Alright for 9 Years old to walk home alone?

Kelpie

i walked to school on my own when i was 8yrs old.

crossed 2 traffic light, both junctions. 1 is major road, the other minor road.

school was a good 500m away (10minutes walk).

don't worry so much since it is in the afternoon. care for ur child but not overly protective..

i have a friend, 24yrs this yr. the mum still send/pick her up at the mrt station, or bus stop.....i often joke over this with my wife since i still see her occassionally...

  On 1/21/2009 at 2:08 PM, Application9999 said:

Bro, during our time. I took SBS bus alone to school at 8 year old.

I also took bus between primary 3 to 6. Come Secondary school, I cycled to school for the last 3rd and 4th years. Sec 1. and Sec 2. I took bus too.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

recently a 9yr old was killed on e road while crossing. I thou u got e idea from there tat started e thread. But more or less tat gave u another pt 2 ponder... [sweatdrop]

i have a 9yr old girl too. i know how u feel. even when my maid send her to her tuition class just behind my block, i worry cos need to walk across a carpark. i will send her most of the time, unless i am back from work late.

When I was in K2 (about 6 years old), I walked home myself. The route was simple and my parents showed me the way without having to cross any road or carpark. The distance was about 300m. The lift button was too high for me to reach and my parents told me to climb the stairs to reach the 6th storey. I was taught to take the lift only when a few other people are going into the lift.

I am a smart kid :D

I guess times are different now. There used to be less cars on the road, cars are smaller and less powerful. Most importantly less people in those days drive like there is no tomorrow.

On 1/21/2009 at 12:56 PM, Kelpie said:

Hi all,

My 9 years old daughter has been asking me to allow her to walk home by herself when her school (morning session) finished at 1:30pm.

Currently the school is about a few HDB blocks or almost equal to one bus stop distance away from home. I drive her to school in the morning and the maid bring her back from school in the afternoon.

While I thought it is good that she wanted to be more independent but I'm concern about her safety. Although I used to walk to school to and fro from home at the age of 7 and during those days, there were bullies and gangsters around the neighbourhood.

What do you think, Yes or No? any other options? She doesn't like taking school bus.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

answer IMHO.....no

too many accident at pedestrian crossing

too many drivers never respect pedestrian crossing

try no to:

1) accidents

recently 2 kids kena bang by a fucccking van at a pedestrain crossing. one still in coma

1 kid kena wipe out by tipper truck at pedestrian crossing

i ran across the school entrance road and kena hit by teacher's car when i was 14. i am lucky to escape with sctraches

2) bad people

not need to elborate

9yo is what? P3?

when i was in P1, i walked to school(around 500m), go out cycling/soccer with my friends(without parents' accompaniment), go to friends house to play TV console(those damn retro Nintendo)..and that's not even in Singapore..i grew up in Jakarta..

it really depends on how street smart and how she can handle the traffic......

maybe let her walk alone and observe from afar for a few weeks? see how she react to situations... (if you got time)

if doing fine should be ok lar....

Since you have maid, can ask her to secretly follow behind your kid. This way, your kid gets the independence she wants and u get the peace of mind that u want. [rolleyes]

Edited by Ultramega

On 1/21/2009 at 3:57 PM, Shull said:

9yo is what? P3?

when i was in P1, i walked to school(around 500m), go out cycling/soccer with my friends(without parents' accompaniment), go to friends house to play TV console(those damn retro Nintendo)..and that's not even in Singapore..i grew up in Jakarta..

I lived in Sumatra till 6 years old, a more hostile place than SG. During that time, the most expensive game console used magentic tape to load and take ages.

Regards,

On 1/21/2009 at 1:52 PM, Altum said:

Same dilemma, my 9 yr old girl wants to walk home too. 300 meters only, only

internal access roads.

I told her to wait for a few months first. I get nervous few days back when she went to her friend;s

place just across the road after school, as she had some eca an hr later.

if gal good fren place.. .okie.. know the parents.. be safe then sorry.. (dun need to be over protective)

but be street smart. talk to the kid. make sure she know the risk.. nothing is too young to know abt sex...

but dun say sex word lar... jus in simple terms.

rather than a 10yr old pregnent case.

then u faint.

when i was primary sch, i was called at from a container driver...

then say my dad called him to get me... when i was abt to reach my dad's place across the block..

then ask him. he cant even answer my dad's name?

rubbish kidnapper.

nowadays pple recession, dun be surprise police will catch kidnappers to sell off kids to other countries.

beware and street smart , not sorry.