send to tan chong (my car is nissan sylphy), I dun think they can diagnose any problems (that's their standard answers). so like to seek any opinions or advice from bros... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latioboy 1st Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 Woah bro I didnt know your Sylphy is so hot. I never kena leh for my sylphy. haha. ! Could it be its just that your hands are always charged with static den kena? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tas0577 1st Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 Brother, did you do proper grounding for your car? Guess if you have done grounding, you should not have such static problem anymore. My sister's previous car did not do grounding at all and whenever I drive her car, I got the same static problem whenever I touch the metal part of the door and I don't have such problem with all those cars I drove in the past as proper grounding is done immediately I get the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 may be his hands are wet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 Put the key or metal object between fingers and touch metal part of the car after u get off car. It will discharge any static charge and u will not get the "spark". Strange 2 see dat static can happen in SG enviroment? Fabric seats even worst. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftboi Neutral Newbie January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 juz found some clips looks like the gal have some static on her hand http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acACmkNfGF0 any comments? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftboi Neutral Newbie January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 there's another clip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redlavita Neutral Newbie January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 (edited) i believed is the static charge from your car, experienced it while driving in Western Australia winter, the seat cover were fabric type which generate a small charge whenever you move, same thing happen while at office, the floor is carpeted so is the office chairs, i got a static shock whenever i touch the steel cabinets. it seems that the charge were generated by the dry air, especially so in Air Conditioned environment. I suggest that every time before you reach your destination, open your windows and let in some fresh air (humidity) to reduce the dryness, this may help to reduce the static built up http://www.hcdoes.org/airquality/GDF/static2.htm cheers Edited January 27, 2009 by Redlavita Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 Driving Lancer, already similar to you, is not related to grounding issue, cause i have been driving my car since day 1, already ganna many many times. Added grounding cable, also wont work one. It may not be the car case, as our human body also have static, because whenever when my elbow touches my wife elbows, we will both Electrocuted. still could not find a proper way to resolve this problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 6:15 AM, Latioboy said: Woah bro I didnt know your Sylphy is so hot. I never kena leh for my sylphy. haha. ! Could it be its just that your hands are always charged with static den kena? Lucky u lor.. dun hv to go thro dis.. everytime i alight from the car i have to make sure i rmb not to touch the metal part of the car.. or if not.. zapp!!! hate the feeling.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 6:17 AM, Tas0577 said: Brother, did you do proper grounding for your car? Guess if you have done grounding, you should not have such static problem anymore. My sister's previous car did not do grounding at all and whenever I drive her car, I got the same static problem whenever I touch the metal part of the door and I don't have such problem with all those cars I drove in the past as proper grounding is done immediately I get the car. I was thinking if grounding will work.. might try to see if problem still persists.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 6:21 AM, Twofouronenite said: Put the key or metal object between fingers and touch metal part of the car after u get off car. It will discharge any static charge and u will not get the "spark". Strange 2 see dat static can happen in SG enviroment? Fabric seats even worst. hmmm so can i say as long i hv some metallic object in hand it shud discharge the static? will try so nxt time.. hate to anticipate how huge the static will be.. sometimes it's just so great! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 7:07 AM, Green_carnation said: Lucky u lor.. dun hv to go thro dis.. everytime i alight from the car i have to make sure i rmb not to touch the metal part of the car.. or if not.. zapp!!! hate the feeling.. do you have a voltmeter? maybe you can check if there are any currents running on the metal part of the car. there could be a small short-circuit somewhere, (a +ve wire is touching the metals of your car) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 6:37 AM, Redlavita said: i believed is the static charge from your car, experienced it while driving in Western Australia winter, the seat cover were fabric type which generate a small charge whenever you move, same thing happen while at office, the floor is carpeted so is the office chairs, i got a static shock whenever i touch the steel cabinets. it seems that the charge were generated by the dry air, especially so in Air Conditioned environment. I suggest that every time before you reach your destination, open your windows and let in some fresh air (humidity) to reduce the dryness, this may help to reduce the static built up http://www.hcdoes.org/airquality/GDF/static2.htm cheers thx for the link bro.. it somehow describes exactly wat i felt.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 6:57 AM, Keithhiap said: Driving Lancer, already similar to you, is not related to grounding issue, cause i have been driving my car since day 1, already ganna many many times. Added grounding cable, also wont work one. It may not be the car case, as our human body also have static, because whenever when my elbow touches my wife elbows, we will both Electrocuted. still could not find a proper way to resolve this problem. so bro.. we're in the same boat.. let me know if u find any remedy.. while i continue to search for one too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 7:13 AM, Zippaboy said: do you have a voltmeter? maybe you can check if there are any currents running on the metal part of the car. there could be a small short-circuit somewhere, (a +ve wire is touching the metals of your car) wow.. bro.. dis sounds serious... i do not have a voltmeter.. perhaps my next servicing i'll let the mechanics know and get them to check.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ozrims 2nd Gear January 27, 2009 Share January 27, 2009 Trust me bro, it may due to your shoes you are wearing. Change them out and observed. Last time I always get static when I am on my Rockpo*t. After I change to other shoes with different sole, the problem is solved. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 27, 2009 Author Share January 27, 2009 On 1/27/2009 at 8:13 AM, Ozrims said: Trust me bro, it may due to your shoes you are wearing. Change them out and observed. Last time I always get static when I am on my Rockpo*t. After I change to other shoes with different sole, the problem is solved. Cheers! wow dat sounds interesting.. but seriously i encountered the static when i was wearing slippers, sandals, sneakers, running shoes, leather shoes, trekking shoes, safety boots.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...